We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$78
View deal
US$78
US$68
View deal
SAVE US$10
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$68
Hotels.comUS$68
Orbitz.comUS$68
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,638)
Filter reviews
1,638 results
Traveller rating
768
580
181
65
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
768
580
181
65
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hampton by hilton budget hotel air con plenty of parking celtic manor yogurt motorway newport stopover wardrobe inns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,638 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

I was quite nervous about staying at this hotel having read several negative comments - I needn't have worried.
Really warm welcome from the lady on reception and very efficient.
The room was lovely and clean and the bathroom of an excellent standard. My only issue was not being able to turn the aircon off.
Lovely comfortable bed and a good breakfast provided the next morning.
It isn't positioned in a scenic location but is really convenient for the M4.
Enjoyed our stay thank you.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger g, Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2019

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Tŷ Hotel Magor
We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2019

What is the main reason why people stay in hotels? It's for sleep. If you like sleep
then never ever book here.

If you like lying on a concrete slab and enjoy waking up after a fitful hour feeling like you have been pushed down a flight of stairs, then this is the place for you.

There are 3 of us here right now and we had a combined 9 hours sleep between us. Sadly it is too late to get out of here tonight, but there were 4 of us booked in all next week, and we have now cancelled it immediately.

The hardest, most horribly uncomfortable beds in the whole UK.

We did ask at reception today if we could all move rooms but were told that all three beds were the same. Avoid.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank CavemanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger g, General Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views on the Tŷ Hotel Magor
Your comments are very helpful as we develop and grow this brand
Please accept my apologies for any discomfort your experienced whilst staying at the hotel.
We are constantly working to improve our offering and over the next few months we will be replacing some of the mattresses in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2019

Have stayed here before when it was a Hampton by Hilton and the new owners have not improved it at all. The bed had the comfort of concrete with springs sticking out the duvet was hanging out of the cover and was very discoloured the pillows were stained and smelly.
Breakfast was a farce no cutlery or crockery had to go and find a member of staff to replenish. Cooked breakfast was cold and the area was filthy once again had to chase staff for cold meats and cheese that had run out. Croissants had obviously been baked off the night before and stored in the fridge as they were flat and freezing. The apple juice was just coloured water.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger g, General Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views on the Tŷ Hotel Magor
Please accept my apologies for any area we have fallen short on this occasion.
We have immediately recognised where we have fallen short with regards to our breakfast offer and I can assure you this has been rectified
We are constantly working to improve our offering and over the next few months we will be replacing some of the mattresses in the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back at the property again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019

This hotel was very convenient for a holiday coming into Wales, as it's just off the motorway and very friendly. Also there's a nearby village of Magor that's nice to walk into with good pubs. There wasn't quite everything I expected in the room and I noted this to the hotel but I believe they are striving to want to make it better.

Room tip: Rooms have a good view over the brewery and countryisde beyond.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymooners43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger g, Manager at Ty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views on the Tŷ Hotel Magor
Your comments are very helpful as we grow and develop the brand
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019

Stayed here 1 night in June. Polite and friendly receptionist. Hotel was cosy. Parking was right outside the hotel. Lovely American themed bar/restaurant about 3 mins walk (the other side of the car park) which served good beer and food. Would definately stay here again if the need arises

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcsMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews