We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$278
View deal
Expedia.com
US$278
View deal
Priceline
US$282
US$272
View deal
Hotels.comUS$278
CheapTicketsUS$278
ZenHotels.comUS$282
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
415
392
147
108
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
415
392
147
108
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee shop sea view menai straits queen victoria coffee lounge scones traditional hotel lovely hotel car park large room evening meal a lovely stay sea front for sunday lunch lovely view four poster bed lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

I have stayed in the Bulkeley Hotel numerous times, it is what it is, a hotel built in Victorian times. That said, we had a refurbished room which was very tastefully and well decorated and the en suite facilities were excellent. Sometimes though if you’re in an “inside” room they can become a bit warm and stuffy. The food is generally very good, but be aware that sometimes it arrives not quite hot enough. The best part about the Bulkeley is the staff, very friendly, very helpful and always seem to have a smile on their faces.

Room tip: Parking is absolutely dire, there isn’t enough space and unfortunately some people are just ignorant and block others in.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shaymanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senior Management, Other at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Bulkeley and thank you for your kind words about our staff. We have incorporated your feedback to our staff restaurant training to endeavour to continue to serve food hot even during peak periods when we are most busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

Stopped in to get a coffee while on a walk around Beaumaris, coffee was really nice not overly steamed milk but still hot, Alex was really helpful and suggested other places to walk to and info about the area, we will be back to try the cakes and maybe a sandwich

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank stevene44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senior Management, Other at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Bulkeley and have passed on your kind comments to Alex. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

Absolutely wonderful afternoon tea. Finger sandwiches so fresh, great selection of imaginative cakes, pastries, etc. constant supply of tea. Warm and welcoming service. Couldn't ask for more. Will definitely have again next time we're in the area and highly recommend. Very Covid secure.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Service
Thank judgejudij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senior Management, Other at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review to Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Thank you for making our staff smile with your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

I would describe the hotel as faded grandeur, and ours was possibly a servants room in it's heyday, but I don't mind that, it is an historic hotel and quite large, and as with all these type of hotel of that period, they are a bit 'tired', but for me, that's all part of the charm (maybe I have low bar). And in these uncertain times it must be difficult to keep them running (and get enough staff to cope).

It was let down by poor quality breakfast (for quite a steep priced room), though the beautiful sea views from the back do make up for it's failings, and free car parking (a rare commodity in Beaumaris).

Like several other reviewers, the coffee shop was let down by lack of staff, though the cakes were delicious, and we didn't wait that long. But hopefully, it will get sorted sooner rather than later

Room tip: The rooms at the back have wonderful sea and mountain views
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senior Management, Other at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your visit to The Bulkeley and we are pleased that you enjoyed the ‘Old World Charm’ that is offered by the hotel to guests. Unfortunately, since Brexit, furlough snd the Covid restrictions placed on hospitality and associated frustrations that customers experience we apologise that on the occasion of your visit our staff resources were stretched. We are proactively recruiting and training new staff on a weekly basis to regain a full team as early as possible to enable us to offer all of our usual services, and thank you very much for your understanding of the staff shortages that the industry currently faces. Positive reviews such as yours help the industry to attract more people to work and prevent the inevitable wage increases and subsequent price increases passed onto customers as the industry endeavours to recruit more people. Thank you for your comments and understanding snd helping the industry as a whole attract more staff by showing how wonderfully patient and understanding many customers are to the difficulties placed on the industry by Covid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

I have just returned from a four night stay at The Bulkeley, being part of a 25 strong group, and checking in just 24 hours after the restrictions on Hotel accommodation were lifted, the staff did an admirable job booking us all in, albeit with some very minor 'teething' problems.
My room a refurbished first floor double was excellent, plenty of space, a comfy bed and an excellent 'walk in shower'.
Our group were well catered for, with three varied choices on the menu for our evening meal, although one of our group did feel that the Gluten Free options were quite limited. Service was quick and efficient, despite there being only four out of a possible seven to carry out the 'serving' duties. The restaurant was run in a professional & friendly manner by our Maitre d'
I find some of the recent reviews disappointing, as I could only take the positives from the way the staff conducted themselves during our stay. Thank's folks!
Highly Recommended.

Room tip: Some of the rooms have been refurbished, much better.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeRouleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senior Management, Other at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your visit to The Bulkeley and for making our staff smile. Hospitality is currently experiencing staff shortages all over the UK and it is kind words such as yours that help the industry recover and make the staff who are currently working so hard to keep such businesses open feel appreciated. Thank you and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews