We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (2,082)
Filter reviews
2,082 results
Traveller rating
1,035
638
231
120
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,035
638
231
120
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake vyrnwy afternoon tea garden view stunning views four poster bed premier room clay pigeon shooting main restaurant truffle scones evening meal room was large drawing room cream tea relaxing break the pub birthday treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 2,082 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2020

We were allocated room 4 which looked out over the lake. Even the bathroom has a stunning view.
Large room with comfortable sitting area, so nice we decided to have breakfast in the room.
Meals (lunch, dinner and breakfast ) were lovely, interesting and reasonably priced.
Loved this hotel and the location.

Room tip: Room 4 was wonderful.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank V3191GQcarolw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review.
It's such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020

A beautiful location and a hotel with character. The Covid restrictions meant that not all the facilities were available, nonetheless the staff handled the situation very well and we felt safe during our stay. The food was excellent and our room had an amazing view of the lake. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks to all the staff for their service. Diolch yn fawr.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank MairD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review!
Its a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass your comments onto the staff who will be thrilled.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed in room 35 a superior lake view room. This room had a balcony with furniture and the view over the lake was breathtaking!!
The hotel has real charm and is beautiful. The staff are super friendly and nothing was too much for them.
Obviously we've visited during COVID and we felt super safe. You could tell the hotel was well cleaned and that there were suitable precautions taken.
My only gripe and I understand why is the check in time at 1600, this caused us minor logistical issues with wanting a massage at 1500

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sambR177YX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review.
It's a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2020

Always wanted to stay here and was bought a 2 night stay as a gift.
Given the price of the stay and taking my experience into account, this hotel is overpriced and overrated. In fact there is no way this should be rated 4 star!!
Starting with the positive....the obvious location. Nobody could come here without being enthralled by the views! Breathtaking. However the hotel cannot be judged on that alone and sadly there were too many negatives to overlook.
The food was not good! Indeed breakfast was diabolical. Numerous issues on both mornings at breakfast and again at dinner. Standard of food wasnt up to scratch given its 4 star rating. No gluten free items available and ignorance as to the issue of being gluten intolerant to the point of me being offended and that was from the actual Manager!! Distinct lack of customer care. Apathy from alot of the staff apart from one lovely young gentlemen. Not much atmosphere. Dark and dreary and needing a jolly good clean eg the windows in the conservatory.
Overall disappointing given the money charged. Our visit was saved by the gorgeous late summer weather and the walks. But alot needs to change for this establishment to keep going.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank joannabarnett3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.
I'm sorry to learn that your time with us was not as you had expected, for which I sincerely apologise.
I understand that our General Manager has been in touch with you since your stay.
Your review will be shared with the team to avoid a repeat of this below par performance and we will do everything we can to improve on the points that you have made.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

On the last of a three day break here at the Vyrnwy Hotel. We’ve managed one visit per year over recent times & are yet to be disappointed. A garden room or a lake view, this visit,( magnificent aspect overlooking the valley).
Free gift of a hotel brollie & 2 waiting for us in our room. If the weather was dry during our stay, a free bottle of bubbly to go home with, not on this visit tho, plenty of the wet stuff. Well looked after by all staff, particularly Mr Jones in the bar, (almost an old friend as he’s worked here for 32 years).
Thank you Vyrnwy Hotel, see you in the Autumn.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tupeloNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay

Kind regards,

J Thomas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews