We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
33
87
69
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
87
69
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attached restaurant bit dated two night stay stayed here for one night comfy bed hot water would definitely stay here again deluxe room electric blankets kangaroos grampians bedding dusk adelaide
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Well if I didnt have already given my credit details .. I would not have stayed here. The man at reception was SO RUDE... why be in a hotel motel if u cant be nice... and we had no reason for him to be rude. We just asked if we could get a choice privileges .. simple I know, but no, that was a rude question...
That was a start... The pubes... pubic hair... OMG... AND the ripped bed linen...... we could have added more pubic hair. But we couldn't add anymore photos... just gross.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank woops62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael5961, Owner at Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Woops!

First of all I barely spoke to you with the exception of this morning when you barked at me on the way out and the question surrounding the Choice Privileges was directed to the staff member who asked me and to whom I replied briefly in the negative as I was on the phone handling a booking. Saying no to something that you should have been well aware of is not being SO RUDE. If you bothered to read the fine print on Booking.com you would have noted that it states that we do not provide loyalty points on bookings made through 3rd party websites.
OMG those are some pube hairs aren't they! You checked in at 6.50pm and the reception is open until 9pm but not a word was said to us until you barked your comments at me on your way out. There are so many hairs that you would have literally tripped over them when you walked into the bathroom and yet you did not feel the need to vent your disappointment at the time.... or maybe you didn't have time to clean out your hair brush at the time? We went straight to your room to check out the "offending" hairs and could not see anything then...
AND the ripped linen.... no mention of that this morning as you disappeared out the door. As we had not finished the linen when your comments came through we went through all the linen that was washed today and, OMG surprise, we could not find any linen that was ripped. Would love to know where you pulled that photo from!
Just so everyone is clear to top it all off you made a booking through a 3rd party website based in the Netherlands for a room with a king bed but then adding a comment that you want twin beds instead of picking up a phone and ringing us directly and which not only would have meant that you and your friend would have had a comfortable night's sleep in separate beds but you would have got your Choice Privileges points on top of that. But instead of getting what you wanted you got what you booked and then feel it appropriate to have a go at us. Poor...but we are not bothered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel with my wife after visiting the Grampians National Park. Nothing remarkable about this OK road inn/motel except for the rudeness of the man at the reception. I am not asking for fireworks every time I walk into a hotel lobby, but this person seemed genuinely disgusted by doing his job which is by the way welcoming guests.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Valentín R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael5961, Owner at Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Likewise we do not expect fireworks when our valued guests walk into our reception area but maybe next time consider leaving your food in the car for a few more minutes. It does not take long to check in and so you could enjoy your snack in the room instead of dumping it on the desk and munching on your nuts whilst the staff try to get your attention. It is called respect and, in any country, it does work both ways!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Comfortable room for a night stay with electric blankets which were great for a winter night. Room decor was a bit old fashion.
The worst experience was with the man at the recepction. He was extremely rude as he was asking for a hard copy of our reservation which we didn’t have (we’re in XXI century!)... I still don’t understand how someone can be so unkind with a client.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael5961, Owner at Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Ms Alvarez,

First of all it is not rude to ask, not for a hard copy of your reservation, for a copy of your voucher which was provided to you by your travel agent for the specific purpose of handing it to us upon arrival. It is, and was, a simple request for you to provide the voucher. What you do not understand is that we have not been paid for your accommodation as yet, and will not be paid for at least another month, and we need to submit the voucher for payment. We are not being rude or unkind but are merely asking for something that we are entitled to and that is required for us to be paid for your short stay with us. If anyone is being rude then maybe we should be looking at the person who is denying us the right to be paid just so as that she does not have to locate the required voucher. It is not the first time that we have rightfully asked for a voucher and it will not be the last time in this century. Enjoy the rest of your trip through Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The motel was just outside the main town centre, the room was spacious and had air conditioning, television, dvd player, refrigerator, queen size bed and en-suite bathroom. The parking spot was at your door

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RegKath47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael5961, Owner at Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

The Comfort Inn is an Australian country motel typical of the era in which it was built ( 1970's ? ).
It does not reflect the character of the town or magnificent natural scenery around it. It does however provide clean comfortable accommodation, if that is a primary requisite. Service is perfunctory, but not rude. It was perfectly adequate and well priced accommodation, but I'll try another option on my next visit, to try and add to my experience of this interesting region.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DaleS684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael5961, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for your comments. The motel was built in the late 1980s, as was most of Halls Gap, but not sure what character is required to suit a small ageing township in the middle of the Grampians National Park. However as the overwhelming requisite from travellers is clean and comfortable accommodation then we are glad to be able to tick those boxes and, coupled with our top quality beds, that is the main reason that guests choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews