We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healesville
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Stayed one night in a wood cabin. It was a small space but cosy, there was a large bathroom. Luckily no one was in the adjoining room as I suspect it would be rather noisy otherwise. There were no glasses provided. Adequate for a one night stay, but would be awkward if longer as not much in the way of dishes or cutlery provided, which is odd as there is a bbq. The bed for comfortable and the heating (it was freezing) was a reverse cycle unit in the bedroom, which didn't reach the bathroom. I felt it was barely 3 star.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel was quite dated. Beds were too soft for our liking. Otherwise for one night stay I guess pricing was still ok for four pax traveling together. Surrounding scenery was quiet and nice and could park the car right up to your unit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Gordon Ramsay would have a field day here! Overpriced for what you receive... out ensuite was dirty, room very basic and very very outdated! The whole place was in need of a revamp and freshen up! Foxtel wasn't working and our information book was for the wrong room (indicating the wrong Fire exit) A single bed was right next to the windows which we ended up shifting as I was worried of the cold coming through the windows and my child (being very restless) kicking the window!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We booked at Sanctuary Resort to have a weekend with our young grandchildren. My wife and I have travelled extensively and always book direct so we can discuss our requirements direct with the Managers. We had a few things that we would like to have at the Resort and they seemed to have them all covered including a family unit with cooking facilities. Upon arrival the Staff were welcoming and we were shown to a separate unit at the front of the complex. The whole environment of the Resort is older style but as we went to Healesville Sanctuary immediately after checking in we did not understand how older style it was until we returned for the evening. The unit we were in was comfortable but very dated and in need of updating. Little things became irritating, such as the compendium in the room being very basic and disorganised; no explanation about TV channels or available Foxtel channels and programmes; no information about breakfasts. The cooking hotplates and oven were very dated and made cooking difficult. Basic facilities and tired and overused plates and utensils.Then after cooking we find that there is no washing up liquid or scouring pad to enable cleaning up. When we decided to go to bed we find that the cords for the electric blankets are tied up under the mattresses. Couldn't they be plugged in and ready for use? Especially in this area where it gets very cold at night! Next morning we go down to the games room. Table tennis table is unusable as it is covered with sheets and blankets. Had to go to reception to ask for the ball for the soccer game and it was missing a hand grip. Went for a walk around the grounds with our grandkids and had to be very careful as the paths were untended and slippery.
For the amount we paid I expected better attention to detail. We can accept older style accommodation if it is well looked after, comfortable and has all the little things covered.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Spent a night in a Standard Family Room (rated as 3.5 star and $125 per night) with my 13 year old daughter. On arrival we were met buy the manager, who was quietly spoken and very friendly.

The room was clean and neat albeit very small. It consisted of a comfortable queen bed and a single bed with a bedside table for each. There was one bedside lamp on the middle bedside table between the two beds. This was a little inconvenient as my daughter wanted to hit the sack and I wanted to read for awhile. I had to move the light from one side of the queen bed to the other to accommodate. There was a fridge (it sounded a little like a 747 taking off when it was running....but that's not unusual in a confined space), a set of drawers, a microwave and a TV (Foxtel didn't work) The room had a walk-in wardrobe that also contained a toaster, kettle and iron, sitting on a low bench (I would suggest that the low bench was originally designed as a place to put your suitcase....a little strange setup really). The ensuite was clean; the shower hot and strong.

I would describe the outward appearance of the buildings as a little tired and in need of a high pressure spray clean at least, if not a 'lick of paint'. Whilst my daughter has grown up past the need of a playground, we noted that it was a substantial one. unfortunately, the play-gym was fairly filthy; covered with slim (that high-pressure spray would have done the trick again). We had a walk around the grounds and whilst the walk was pleasant, we felt that they too could have done with a bit of a tidy-up.

Unfortunately, the restaurant was not available to us because they had a fundraiser booked in for the evening.

We had a continental breakfast ($12 each) consisting of a selection of cereals, juices, toast and spreads and tea or coffee.

All in all, I can comfortably recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil_Bradley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
2.2 km away
Healesville Motor Inn
Healesville Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Healesville
5 reviews
21 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
590 reviews
14.5 km away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
144 reviews
13.1 km away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
349 reviews
14 km away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary House Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary House Resort Motel

Address: 326 Badger Creek Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healesville
Price Range: €68 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary House Resort Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STOP PRESS! NOW WITH FREE HIGH SPEED WIRELESS IN ALL ROOMS!Sanctuary House Resort Motel is the only motel accommodation in Healesville which enjoys a quiet 10 acre setting, off the main highway.Choose from deluxe suites(some with four poster beds and spas) or traditional accommodation, ideal for families.On site facilities include an inground swimming pool, games room and playground for the kids, plus a purpose built fully licensed restaurant/reception centre seating up to 120 people, both for a la carte dining and private functions.Walk to the sanctuary, and don't forget to ask about our discounted admission tickets for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanctuary House Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel Healesville
Sanctuary Motel Healesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing