We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechworth On Bridge(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Kerferd(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armour Motor Inn(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Heritage Accommodation(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Graces Beechworth(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$209
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
92
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone trystdouble showergas firethought of everythingplunge poolwatching sunriseheated floor tileslocal areastayed for nightslounge areamicagorgepropertyluxurytownfireplaceheater
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Well this is our second stay at Stonetryst Villas and on both occasions enjoyed the peace and quiet, in a well appointed self contained luxury Villa. Being only a short drive or walk (15mins) as we prefer from town we have found a gem of a spot. Plenty of provisions have been made available for breakfast as an additional option on site when booking however being a couple who prefer to cook and stay in the pjs in the mornings this place is perfect. Try the butchers in town they have the best selection of quality meats, also plenty of places to eat out too. If you need to unwind and reduce stress, this is the place for you. Will be returning for sure.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J2069CBdonnap, Owner at StoneTryst Spa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Thanks for your feedback Cherie. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return stay! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Positive: Very clean bathroom, bedroom, kitchen, lounge area. Utensils provided, milk in fridge, glasses etc all clean, private pool, tv and some videos.tea and coffee

Negative: we have been to Stone Tryst a number of times always enjoyed it until this time when new owners taken over. All previous visits breakfast supplied, various cereals, bacon, fresh eggs some biscuits and fruit a wonderful welcome this time nothing really just very basic as above. Barbecue on porch removed. Previous owner always made sure he caught up with you outside to welcome you and make you feel wanted some time during your stay. We had to leave a day early this time family emergency rang owner he could not have cared less. A very impersonal experience, last trip ever to Stone Tryst. Still a well maintained villa but what was WOW now feels an expensive $300 a night during the week.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J2069CBdonnap, Owner at StoneTryst Spa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thanks for your feedback and we are sorry that you had to cut your stay short. You will notice from our new website and booking engine that we aim to be a luxury, fully self-contained spa accommodation where privacy is part of the luxury. We do not advertise as a bed and breakfast. We dropped the nightly rates to reflect the removal of breakfast but we offer as an option, breakfast provisions from Provenance, a Good Food Guide 2 hatted restaurant which many guests enjoy. We find that because of the well-equipped kitchen some guests prefer to self cater during their entire stay. We are truly sorry that you regarded as uncaring what our manager thought was a discreet response to your situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We stayed at the larger unit with the outdoor pool (constructed we believe late 2014). Everything clean and sparkling, large bathroom, spa, double shower, fully equipped kitchen, enclosed log fire, comfy chairs, music, privacy, good views, big sky. Overall set up and finish several steps beyond competition. A very comfortable and relaxing spot, we'd certainly go back

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Peter0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We booked this accomodation after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, but there has been a change of ownership since September 2016. We were expecting breakfast provisions (based on previous reviews), but sadly there were none, not even a welcome chocolate or biscuit!

However, Stonetryst was a very nice place to spend 3 nights while visiting Beechworth. Tor Villa was beautifully presented, clean and well equipped. It is not as secluded as I thought it would be, and we were fairly close to a residential property on the other side of the fence (we could hear the Dad yelling at his child, not great!). Unfortunately for us, there were workers working on a new fence between the properties during our stay, and we were woken at 8.15am to noise and works, and watched from our balcony as the bulldozer worked near us. It wasn't a total deal breaker, but when you are paying this sort of money for accomodation, we were disappointed that we were not informed before our stay.

We really enjoyed the "Beechworth Gorge Walk", and the path can be accessed from the bottom of the property, past the stone wall. I think that Villa Mica is better positioned on the property than Tor Villa, away from the neighbour's fence. Did not see anyone else during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pepe_of_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J2069CBdonnap, Owner at StoneTryst Spa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Hello! Thanks for the review. We are glad you still enjoyed your stay despite the fence works starting at 8.15 which we agree was not ideal. We asked the builders to work in with the bookings to prevent inconvenience to our guests so I don't know what happened that morning (sincere apologies for that).
I also note your comments about breakfast. When we took over the business we decided to make breakfast as optional extra for guests as so many people prefer to self-cater given the well appointed kitchen. We actually reduced the nightly tariff on the villas to reflect the removal of breakfast provisions and added a Nespresso machine to each villa. Our bookings page makes it clear that breakfast, dining packages and things such as champagne on arrival can be pre-ordered for an extra tariff. I have asked Trip Advisor to amend the description of the villas so that it's clear we aren't a typical B&B but self-contained luxury villas.
We do hope you return to stay on another occasion and perhaps try the breakfast prepared by Provenance. Kind regards, Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

My partner and I went in June last year and we are currently struggling to find somewhere as good for our next mini getaway!

A beautiful house and breakfast topped up every morning- it had everything we were after.

The location is a perfect distance from town and there is a great walk around the river right outside your door.

Plenty of different options in town for a long weekend away, highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelS_2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews