We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dinham Hall(Ludlow)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
49
22
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
22
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomely hotelher daughterhave stayed here many timesfamily runpublic rooms areseparate vegetarian menuperiod featureschain hotelswelsh borderslittle gemrisottowine liststayed for nightsmilebrook housecroquet lawnlovely roomsunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

This was a stop over whilst travelling home. The hotel is family run and has that family feeling about it. the public rooms have real fires to warm them and furniture to snooze in.

We were met with tea and crumpets in front of the fire. The service was very good and the food first class. All the staff were polite and welcoming.

The bar had good selection of spirits but no ale on tap. The wine list was impressive for a small hotel.

The only criticism was the bathroom is in need of an up-date.

Would we stay here again, YES.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevefbxl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is well located for visiting some lovely border towns and castles, as well as great walking country. Rooms are generously sized and comfortable. The public areas are pleasant and inviting, with an old-fashioned country house feel. The food is excellent, with a good range of menu choices. The pleasant gardens are a delight to explore.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank LizaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We were almost at Knighton to visit rellies when we saw the sign, reversed the car to look up the drive, and immediately pointed the car into the park. The owner wasn't available, but the young lady who greeted us ("I'm only the waitress!") soon checked us in and offered to carry our bags up; nice, but we were travelling relatively lightly.
We enjoyed everything about the place, our room was comfortable, and wondering round the grounds was a pleasure. I too was interested in the connections to Wilfred Thesiger, since I had read one of his books, and after a chat with the proprietor, she lent me another of his books to browse through.
We had our rellies round to dinner on the second evening, relaxing in the elegant lounge with pre-prandial drinkies, followed by a delicious meal, and altogether would have no trouble recommending the establishment to others who are tired of the sterile chrome and faux timber decor of modern hotels; our niece and her husband were both impressed and vowed to return for a meal or two - the food quality and service were impeccable, and from friendly and efficient reception to our departure, it was a very pleasant, memorable part of our trip.

Room Tip: Not really
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anton71Carterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Previous reviewers have said it all. However, mention should also be made of the imaginative vegetarian menu. No boring gnocchi, risotto or nut roast here! Carnivores need not worry either.

Handy hint: Try not to contact the Hotel during a Manchester City game!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Invigilator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

A beautiful hotel full of period features. The food was delicious, complimentsto the chef. Lovely gardens that you are encouraged to explore. We enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews