We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llanwddyn, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MRiley35
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We arrived on the Friday for the bank holiday weekend and were greeted with a warm welcome, a lit fire and homemade cakes with also a tour around the cottage.

The cottage is on a working farm and the views are spectacular. We have enjoyed playing games in the conservatory looking out onto the Welsh landscape with neighbours of sheep and lambs (which greeted us daily) and evenings spent in the lounge around the open fire.

Whilst at the cottage we went on a number of walks as we brought our dog. We recommend to walk to Lake Vrynwy, it's not too far and when you get there the views are incredible! Also on the Saturday night we went to the Plough in Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant which was amazing food and atmosphere!

This cottage is excellent value for money and we will definitely return!

Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review with us all, we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Secret Hideaway. The welcome you received sounds fabulous and it is great to hear that your dog enjoyed the holiday right along with you - arriving to such spectacular views must have made the walking well worth it! We certainly hope that you return for another holiday soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity...
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Secret Hideaway. The location is stunning - there are walks in every direction or you can just sit in the conservatory and enjoy the views (particularly the beautiful sunsets). The cottage itself is traditional, cosy and homely and for chilly evenings there is a log burner (also WiFi that works which is good for older children!). The lake and the surrounding area never get too busy and cycling round the lake is easy and enjoyable with lots of spots to paddle along the way. Loads of birds to spot around the hides, including peregrine falcons. The owners (who live next door)could not have been more welcoming - providing lovely home-made cakes on arrival and offering helpful advice. We were joined for a few days by my elderly mother and father in law and we were particularly grateful to Diane for the great care shown to them - extra cakes and fresh flowers arrived and the heating was turned up without us even asking. We were also visited by other members of the family for the day and again, this did not cause any issue. This is a place that anyone who loves the countryside would enjoy at any age. Thank you for making our holiday so special and memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the welcome
Liked least: We loved everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not for families”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Me my husband and our three children along with our dog visited the cottage with visions of total relaxation amongst a secluded valley close to all local amenities.

The holiday started with a note from owners saying what time they will be back to allow us in! Not ideal with 3 children to occupy... We were then told we could not flush the toilet have a shower or wash up as the well had leaked.
The property is connected to the owners house and you can Hear EVERYTHING which makes is very uncomfortable.
In the description it says you are 5 mins away from shop! Yes if you travel in a car but not by foot with three children as no pavements and located on a very sharp bend.
If you have children you can not walk to the Lake as it is along windy roads with no pavements.
Lamps no working nore kettle or fridge light.
On the morning of departure we were not told before hand of departure time but my husband yet again bumped into the owner and she asked what time are we leaving at 9.40am to which he replied midday, he was then told we had to be out by 10am!!!! 20 mins to get family of 5 belongings out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliq
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“View from cottage is 5 star”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage itself is adequate but would hugely benefit from an upgrade - decor, lighting in kitchen for instance. However we managed to cook Christmas dinner here with the help of Sainsburys oven ready items. View from conservatory is lovely and some good dog walks around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing