We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,598)
Filter reviews
2,598 results
Traveller rating
1,108
789
375
192
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,108
789
375
192
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary barbertie's restaurantmedieval banquetprince of wales suitecream teapeacocks wanderingmoat spasteeped in historyroll top bathgrounds are lovelyspa facilitiesthermal suiterelaxation roompublic roomscooked breakfastbirthday treatfree standing bath
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 2,598 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights in a standard room but were delighted to be upgraded to a suite on arrival.
The castle and grounds are in need of some repairs, but this adds to the charm.
We only had breakfast in the hotel as that was included in the booking,it was nice but nothing special if i'm honest and i didn't think there was a great variety, also the service was a bit lack lustre.
The staff and atmosphere in the Library bar was nice for drinks and cocktails and this room had nice views over the grounds that was full of peacocks roaming around.
It was a nice experience to stay in a castle and i would recommend Ruthin Castle and probably would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin L, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to leave a review following your stay with us at Ruthin Castle Hotel.

I was sorry to hear that there was not the variety you had hoped for. We do offer a continental buffet with fresh fruit and pastries along with a selection of cooked options, this said I will discuss your feedback with our chef and pass on your comments.

I was delighted to hear that you had found the staff in the library bar to be so helpful and that you had enjoyed some of the cocktails we have to offer. I will be delighted to share your kind words with the team.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future stay and should you wish to return please do not hesitate our reservation team for the most competitive rates at reservations@ruthincastle.co.uk or for any general enquiries you can contact me directly at gavin.lea@ruthincastle.co.uk

Kind regards
Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The staff went out of their way to be helpful. As a disabled traveller I have to bring equipment with me - scooter, zimmer et al. I was given a larger room so I could accommodate all the equipment. There were disabled facilities in the bathroom and everything went like a breeze. The room was very luxurious and made for a very very comfortable stay. Breakfast had more than enough choice and was as good as any 4 star in Rome, Venice or Sorrento or even Oz, come to think of it.

The castle itself is very accessible. Everything we needed was on the ground floor and there is disabled parking and a disabled entrance at the back of the hotel. The only difficulty is accessing the side garden up the steps, but I forgot to ask if there is a ramp? It would be good to sit out in the summer.

The grounds are very pleasant to walk through which makes for a peaceful stay - unless you count the peacocks amorous overtures...lol.

We love the Library bar and enjoyed some delicious food and drinks in a lovely setting. We are already planning our next visit and I can't wait to go back.

If you are looking for a holiday with a bit of class, look no further. The castle is a unique experience; set in lovely grounds with lots of atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredsbuddy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin L, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Ruthin Castle Hotel.

We are all thrilled that you had found the room we arranged for you to be so comfortable and had all the facilities that you needed. It was also a pleasure to hear how much you had enjoyed breakfast where we offer a continental buffet along with a delicious Welsh cooked breakfast.

Thank you for also mentioning you had enjoyed your dining experience in the Library Bar. Our chefs use the freshest ingredients to produce some delicious dishes so it was wonderful to share your kind words.

I was very pleased to hear that you will be returning for a future stay. Please do not hesitate our reservation team for the most competitive rates at reservations@ruthincastle.co.uk or for any general enquiries you can contact me directly at gavin.lea@ruthincastle.co.uk

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

A stunning hotel in need of some tlc in places and some extra dusting of cobwebs, but this sort of adds to the haunted charm! Excellent grounds for team building, although peacocks in the grounds and archery is a recipe for disaster! Stayed in one of the front bedrooms - very strange goings on in this room...I was not alone. Also some very odd noises and temperature changes throughout the hotel...will not be returning in a hurry!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin L, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review following your stay with us at Ruthin Castle Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that your team building day had gone so well. We offer many different corporate packages as well as our leisure rates being very competitive so it is always rewarding to hear such positive feedback from all of our guests.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future either for a business trip or weekend break. Should you wish to return please contact us directly for the most competitive rates at reservations@ruthincastle.co.uk

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great stay in toasty room. Excellent location for a medieval banquet. The entertainment was extremely interactive and it was great to see so many people in costume (costumes can be hired there on the day, but we got some online for cheaper)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin L, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your glowing review following your recent visit to Ruthin Castle Hotel for one of our medieval banquet nights.

It was very rewarding to hear how much you had enjoyed the evening with us. As you mentioned, it is possible to hire costumes for the evening which all adds to the atmosphere.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for a future sty. Should you wish to return, please contact the hotel directly at reservations@ruthincastle.co.uk for the most competitive rates.

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a very enjoyable weekend at the hotel with a medieval banquet on the Saturday night. Very comfortable room with lovely views from the window. My only query would be was why did we have a full breakfast menu with waitress service on the saturday morning but a self-service with a much reduced offering on the Sunday morning? All in all very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1379jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin L, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of Ruhtin Castle Hotel.

We are all delighted to hear that you had enjoyed the comfort of the room which you had booked and also some of the fantastic views that surround the hotel. We are very lucky to be set in such a beautiful and historic part of Wales here in Ruthin.

We do, during busy periods, offer a breakfast buffet. The main reason behind this is to ensure that we are offering our guests the best service possible and to reduce waiting time for guests at busy times. This said, we do considered all feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

I very much hope we will be able to welcome you back for a future stay. Should you wish to return, please don't hesitate to contact us directly at reservations@ruthincastle.co.uk for the most competitive rates.

Kind regards

Gavin Lea
Guest Relations Manager







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews