We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,593)
Filter reviews
2,594 results
Traveller rating
1,108
787
373
192
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,108
787
373
192
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary barbertie's restaurantmedieval banquetprince of wales suitecream teapeacocks wanderingmoat spasteeped in historyroll top bathgrounds are lovelyspa facilitiesthermal suiterelaxation roompublic roomscooked breakfastbirthday treatfree standing bath
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 2,594 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second stay at Ruthin castle and like last time it was very pleasant. The reception we received was friendly and informative. Bar staff were attentive and polite. Breakfast is included and was lovely. We ate in the library bar and Bertie’s restaurant. Both were excellent. During the day the decor looks like it could do with some TLC but by night it looks spectacular. Our room was spacious, the bathroom was luxurious. My only gripe was that our double bed was actually 2 singles pushed together and one was higher than the other. Not much to complain about but it made sleep uncomfortable as I would roll into the centre of the bed

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

After a delay checking into our suite we were amazed at attention to detail in the room. Chocolate Strawberry’s and rose petals wow what a treat along with the apology bottle of Prosecco

Only one Vegetarian chose for mains as we are both vegetarian it’s nice to chose different meals in a wonderfully romantic restaurant.

The food was really tasty though

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Firstian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin L, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave this kind feedback following your stay with us at Ruthin Castle Hotel.

It was fantastic to hear how much you had enjoyed the comfort of the room which you had booked and all the extras you had arranged were there waiting for you.I was also delighted that you had enjoyed the evening meal.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate our reservation team for the most competitive rates at reservations@ruthincastle.co.uk or for any general enquiries you can contact me directly at gavin.lea@ruthincastle.co.uk

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The castle in right in the centre of Ruthin which is full of interesting independent shops. The building is absolutely beautiful and set in gorgeous grounds full of peacocks! The room was lovely with a huge bed and old carved furniture. We had delicious cocktails in the library bar and ate in the restaurant which has a roaring fire and suits of armour! The food was really good as were the staff, everyone was so friendly and helpful. Would love to go back and would definitely recommend. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie20142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin L, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of Ruthin Castle Hotel.

It was fantastic to hear how much you had enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including our beautiful and historic grounds and the comfort of the room you had booked.

Thank you for also commenting on how helpful and friendly you had found the staff to be. We value guest service very highly so this was a pleasure to hear.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate our reservation team for the most competitive rates at reservations@ruthincastle.co.uk or for any general enquiries you can contact me directly at gavin.lea@ruthincastle.co.uk

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Lovely stay at the Hotel with friendly staff , clean rooms, interesting historic and impressive rooms in the Castle (bar, restaurant, gardens). However, the breakfast was not great quality. Furthermore, this is not a Spa hotel: the thermal suite closes at 5pm making it impossible to use for people wanting to visit the region during the day and have a nice relaxing sauna in the evening - disappointed as well because the welcoming letter left in our room indicated that the spa was open until 7 pm and the gym at 8pm on Friday so we planned our day accordingly only to come back in the evening to be told facilities had closed at 5pm again. Hotel needs to review their advertising /marketing to ensure they don't mislead potential customers wanting a spa hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked a suite to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was quirky and fabulous! I would have rated 5 stars but despite my mentioning it at the time of booking there was no gluten free bread available for my breakfast. The only and quite small downside to a wonderful venue. We will be back to try a different suite

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews