We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
273
241
136
68
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
241
136
68
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower house lovely hotel deluxe room bar meals breakfast was buffet style no lift hotel restaurant swimming pool sea view pub food both nights weekend break lovely room food was lovely family room lounge area stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on the bank holiday weekend . The hotel was priced at £149/ night including breakfast, so not cheap by any means .
There is plenty of parking at this hotel , and it’s positioned in an enviable location on Trearrdur Bay.We checked in and the staff were pleasant and efficient. We were given room 12 which was on the first floor , this was a spacious room , clean , well decorated, and a good size bathroom . It lacked a view unfortunately at it was overlooking the roof and a fence panel .Also people walking past in the corridor outside were very clearly heard due to the large gap under the door. I’m not sure what could be done to rectify that as most rooms seem to have the same problem .
Breakfast was served In the restaurant on the ground floor , which was a buffet style - this was a very good breakfast , were the quality of the food was excellent.
I have only given the hotel 3 stars due to the issue with the room , if this hotel had been £75/ night I would accept the issue above , but at £149 you would expect a little better .
If we return to the area we would stay again , as we did enjoy our stay , only hope that maybe we get a view next time !

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank L8318IVgeorgeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Hi L8318

Thanks so much for writing a review for us and it is pleasing to read you found our team to be friendly and enjoyed the breakfast and amenities on offer. I am sorry you found it overpriced but as you have stated we are in a prime location on the bay and bank holiday weekend for the childrens summer holiday is our most popular time of year. I can suggest to always book early and direct to get the best price. I hope this does not put you off visiting us in future and i can suggest for a better view to book a seaview room instead of standard as they look right onto the bay and beach.

Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Stayed in cottage room which was unexpected as thought the room was in rhe hotel itself. Room was nicely decorated but small. Staff were helpful. We booked a table to dine in restraurant as it was busy. Peaceful location. No wifi or phone signal in room unless you went into actual hotel. Cooked breakfast is self service and although you get hot plates rhe food is warm. If you want poached egg there cooked for you. They did not get served until you have half eaten breakfast. We chose this hotel as we have stayed in one of the other hotels within the chain. For the price we have paid for the room you would think breakfast would be served to you and hot.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Hi Sharon

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review and i am glad you enjoyed the decor and our team. The wifi should reach everywhere so i can assure i will be checking that and speaking to our IT department if this is not working properly so thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Unfortunately as the poached eggs are cooked to order it will take a small amount of time from ordering to receiving so i am sorry this came after you had got yourself the breakfast at the buffet. If next time you want to tell the staff to let you know just before the egg is cooked maybe you can go to the buffet whilst it's being brought to your table.

Thanks again
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

This hotel is a little gem! The staff are friendly and particularly the restaurant girls. We had a great laugh with them and their attention to detail was excellent. The room was ample big enough and had a partial view over the Bay.
Ask for their weekend deal as it is more then worth having. (£50 off the restaurant meal each evening)

Stayed: July 2018
Thank CarineP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hi Carine

Thank you for your review. The team in the restaurant will be delighted to know that their hard work hasn't gone unnoticed and that they are making impressions with people. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Chris Speight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel , gorgeous room (706) balcony view is amazing. Quite a walk up the stairs to it , but worth it when you get there. There were 5 of us & there was plenty of room. The general manager & other hotel staff were very helpful & friendly. The restaurant has a luxurious feel about it ,and I was delighted to see vegan choices on all 3 courses. Breakfast was also great with vegan sausages to order and the meat eaters were more than happy with their choices. We all went in the pool after breakfast ( opening times 8am-8pm) unfortunately someone was cleaning the pool out and refilling it as we got there so he asked us to wait on the side whist he did his job , I would have thought this could have been done before the pool opened to the guests, but we had a nice swim after we eventually let in. Will definitely return , I’ve stayed here before some years ago , before it was refurbished, definitely made a big difference , the art displayed is fantastic. Many thanks , didn’t want to leave.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank lisamay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hi Lisamay

Thank you so much for such a positive review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you didn't want to leave and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Chris Speight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We were married here on 23 June 2012 and return for a meal in the restaurant ( not the bar) every year on the same day but have finally given up and will not be returning again. Despite letting the restaurant know that it was our anniversary , the restaurant manager made no mention of it on our arrival. Our table was tucked in a corner, Despite other tables being available, we assumed they had been booked but that was not the case as they weren't used during the evening.

We were shown to our table , given no menus and 10 minutes later the manageress tried to take our order. We pointed out a menu would be helpful to do that.

On looking at the wine list we ordered a bottle of Rioja which we had at our wedding and is priced at nearly £30. We also wanted a glass of prosecco. The wine that was brought to us was an entirely different bottle, no mention was made by the person who brought it. I called the manageress over and asked why we hadn't been given the bottle we had ordered , she said they were in the process of changing the wine list and she hadn't had chance to tell us the bottle we had ordered was no longer being served. Strange , given that she was the manageress who took the wine order and should know what is on her list. Plus it is only a typed list which should have been changed that day If indeed it had been changed.

On asking to taste the wine , it was dreadful and certainly not a £30 bottle. We didn't bother with it. The prosecco did not fare much better, it should be possible in any good restaurant to have prosecco by the glass. I was told they now do 20cl bottles so I had one of those priced at £7.95, it was like vinegar, absolutely foul and not properly chilled at that.

We ordered scallops to start, they were tasty but only luke warm, the plate was garnished unnecessarily with salad , there shouldn't have been any salad and it would have been far better if the plate was hot instead.

i had a chicken dish for main course which was tasty. My husband had the vegetarian option of sweet potato and chick pea burger which was soggy and bland.

I decided to order a glass of Sauvignon blanc which I know is good. It came lukewarm. I asked for some ice and was brought in a pint glass placed on the table with no apology. A chilled bottle or glass of wine is not difficult.

The service was inattentive , the restaurant caters for hotel guests mainly and it was quite clear that we were of no interest to them. We werent asked if the food was ok or if we had had a good meal at any point including when leaving. All in all very poor.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Ffenton1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hi Ffenton

I am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our "Bay Restaurant" and it appears from reading your comments that several things fell short here and that is not something we want to do as we value all of our business. Could i ask that you please call us and discuss this personally with our restaurant manager Will who is Keen to firstly get to the bottom of all the issues and secondly to give you the faith back into our business. Please can you call Will on 01407860301 to discuss.

Kind Regards
Chris Speight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews