We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant and inventive”
Review of Copper Chimney

Copper Chimney
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Indian cuisine has benefited from a number of food influences; Central Asia, Arabia, the Mughal Empire, Persia, and Britain have had fundamental effects on the ingredients and techniques of Indian food. The Mughal Empire introduced an assortment of non-vegetarian elements, including kebabs and rich gravies, and promoted the addition of fruits such as apricots and melons. One of the most notable dishes attributed to the Islamic rule is biryani- a dish based on basmati rice, meat, spices, and saffron. Later on , the Portuguese and british introduced the “New World” ingredients, such as potatoes, tomatoes, and chilies- which are now used in many curries, such as chicken vindaloo. In addition to outside influences, Indian cuisine varies from region to region, reflecting the ethnically diverse subcontinent.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vibrant and inventive”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

These guys are really nice. We had carrout delivered to Marenas resort and the food was excellent and inventive. Not the usual 6th Street options.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lapsarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    36
    19
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great food in South Florida is hard to find. That said, this place was better than expected since we tried another Indian restaurant last week that was awful. By contrast, the service was attentive. The seafood curry was flavorful with an abundance of spices that could be detected. My friend had a chicken dish with lots of spinach that I did not care for. The rice, sold separately was good but should have been included with the entree. The complimentary Papadums were stale and the sauces uninspiring. They should be scrapped for it's a guest's 1st impression. The prices are steep and should be reconsidered. I'd like to see Puri and lamb vindaloo on the menu.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“What were we served?”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were looking for a diferent experience in dining and came upon this restaurant in a strip mall across from the Trump Hotel in Sunny Isles. There were several interesting options in that mall, including an elegant russian restaurant and a small pizza restaurant with the most fantastic looking gelato. We choose the indian restaurant for the great sax music streaming through the doors and the quaint atmosphere.
Our waitress was charming and we were enjoying the music as we awaited the great meal by starting off with mango lassi, a tasty mango yoghurt drink. This is where the best part of the meal was to end and the rest was an unfortunate nose dive straight down.
Our appetizer was Bikaneri Chaat mix of crisps, chickpeas, and potatoes mixed with yogurt, served with tamarind and mint chutneys- sounds great, but it was a combination of rice crispies with 3 tiny chuncks of potato and 2 chickpeas in a strange mayo-like goop. Ok, we were not off to a good start, but we thought that for sure our entrees would more than make up for the appetizer fiasco. We ordered Hucknowi Boti Kabob skewers of lamb, flavored with nutmeg and cloves, another great sounding name, but it was horrid. First of all, the plate was nicely arranged with lettuce, onions sculpted carrot and meat, but the onions and lettuce took up most of the space on the plate and there were flies all over the food. The few pieces of meat were a mystery meat that neither my partner nor I could distinguish.What were we eating? What animal were we consuming? Better still, how long was it dead? It did not even chew like any meat we ever tasted in any restaurant.
As for the other dish, Murg-E-Tandoor roasted chicken marinated in a spiced base...it was so hot and spicy that I took one bite and had to spit it out. This is after we made sure that we asked that all the food be prepared mild, not hot and spicy. My partner did eat some and became ill that night.
At least we thought we would have some tasty rice and vegetables to eat to fill up on...Subz Biryani an aromatic delicacy o vegetables and rice infused with saffron and seasoned with selected spices- This was promised by our waitress to have a lid of nan bread on top thus crispy and delicious...wrong! The nan was hard as a rock and the rice was inedible. No flavor and no spices. This was one mush of overcooked dead vegetables on a wet pile of overooked rice. Needless to say that we could not eat any of it.
The waitress offered desserts on the house. We thought how bad can it be? Let's give it a go..I ordered Gajar Halwa shredded carrots cooked in thickened milk on a slow fire and served with dry fruits- This is another dish that sounds heavenly, but was in reality a tiny dish of shredded carrots with hardly anything in it except some sweetening. Not worth the effort of eating the calories. As for the second desert,Kher sweet rice pudding flavored with almonds and cardamom, this was a bit better.I must say that I have never seen a rice pudding that was so watery, thus it was more liquid than solids.
All around, not worth the money or the time invested. We love indian restaurants and have eaten indian food all over the world and have never seen such a poor imitation of indian cuisine.Save your money and invest it in the russian restaurant nearby and end the meal with the scrumptious gelato at the pizza place at the end of the strip mall.You will be glad you did. Namaste

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pricey delicious flavors in local strip mall.”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The food is consistently delicious; truly an explosion of fresh flavors. The service is also quite attentive. But it is a "medium" on the value scale. During our last visit, the beverage menu did not disclose the price of beers. I realized why upon receiving the bill. So, ask! They charge extra for rice. No, really!
We have always sat outside and the setting is bland on a corner overlooking the strip mall parking lot. We enjoy the food and service but are not "regulars."

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncc1701a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Indian food and service”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

While I would not agree that the food here is as good as Indian restaurants in London, it is very good and there is an excellent variety on the menu including many vegetarian dishes. My wife and I shared a Tandoori variety platter that was too large for the two of us to finish. Unfortunately we also ordered a rice dish and that was too much food. The value here is excellent, don't over order. The garlic Naan was some of the best we have ever tasted.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copper Chimney also viewed

 
Sunny Isles Beach, FL
Sunny Isles Beach, FL
 

Been to Copper Chimney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing