We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Summer at the Old Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer at the Old Barn
Double en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Summer at the Old Barn
Double en-suite
Great Welsh breakfast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MacLeanOn...
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband, niece and I stayed at this B&B for a couple of nights. The photos were exactly as shown. Our rooms were clean and comfortable.
The B&B is set up so that there is a common kitchen and entrance on the main floor and two bedrooms with ensuites on the second floor. In the morning, according to the time you have chosen, Jill (your host) will enter downstairs and cook your breakfast. The breakfast was an egg, a piece of back bacon, a couple of sausages, toast, orange juice and coffee. It was delicious. There was the option of cereal, as well. Jill and her family live in the house next door.
There are plenty of pamphlets of the sights in the kitchen area and Jill has provided a large binder of information.
The Six Bells Inn is right next door and provides nice meals, but remember that there are no meals on Mondays so you will have to go elsewhere.
We had a very nice stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidthefin...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Welsh Break”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Marvellous week spent in S.Wales...................property was as described and we felt very comfortable...................just the peaceful break we wanted .....thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: nice to have our own space
Liked least: wi fi was very poor and intermittent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N
Shepperton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Went the extra mile”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

An absolutely charming property next to a great local pub in a lovely village. We had a cooked breakfast which was great, and the owners were happy to go the extra mile for us - including contacting me to let me know I'd left a jacket and offering to post it.

Only a short break there but I'm more than happy to recommend the Old Barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lougc85
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

5 of us stayed at The Old Barn B&B for one night.
Jill and Peter were outstanding hosts. The B&B is gorgeous, spacious and set in a beautiful area of Wales and not far from Cardiff City centre.
We all slept like babies in the comfortable beds. Breakfast was cooked and served at a time suitable for us which was lovely (it was delicious!)
We highly recommend a visit to The Old Barn B&B, and hope to visit again in the future.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing