We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Old Forge Pumphouse annexe was a real gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Annex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Annex
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Annex
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Proximity of river from house
Annex seating area
Annex garden
Our wildlife pond
Just to remind you where the 'rest of the world is'!
Fancy a dip? large pool in front of the road bridge
View down the driveway of annex plus owners house in background
garden view of owners property and annex
Sunny seating area
Gwendraeth River
Summerhouse seating area
Firepit
Kidwelly Castle
Gwendraeth Fach at Industrial Museum Kidwelly
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kidwelly, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David L
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Old Forge Pumphouse annexe was a real gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cathy and Paul made us very welcome, they were very helpful and friendly and although the annexe was on the small side, it was very clean and comfortable well equipped and in a beautiful location. Lots of places to visit within a relatively short drive, we look forward to our next visit .The smallholding gardens were a pleasure to be in along with the chickens, goats, cats and dogs. Great welcome at the Red Lion at Llandyfaelog with beer and food to match! A really enjoyable week

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt very comfortable with the local people who made us very welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves here in Carmarthenshire and we look forward to having you back to stay sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nisicorvo...
Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in Carmarthenshire”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

First of all, we'd like to thank Cathy and Paul for their warm welcome, it was a home away from home. Nestled in the lovely Carmarthenshire countryside, the cottage is very clean and cozy, and the welcome package much appreciated. The kitchen is truly well equipped - not just a microwave and some cutlery - so cooking meals was possible; the bed was good and so was the bathroom. At last but not at least, the place is beautiful and peaceful. Definitely recommened.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thank you both, we really enjoyed having you to stay and appreciate the comments about the kitchen - we try very hard to make the cottage a home from home and it is lovely when we get positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mag23
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful wildlife haven”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have stayed at many holiday lets but usually through central companies. We chose this property for the flexibility....so unusual to be able to book just 4 nights in July/August. As nature lovers, we were so glad we went to The Old Forge Pumphouse as it is next to a river with kingfishers, dippers and otters. We saw bullfinches and nuthatches and many types of butterfly attracted by the beautiful wildlife garden. It was lovely to have our own garden (and freedom to roam the wider garden with its nooks and crannies) and so tranquil that the stresses of travelling the length of the M4 disappeared within 5 minutes of our arrival! Our hosts were helpful and friendly....as were the dogs (and chickens when they were hungry!) and the welcome provisions very generous. We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Although not far from access route it felt peacful
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you so much - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the wildlife so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June S
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil and Reaxing”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The accommodation in the annexe was superb and could not be faulted. Everything that you needed was provided and more. We had a wonderful week and Cathy and Paul were really good hosts, friendly and helpful. Every time we returned we were greeted by chickens and dogs with a very warm welcome. Really miss this now we are home. Cathy and Paul have a wonderful home and gardens which they encourage you to share. We would whole heartedly recommend this experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will come back and see us soon - I am watering that fuchsia for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blancaand...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful and inspiring”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This place is absolutely delightful and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. The accommodation is set in a stunning woodland setting by a river and is surrounded by flowers which Cathy and Paul have planted. Cathy and Paul are a very welcoming and inspiring couple, they raise chickens, goats and bees as well as growing fruit and veg, and have moulded the landscape around the accommodation into a series of natural gardens and paths which compliment the beautiful surroundings. We would love to come back and learn more from Cathy and Paul about how to tread more lightly on the environment, they are an inspiration to people who dream of living more in harmony with nature.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing