We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (2,082)
Filter reviews
2,082 results
Traveller rating
1,035
638
231
120
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,035
638
231
120
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake vyrnwy afternoon tea garden view stunning views four poster bed premier room clay pigeon shooting main restaurant truffle scones evening meal room was large drawing room cream tea relaxing break the pub birthday treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 2,082 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday and absolutely loved it. Amazing, huge room overlooking the lake - the view is breathtaking. (Only one suggestion for improvement- perhaps a slightly better shower, although it was OK.) The food was excellent and very reasonable. Service was attentive without being fussy. Nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Very mindful of Covid security but mostly discreetly done.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EmmaHump313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us!
It's a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay, especially with regards to your dining experiences.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Vyrnwy again.

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

4nights spent at Lake Vrywny. The instant love for this place is brought about by the Lake and the setting of the Hotel . The view is stunning and changes every hr. Even in the rain it was a beautiful place to be. There is a public footpath just behind the hotel that can be as long or short as you want it to be, or the walk down and across the Dam on the Lake is easier and just as fab. I recommend this place to experience Wales.
The Hotel and Spa is doing its absolute best in these difficult times. Reception is a little cold due to masks as it was difficult to see a warm welcoming smile, However, the restaurant is served by some lovely , warm and high standard waiters. Felicia welcomed us on our first evening and she was so helpful and charming. Nothing was too much trouble, and when we enquired about a vegan menu for breakfast and dinner she helped us to put in place a choice for our daughter who has a dairy allergy. Sadly after Felicia went on leave the Vegan option wasn't as easy to access and we had 3 breakfasts where dairy free was a problem. Elena the chef made a vegan evening menu for us which we hugely appreciated, however the job of sourcing a plant based sausage for a vegan breakfast seemed to elude them!! Please look into this as veganism , for some people, is NOT a choice.
On the whole I found this hotel such good value for money and a beautiful rest from the chaos we are living through. We also took our small staffie X who was welcome
A beautiful time well spent.

Date of stay: September 2020
1  Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us.

It's such a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay, especially with regards to the hotel's excellent location and your interaction with our restaurant team. I will make sure to pass your comments onto the staff who will be thrilled.

I was sorry to learn of the difficulties your daughter had with breakfast, I have discussed this with the rest of the restaurant and kitchen team as we have a range of dairy free options and I apologise that these were not made easily available to you. The sausages on the vegetarian breakfast on the menu are vegan and allergen free so I will find out why this was not made clear to you during your stay to avoid a repeat of this below par performance.

I'd like to thank you again for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Vyrnwy.

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020

Just left after an amazing 2 night stay.

Lake Vyrnwy is stunningly beautiful. The hotel is set up a bank to provide amazing views across the lake, of the tower and the surrounding hills. The weather was mixed while we were there but it was still fantastic to sit and watch the clouds roll over the hills in the rain from the comfort of bar/restaurant/bedroom. Or watch the light change as the sun rose on a sunny day.

Upgrade to a lake view if you can afford. Or even a premium lake view room - we had one of these and moved the sofa from facing the TV to look straight out the window!

They have taken all the covid precautions really seriously (as you would expect) but it in no way interfered with our enjoyment of our trip or diminished the excellent service we received.

The lakeside road us partially closed at the moment, but you can still access the waterfall and visit the cafe, boat house and various picnic spots.

We drove to the Rhiwargor Waterfall at the other end of the lake and did the 2 mile walk loop to see the waterfall. We went at 10.30 on a Thursday morning and had the place to ourselves, we spent about 20 minutes at the falls and only saw a few people on our walk back.

Will definitely and happily return.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Hi Charlotte,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely review!

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s excellent location and the attention given by the team.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

We were allocated room 4 which looked out over the lake. Even the bathroom has a stunning view.
Large room with comfortable sitting area, so nice we decided to have breakfast in the room.
Meals (lunch, dinner and breakfast ) were lovely, interesting and reasonably priced.
Loved this hotel and the location.

Room tip: Room 4 was wonderful.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank V3191GQcarolw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review.
It's such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020

A beautiful location and a hotel with character. The Covid restrictions meant that not all the facilities were available, nonetheless the staff handled the situation very well and we felt safe during our stay. The food was excellent and our room had an amazing view of the lake. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks to all the staff for their service. Diolch yn fawr.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank MairD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review!
Its a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass your comments onto the staff who will be thrilled.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews