We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Bronturnor Cottage Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Living Room
Bronturnor Cottage
Master Bedroom
Ffestiniog Railway approaching Bronturnor crossing
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Landing/extra bedroom
Attic bedroom
Living Room
Kitchen
View of Snowdon from Bronturnor fields
View from cottage towards Ffestiniog Railway and Moelwyn mountains
cottage garden
A Wintery day on Harlech Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portmeirion, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lydia S
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really liked this cottage, and it was a bargain for the price. It is really spacious, much more spacious than other places we have stayed. My teenage daughter loved being able to hide in the attic room at the top! The owners who live next door are very relaxed and friendly. The heating worked really well, we were never cold. Pretty much everything is provided that you might need. Some might say it looks shabby round the edges, but I like that, it gives it a homely feel. I guess it depends what kind of home you live in! I wouldn't want to stay in a pristine hotel for a Welsh rural holiday...
There are shops locally where you can get what you need, not much in the way of reasonably priced dining though. We cooked for ourselves every night or got takeaways, didn't think much of Porthmadog to be honest. There are some nice looking pubs in Tremadog but a bit pricey. The owners have a very friendly dog (and lots of sheep) and the views from the back of the cottage are stunning - Snowdon can be seen on a clear day. Steam trains go past the house.
We didn't have amazing weather, but it was good enough to get out and about in the national park and finally on the last day the clouds cleared and we walked up Snowdon from Llanberis. A perfect end to our first holiday in North Wales, we would definitely come back.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy R
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful week we had here. Restful, comfortable and heaps of character inside the cottage itself. The owners are wonderful friendly people and provided lots of information about the local area. We were made so welcome. We would recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking for somewhere to rest, relax, to enjoy lots of birds and watch trains passing within 50 yards of the window. It is also well placed for exploring Snowdonia. A must as far as we are concerned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanna H
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just about acceptable!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage needs a massive amount of care and attention to details. The place is rather scruffy, in some places dirty. We were not very happy with the mould in the bathroom and the bath side panel being loose. A minimal amount of toilet paper was available and we had to ask for more. The upstairs bedroom is very difficult to enter and the noise from the floorboards made the room very noisy for anyone sleeping below. The stairs are badly situated just outside the living room that they are a hazard. A new mattress is needed on the double bed and I think it a cheek to ask an extra charge for the sheets etc which were the cheapest available. One of the spare blankets was dirty. The steps down to the bedrooms were also a hazard. The place is not suitable for elderly or people with limited mobility. I have rented many holiday cottages, but this was the first where no basics were available. The owner did supply us with some tea, sugar and milk when asked and told us where a shop was open until 11pm if we needed more. The owner went away on holiday himself after a couple of days First time I have known this to happen!
In its favour the cottage was very warm, The heating easily adjusted. Also the situation is lovely with the trains a great point of interest. I would not go there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heating was easily adjusted
Liked least: Poor quality linen and general scruffiness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Thank you for your comments with regard to condition of the cottage, which we will address.I am sorry that the cottage did not suit your party.
I do try and give a clear description of the cottage and explain that the attic room is not suitable for young children or older people.

We try and keep our prices down & this is the reason the base price does not include bed linen or towels, and that we only provide an initial supply of toilet rolls etc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahawer...
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for our trip”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent our Honeymoon at this delightful little cottage and found it to be well equipped and close to all the attractions that we wished to see. we spent a cosy week in this warm and pleasant holiday let and are hoping to go back to the same cottage for our first wedding anniversary in November. We found the owners to be very helpful and obliging during our stay. we met a warm welcome on our arrival and would recommend this property as place to stay if visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we loved the cosiness and friendliness we got on arrival
Liked least: we couldnt get gas fire to work but it didnt spoil our holiday.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john k
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

stayed in this delightful cottage for a week, surrounded by trees and fields, the owner was friendly, as were the animals you will meet during your stay, the Ffestiniog railway is so close you will see them pass by the window, for us it was a perfect place to stay. the best recommendation is to book it again next year, and that is exactly what i am doing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;