We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ageing but still fun for the kids”

Phillip Island Chocolate Factory
Ranked #9 of 9 things to do in Newhaven
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"make your own"
in 35 reviews
"chocolate balls"
in 26 reviews
"chocolate bar"
in 22 reviews
"free chocolate"
in 22 reviews
"chocolate waterfall"
in 21 reviews
"chocolate tour"
in 14 reviews
"self guided"
in 8 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 11 reviews
"rainy day"
in 11 reviews
"curry lunch"
in 11 reviews
"great chocolate"
in 10 reviews
"fun games"
in 10 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 10 reviews
"phillip island"
in 34 reviews
"penguin parade"
in 10 reviews
"win"
in 68 reviews
"chocoholic"
in 9 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Opted for a visit to the retail shop instead and purchased some rather pricey chocolate (which was nowhere near “amazing”). We love trying out rocky road and we thought if they were charging $32.00 per kilo it must be good....wrong....worst rocky road we’ve ever tasted and we were the fools who paid $10 for it!

Thank Narelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

While our chocolate is not the cheapest available, it is all hand-made and packaged in our factory and of the highest quality. We source our ingredients from one of the largest European suppliers. All of our chocolate is couverture (made with cocoa butter) and contains no palm oil, unlike the cheaper supermarket alternatives. We are constantly making price comparisons and we remain competitive with other specialist chocolate suppliers who provide a similar high quality product

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve toured many factories (cheese, ice cream, beer, and wine) and I don’t recall any of them charging. We walked in and were notified a tour would cost close to $20/pp. What?! That’s crazy. Also, staff was ready for us to walk out despite shop being free. Glad we asked before walking...or am I? Bought the chocolate mint bar and it was too strong. Tasted like toothpaste was used for mint. May be to others liking but I tossed the bar as soon as possible.

Thank idatater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

The tour is self-guided, so we don’t control how long people spend inside. There are 10 rooms containing over 50 displays many of which are world first exhibits and include over 20 separate interactive activities, 7 of which allow you to win or sample free chocolate. The tour includes a chocolate entry ticket and an informative guide book. Many people elect to spend over an hour in the experience exploring all there is on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We came here looking forward to it and once we stepped in it was an absolute let down. Chips were dry, the rocky road was misleading and disgusting. The service was bad and the people at the counter didn't understand and didn't speak english. They call themselves a chocolate factory when nearly all there
food were actual savoury meals. Expensive and overpriced, nothing to see unless you pay for a crappy tour. Not worth it. We came ot feeling sick. Should of read the reviews before we went. It was terrible, never going back again. Don't recommend it to anyone.

2  Thank christmas2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PICF, Public Relations Manager at Phillip Island Chocolate Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Our staff are often very busy and can sometimes be overwhelmed by large numbers of visitors arriving over a short period. We agree that this is not acceptable. To address these issues we are constantly undergoing staff training, remodeling of the venue to allow better crowd flow and improving procedures for dealing with peak times.

The tour is self-guided, so we don’t control how long people spend inside. There are 10 rooms containing over 50 displays many of which are world first exhibits and include over 20 separate interactive activities, 7 of which allow you to win or sample free chocolate. The tour includes a chocolate entry ticket and an informative guide book. Many people elect to spend over an hour in the experience exploring all there is on offer.

Thank you for letting us know your concerns and we will continue to address such problems to improve the experience for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phillip Island Chocolate Factory also viewed

 

Been to Phillip Island Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing