We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$73
View deal
Hotels.com
US$66
View deal
Agoda.com
US$74
US$65
View deal
SAVE US$9
PricelineUS$73
Expedia.comUS$66
ZenHotels.comUS$74
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,636)
Filter reviews
1,636 results
Traveller rating
768
580
179
65
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
768
580
179
65
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hampton by hilton budget hotel air con plenty of parking celtic manor yogurt motorway newport stopover wardrobe inns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,636 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2020

So, on first impression the staff were friendly and attentive. They verified my card, however they took this x10! Not a big issue but also not necessary surely?
Was very impressed with the room, very clean and bathroom was equally clean and impressive for a budget hotel. The door that goes across the bathroom/wardrobe would not stay across the bathroom which was not the best scenario. I would have spoken to someone if it was a real issue.
However, the night was appalling. Someone on my floor decided a very loud gathering was necessary. It started at 2 am and went on almost 2 hours. I tried calling reception and also messaged. No response. I wasn’t asked the next day on check out if I had enjoyed my stay, nothing. In fact the staff really could barely be bothered. Very unlike the night before.
The breakfast was a little odd, however I’m not sure what the alternative would be given the circumstances with the virus. I’m just not convinced a pizza wrap belongs at the breakfast table. I think a continental style breakfast would have been better.
All in all, I would stay again and just hope my fellow guests would be more considerate

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger goldsworthy, General Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Many thanks for your review of the Tŷ Hotel Magor. We are pleased to see that you generally had a good stay with us. I appreciate your understanding with breakfast, we have required to adjust the style of breakfast we offer and will be hoping to improve this selection in the future. I am extremely sorry for the disturbance you experienced with this particular group, they were spoken to on a number of times, but were very difficult to manage and did not appreciate the issues they were causing, this is such a rare occasion and I can assure you is most unusual for this Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Roger Goldsworthy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2020

We dont get any breakfest as we paid for it. Nothing warm on the table, only jogurt muffin and some cold sandwich. They didnt asked if we are alergic to anything. So the breakfest looks like in prison, they give You what they want and its not enough for the kid. No gym, broken air condition. Joke not a hotel

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank H8549PTtomaszs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger goldsworthy, General Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Dear H8549PTtomaszs
.
Please accept my apologies for the issues with the a/c on Monday . We have had engineers here for the last 2 days and have hopefully resolved these faults in the system . You will also see we have reacted to our guest comments , and a hot option is now available every morning .
Thank you

Roger Goldswoorthy
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

This hotel formally owned by Hamilton by Hilton, is now part of the Celtic Manor Group. Clean and pleasant, it provides all you need for a good nights stay and has a local restaurant in the same area.
Good deals from time to time.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bigmedic2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger g, General Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to give us your views on the Tŷ Hotel Magor Nice to hear as we continue to develop the brand Your comments are very encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Roger Goldsworthy General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

If you have stayed in a Hampton by Hilton you will feel at home here as that’s what it was. Beds are really comfortable, spacious rooms and smart bathroom. Close to the motorway but nothing else close by. Breakfast is free but not great and the linked Sawyers restaurant serves average pub grub at restaurant prices. Final point telephone booking is a shambles, really needs sorting out.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Seagultaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger g, General Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to give us your views on the Tŷ Hotel Magor Nice to hear as we continue to develop the brand Your comments are very encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Roger Goldsworthy General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Didn’t know what to expect when we booked this as not many photos on the Celtic manor website. We were pleasantly surprised . We had a queen room, which was really nice, lovely and clean and modern. The bathroom was really nice especially the shower. Had shampoo/conditioner/shower gel/ body lotion (everything you could need). We were really impressed.

Only criticism would be the shower head and shower screen needs to be bigger, as had to stand in one corner of the shower so everywhere wouldn’t get soaked.

Staff On check in and out were lovely. Only let down was the breakfast, not much hot food choice. And what was there wasn’t very nice, hash browns soggy, sausages were really mushy, scrambled egg was like slip. Also the staff seemed to be miserable, no greetings of ‘hello’. We asked if need to check in before we get breakfast and the staff member just simply said no. No hello/ good morning nothing. We were disappointed with this experience. We’d definitely stay again but would get breakfast else where.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank X3458LOamandac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger g, General Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to give us your views on the Tŷ Hotel Magor Nice to hear as we continue to develop the brand Your comments are very encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Roger Goldsworthy General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews