We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We came from the USA on business to Lorne and then stayed an extra few days to soak in the local flavor of Australia. Chris and Jeff were wonderful hosts. The hotel gives you the feeling of home and the people are wonderful. We hiked daily through the mountains and enjoyed the local flavor of Halls Gap. The restaurant serves both Australian and Italian cuisine and both were good. The wildlife and cultural center are superb. An added benefit was that the wifi worked better here than any place else we went. If you are looking to really experience the people and flavor of Australia, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    240
    68
    15
    18
See reviews for
190
382
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at this motel for just one night, and found it very acceptable. The owners were very helpful, and responded to emails very promptly. The free wifi was excellent - vital to us.

The outlook from our window was across the extensive garden, and we saw many kangaroos, wallabies, cockatoos, ducks, parrots, etc. This was in the evening, and again in the morning - all very enjoyable.

The accommodation was very reasonably priced, and may have reflected being slightly out of the town centre of Halls Gap, but we thought this was an advantage. We did not use the restaurant, as we prefer to prepare our own food, but it seemed to provide reasonably-priced meals (for Australia), and was well-used by people from outside the motel.

We have no hesitation in recommending this motel, which provided reasonable quality at a reasonable price. It is not a high-class hotel, and doesn't pretend to be, but we would return, if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Watch the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The initial impression is positive and friendly as you are greeted by the owners and in our case some locals who had popped in for a drink in the bar. We stayed in Superior room which had new airconditioning installed (very handy on our hot weekend). This was not the case for all rooms. Room was quite spacious and adequately appointed although bathroom needs updating. Grounds were quite expansive with the kangaroos and emus wandering around. Its a drive back to town but thats no big deal. We had breakfast there where the menu was a bit limited. Can recommend walking to the base of McKensie Falls and the Pinnacles.

Room Tip: Some rooms had updated aircon/heating systems so check
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

rooms a bit dated but other than this they were clean and staff was helpful. Would recomend for a budget stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I am still laughing at a recent review that criticizes this property on the most pathetic things! It's a MOTEL, not a 5-star resort, and they don't claim to be, so don't expect the Shangri-La when you aren't paying top dollars.

Location is a few mins drive out of "downtown" on a large grounds with resident kangaroos, but we saw emu's, deer and numerous bird species as well right out the door of the rooms. Shadowed by the rocky ridges of each side of the valley, its quiet and beautiful at sun up/down. Hearing the kookaburras in the morning was a delight!

They have meals and drinks on site, and have bbqs as well. The room was plenty big enough, and was clean and comfortable. Beds nice, space in the bathroom, TV if you need it. Security a non-issue here. Pool for the summer time and a kids playground, I believe there was a trampoline as well.

The service from Chris and Jeff was outstanding, putting larger, chain accommodation properties and other private businesses we visited on the same trip to shame. They were eager to share their knowledge of the area and even expressed interest in who we were and how we were enjoying our visit to The Grampians.

I would not hesitate to recommend their establishment to anyone.

Well done guys, keep it up!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
3.9 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
2.8 km away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.5 km away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.0 km away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant

Property: The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Address: 394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampians Motel & "The Views", Cafe, Bar & Restaurant in Halls Gap, Victoria is nestled in a peaceful valley. The Grampians Motel offers affordable and comfortable accommodation, central to the spectacular Grampians National Park. The motel is situated on 12 acres of parkland with kangaroos, deer and emu roaming freely. You will enjoy unsurpassed views of the majestic Wonderland and Mt William Mountain Ranges, inviting you to climb and explore. The Grampians Motel is complimented by "The Views" Bar & Restaurant offering very delicious meals and wines morning and night.The Motel & Restaurant are within walking distance to Brambuk Cultural Centre, World Class Adventure Golf, Lake Bellfield and is well situated to discover the numerous attractions that Halls Gap and the Grampians have to offer. This is a fantastic place to forget the stresses of your busy life, sit back with a glass of local wine and enjoy spending a little self time, in the harmony of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Hotel Halls Gap
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant Halls Gap, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing