We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
106
13
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
13
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bee rock b bs cumberland plateau gracious hosts common room excellent hospitality hiking trail breakfast was delicious fall colors leaves change nice bathroom middle tennessee meeting room a wonderful place to stay bottled water queen bed we've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We stay at the Garden Inn on our annual road trips. Some years Mike is in charge, this year it was Mirtha. Both are very cordial and run a fine B&B. Unlike many B&Bs which were built as residences, the Garden Inn was designed as an Inn, and often hosts weddings, retreats, and family reunions. It has at least a dozen rooms, and the dining room has many tables. Nevertheless, the atmosphere is more friendly than formal, and the breakfast is outstanding (on this visit the French toast was superb). There's a pleasant common sitting area, and in nice weather the view from the deck out over the forested valley is wonderful.

The rooms we've stayed in are all the same. They're clean, quiet, and comfortable, and the beds are very nice. Only one side has a reading lamp and bedside table, which makes reading in bed awkward for one member of a couple, especially if that one needs a place to put eyeglasses. For couples who arise at different times the bathroom facilities are suboptimal—shower and toilet are behind a door, but the sink is not separated from the bedroom, so the early riser has to be careful to be quiet.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, Owner at The Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi Joanne and Ham,

Was so nice to have you back again - and so sorry that I was not there to greet and chat with you both. Happy to hear that Mirtha took great care of you! Looking forward to seeing you on next year's journey.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We loved our stay at this lovely in which is 5 minutes and a world away from I-40 in Monterey, TN. The view was spectacular and Mike and Mirtha were delightful hosts. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast as well.

Room tip: Request a romm with a view of the valley
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NashDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, Owner at The Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear NashDoc,

We have been welcoming guests long enough to know that gems do exist in all shapes and sizes. We thank you for being gems of guests and hope that your brilliance illuminates The Inn once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I give my wife credit for finding this gem of a getaway in the hills of Tennessee. Great staff, great food, cozy room, sweet view. This place has the whole package, and you won't break the bank making reservations. Swing by nearby Crossville for fun cheese shops and the Cumberland County Playhouse. We plan on coming back and bringing friends/family. Thanks Garden Inn!

Room tip: A few of the upstairs rooms have gas fireplaces - nice touch. Check out the VHS collection downstairs!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank benhunt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, Owner at The Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear BenHunt78,

Thank you for your most kind words - and our kudos to your wife for finding us!!! Hope to see you again soon!

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Beautiful Inn with thoughtful, attentive, Inn Keepers, Mike and Mirtha, and Staff!
Chose The Garden Inn B&B for wedding ceremony and reception. Family and friends stayed at the Inn from 10/20-10/23. Mike and Mirtha and their amazing staff provided delicious Italian dinner on friday for reception. Each morning something different for breakfast and they provided the food, a BBQ feast, for our wedding reception.
They were attentive and kind and generous to our guests staying at the Inn, but especially helpful, going over and above, to the Bride and Groom.
Mirtha provided beautiful bouquets for the ladies and Mike, along with Isabella, provided scrumptious food. There were many highlights, but, the one that sticks with me is that Mike and his staff collected a bunch, 3 barrels full of colorful leaves, to be used as the aisle for the wedding ceremony. It was beautiful! I can go on and on! Thank you Mike and Mirtha for the most memorable time, event of my life! Hugs and Love to you. We will be back next year for our 1 Year Anniversary! Oh - and yes the rooms are amazing as well! Clean, comfortable and each provide something different in ways of amenities. Some with whirlpool tub, some with fireplace and some with 2 beds for family/friends reunion.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaMarie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, Owner at The Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Tina and Rick,

Thank YOU, as well as, your family and friends for being absolutely delightful guests - both wedding guests and Bed and Breakfast guests. You all were a charm to have stay at The Inn and to celebrate your Extended Wedding Weekend (actually a three-night event) with us! We also want to thank you for recognizing the staff - they work hard to create the weekend wedding you desire and we so appreciate that you recognize that. In all fairness - I must mention that it was Victoria (not Isabela) who worked in (or put up with... LOL) me in the kitchen all weekend. Isabela was the lead housekeeper and did a smashup job - just wanted to give "Vic" her just desserts... (all pun intended...).

Can't wait to see all ya'll again next October 20th through 23rd... we'll have the leaves ready...

M&m

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

The room was very clean and fresh feeling (despite its age) with a fireplace and nice view. The proprietor went the extra mile to accommodate special diets and was genuinely interested in doing so. The meeting room had a nice view and was quiet and off by itself one floor down from the main area.

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews