We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and remote home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property
Hendre Fechan cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge
We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Country style kitchen
On suite
The lounge (a wood burning stove was installed in June 2017)
Lounge
Bedroom
Kitchen
View from the front door
Bathroom
The cottage
The cottage
Bridal path near cottage
Barmouth bridge with Cader Idris in the background
Mawddach estuary
Barmouth bridge
View with the cottage in the background
Cottage garden
Stunning winter view of the mawddach estuary
View of Barmouth Bridge from Morfa Mawddach beach. Really secluded and stunning
Morfa Mawddach beach
Morfa Mawddach is on the other side of the estuary from Barmouth. Taken in April 2016
Sunset views from Morfa Mawddach
To access this beach, walk over Barmouth Bridge and cross over the railway to the beach via footpath
Taly-Bont beach
Taly-Bont beach sunset in October 2015
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Talybont, Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
me-gustan...
England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Peaceful and remote home from home.”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Wow, what a beautiful well presented cottage. From arriving we have been very comfortable and relaxed staying at Hendre Fechan Cottage. You have everything you need for a very pleasant stay. Once we had figured out the electric heaters we have been very warm and cosy whilst in. Samantha is just the right sort of host, she introduced herself and checked everything was ok for us and has left us in peace but knowing where to go if we had a problem. One slight thing would have made sheer perfection and something easily remedied, a hook on the bathroom and bedroom doors for your dressing gown etc is the only thing missing but so trivial as not to be worth worrying about. The views from the cottage are amazing and there is no light pollution so fantastic sky on a clear night. Don't be put off by anyone mentioning the lane is bad to get down. It is a single track unmade road but in very good condition and really not a bother. If you are looking for total relaxation, walks on your doorstep and peace and tranquility in a well kept, clean cottage the search stops here. You have found what you are looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you for a lovely review, we try and make guests stay as hassle free as possible so they can have a peaceful, relaxed holiday as possible.

Hook now on the back of the door ;-)

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
del2657
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Returned for the third consecutive year with my wife and three dogs. As usual, an excellent time was had by all. Briliant dog walking area with miles of sandy beaches nearby. Sam and her family are excellent hosts, unobtrusive but always willing to help if needed. Cotttage very comfortable, the lane still bumpy but no problem if care is taken. Will be returning again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you so much Del, we love you and your dogs coming to stay you are perfect guests.

I hope you are all well.

Sam xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep well away from this place its a scam.”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Going down a pot holed cart track which goes on for about half a mile not suitable for cars
only 4 wheel drives or farm tractors, We thought we had got a welcome pack when we entered the cottage which was a bottle of wine and a bottle of water, and if we used them we were expected to replace them plus to put a bottle of fresh milk in the fridge for the next people when they arrive, the bottled water is for drinking as you cannot drink the water from the tap we were not told this at the time of booking only found out about this when we had paid the balance portable radiator does not work under floor heating does not work, the thermostat switch is missing and held together with white tape,on the friday evening we were told that we owed £35-00 for our two Dogs, I said no get in touch with
Trip adviser as we had paid the full amount on the invoice She said that we had better
leave it at that, cant help thinking, how many times they have tried this scam.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Snowdonia is fantastic in Autumn
Liked least: The cottage and the track leading to it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Dear Beverly,

Thank you for your review.

We do provide a welcome pack
with a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. This is a gift from us.
I am
unsure why you think we would ask you to replace a gift.
We do not expect you
to replace anything in the cottage and I am sorry you seem to believe that we
would. With regards to our water supply, we suggest you may like to bring
bottled water as not everyone likes the taste because it is on a private water
supply. Our water is safe to drink as it passes through several water filters
and a uv light.

The cottage does have a farm track leading up to it as
advertised and this is drivable by car. I myself drive up and down the lane in a
estate and as long as you drive slowly it is not a problem. I have checked the
heating and the thermostat was too low for it to turn on. We also supply an
extra heater in the kitchen cupboard and if there any problems we live next door
and are happy to help to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The cottage
is advertised as having underfloor heating in the bedroom and the bathroom only,
not the lounge. We have not mislead anyone, the information on the advert is
accurate and clearly stated.

Beverly we advertise very clearly on our advert
that one dog is �25 and any extra dogs are �10 per booking. You paid �299.00 for
7 nights as advertised on our price list and did not pay for your dogs.
You
and your husband went out very early every morning and came back in the evening.
We did not
want to bother you for the payment too late in the evening. I
approached your husband for payment on the only day you were available at an
appropriate time. Whilst in conversation with your husband, you approached me in
a distressed state and said that you had just found out that your sister was
dying of a brain tumour. This put me in a position which was just not
appropriate for me to continue discussing the payment for the dogs.

We try
our hardest to make everyone's holiday very special. Our property is beautiful
with spectacular
views we love to share. I am sorry you were unhappy with
being asked for payment for your dogs. It was never our intention to upset you,
but sadly it is a charge we have to make to allow the amenity available for
customers to bring their beloved pets with them. All this information is
available in our advertisement; there are no hidden costs and definitely no
scams.

I am sorry about your sister and I wish you all the best.

Kind
Regards
Sam Jones
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

To start if anyone is looking for a cottage to relax and retreat and travel the area its so lovely .. as we found the cottage lane we was a bit worried that if we had had a nice car it would not of been great to take up this track, we were lucky and had a 4x4 so it was not a problem .the cottage has a front garden only !! that has the most beautiful views to sit in the garden and just stare at the sea views was amazing , we was told by the owner not to let the dogs run free which is quite right as she has her own big dogs so leads needed at all time and the wall in the garden can be jumped as my dog proved that also dogs can not run around in front garden as it churns up the grass so we had to walk on egg shells a bit really which was the only worry for us , the cottage is clean and tidy but to see an amazing fire place like that and to have no real fire is so sad but that's just me been me , the underfloor heating is fab and cosy . the television is very limited it says sky but the sky runs the channels so you are very limited to watching tv we stayed in a lot so we did watch telly and the thing that was great was we did have wi fi and it worked great ,, there is no phone signal at all so for those who run a business like me will love that . there is a washer dryer which is fab after them long walks .. from the cottage you can walk to the end of the lane and you will cross over road and walk down sunny sand lane and come to the beach , you will not find better beaches. there are no pubs you can walk to really and fall back home so get lots of beer and wine to take with you . we have recommended this cottage to many of our friends , I'm sure we will return the girls who look after the cottage leave you too it so your not watched to a degree lovely people , my comments are all positive and hope they help when choosing this cottage .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: the fact that the dogs never had a back garden that was safe to run around with out us worring
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Dear Maria,

Thank you for your lovely review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. It was lovely meeting you and your husband with your two beautiful boxers.


I am sorry I did not mean to make you uncomfortable about the dogs in the garden. It had been unusually wet and patches of mud were appearing where your dogs were playing. This has never been an issue before, I am very sorry.


We do have to ask for larger athletic dogs to be kept under supervision in the garden. We are in the middle of sheep country and we have horses, however they can roam free in the garden as long as they are watched. We do have two labradors but they get on very well with other peoples dogs.

Our lane is a country lane and can be a bit bumpy, we own a Peugeot 308 that goes up and down the lane at least 4 times a day. As long as the lane is driven slowly cars should find it no problem.

I'm sorry you missed the Ysgethin pub and Tonys restaurant. They are approximately a 15 minute walk over the fields in Talybont. When you next visit I will walk and show you our local haunt.

All the best
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely cottage, the weather was perfect and our lurcher dog Ted enjoyed relaxing in the secluded garden which was fenced off so he couldn't escape.
The kitchen was very well equipped so was the lovely bathroom with underfloor heating.
We would defiantly recommend this cottage to our friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Dear Carole;
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you and Ted had a lovely stay.
All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$78
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing