We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
129
141
78
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
141
78
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden conservatory restaurant evening meal tourist information pudding tea and coffee lovely room comfy bed weekend break double room well worth a visit stayed for two nights st david s breakfast was excellent high street the pembrokeshire coastal path brains
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Three of us went for an evening meal, and were disappointed. One of us had a Crispy Duck salad, in which the duck was cremated and hard, the small salad consisted of some limp rocket and some shavings of carrot, and the side of veg was small as well. They did offer a complimentary cup of coffee as a result. Basically, everything we had was rather less than we imagined it. The puddings were nice, but the accompanying scoop, or rather half-scoop of ice cream came in a miniscule cup, into which the spoon would not fit, and I'd never seen such a small amount of custard, although they did give me a refill. It took an hour to get our main meals, then half an hour waiting for puddings, and it wasn't at all busy in the early evening. Over all disappointing

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
2  Thank DonMacGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveStDavids, General Manager at Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I am sorry about the issues you received on Wednesday when you visited, We were very busy on Wednesday night. Even though it may have looked not as busy in the restaurant. We have another 100+ seats in the Garden and with such a lovely evening they fill up quickly.

I am glad you were offered something as a gesture once you told the Team. please next time let us know when you were checked back. We would have happily made you another dish.

Hopefully you will give us another try.

Thanks

Rob & Team Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

A perfect (3 night) base for our adventures in the area which we would be happy to recommend and revisit.
We stayed in room 8, a standard room with a much appreciated sash window given the lovely weather and recent heatwave! It was cosy and compact but fine for a short stay, more importantly the bed was comfy so slept well. We got used to the noisy bathroom fan/light/extractor (which can’t be isolated/turned off), but it might get on some nerves.
The room is a little tired, but the super managers confirmed they are due a refurbishment. Hopefuly this will also include a more robust shower fixture as it did have a bit of a mind of its own (and when soaking the stone feature wall opposite it made the room smell like a cat litter tray)!
All the staff are genuinely lovely and super attentive, going above and beyond by getting in gluten free bread especially for my other half.
Their walled garden is an amazing bonus which made up for the not quite as rural a setting as photos on the website might make you think. Parking is also a massive plus.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michellelong19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveStDavids, General Manager at Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the Grove.

Sorry about the noise from the extractor fan, The isolator for the Fan is on the outside of the bathroom above the door. Sorry we didn't know this or we would have shown you where it was. I will get someone out to look at the wall as that shouldn't happen when we have rain.

I'm glad you had a great nights sleep, and that the team helped you with all your needs during your stay.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Thanks

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Small but clean and comfortable rooms. The beds are a small double though which wasn't great. Breakfast was adequate and the evening menu and food was great. Would definitely stay again. It's a very short work into the centre of St Davids.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Shan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveStDavids, General Manager at Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for leaving such a lovely Review.

Its great you enjoyed your food and stay with us. All aspects of the Hotel will be looked at when we get our Refurbishment in the near Future including Beds.

Hopefully we will see you again.

Thanks

Rob & Team grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Went there last Friday, nice hotel with a small restaurant on the side with parking.
We ordered 2 sandwiches just for a light lunch, chicken bacon club with chips and fish finger with extra sweet potato fries. Unfortunately we got a really small portion of chips comparing to the sweet potato fries but they were still good.

Very accommodating staff and fresh food.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveStDavids, General Manager at Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for leaving a review on The Grove.

I am glad you enjoyed your food with us. With the chips, due to charging extra for Sweet Potato Fries, we do give a larger portion.

Its great the team were helpful for you.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Thanks

Rob & Team Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic stay, friendly service, all staff were very attentive and welcoming. Excellent rooms and a great gin range really enjoyed my stay even if it was for work. Perfect for a few nights away will be returning soon!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank thebeard262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveStDavids, General Manager at Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for your kind review.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the different range of Gins we have.

I will pass your kind words on to the team also.

Hopefully we will see you soon.

Thanks

Rob & Team Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews