We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
193
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dyfi estuary wedding venue covered courtyard scones afternoon tea osprey room wedding breakfast wonderful wedding terrace overlooking friend's birthday guests feel sausage rolls fine china grand house interesting history out of this world perfect venue
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We were invited to a friend's birthday tea here, which we enjoyed very much.
The situation of the "castle" is gorgeous, overlooking the Dyfi Estuary, set in lovely grounds.
We were made very welcome, and had a very good tea in the stunning covered courtyard. The tea provided was good quality, apart from turkey roll used in one of the sandwiches, which may be easier to make, but doesn't taste very nice! Apart from that, everything was perfect, and the rooms that we saw were beautifully furnished and decorated. It would be lovely to stay there, particularly in the summer, and enjoy a drink on the terrace overlooking the estuary.
Our time there wasn't enough.

We were invited here to a friend's birthday tea in the stunning covered courtyard, which we enjoyed very much.
The tea was of good quality apart from the turkey roll which was used in one of the sandwiches.
It might look neater but doesn't taste very nice! Apart from that everything was perfect.
The downstairs rooms were beautifully furnished and decorated, and I would imagine the bedrooms would be of similar high standard..
The "castle" is situated overlooking the Dyfi Estuary in its own extensive and lovely grounds.
We would love to spend a night there, particularly in the summer, and have a drink on the terrace overlooking the estuary.
Our time there just wasn't enough.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Beautiful, delicious and plentiful homemade food, beautiful rooms, and a warm and friendly welcome. The owners are attentive without being intrusive. The flowers and the candles on the table all added to the ambience. I cannot fault it!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hattytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This place is AMAZING!!
Maureen & Peter are brilliant they made our wedding day memorable from start to finish. The staff are excellent.
The Castel is out of this world all the rooms are fabulous especially the wedding suite(osprey). The views are breath taking & amazing for photos. If your looking for a AMAZING place for a wedding or any event then go & have a look at the beautiful Castel me & my new husband highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Borthview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We booked a 2 night stay for my girlfriend's birthday .EVERYTHING was excellent : the room, the breakfast ( delicious and filling ) and last but not least the hosting by Maureen and Peter . Two particularly nice touches were a birthday card from our hosts and the rooftop viewing and local history chat on the morning we left.
our hosts were friendly ,gracious and completely unaffected by living in such a grand house. I wish them every continued success , ably assisted by Sidney the Dog !

Room tip: Skylark gave great views across the estuary , no road noise anywhere as well away from and above the road.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulCoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

From start to finish,from foundation to turret roof,flowers to furnishings,pets to people,breakfast to dessert,there is no better place than this.
Myself and my now wife visited in December last year to view for our wedding venue,and from the moment we turned through the entrance we knew we had found the perfect place,
We met with Maureen and everything she said would happen did,from beautiful individual rooms to some of the most gorgeous food ever,nothing was too much trouble and both her and Peter,Sienna and assistants provided attention to us and our guests that was again second to none.
The castle itself is again perfect,and the time and effort to keep it so must be huge,
If you want somewhere where everyone who ever arrives goes WOW ,then this is the place,
Myself and now wife,can't thank you or praise you enough as tripadvisor doesn't do a six rating,but when they do your it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Builthbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews