We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,661)
Filter reviews
1,661 results
Traveller rating
1,207
298
92
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,207
298
92
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel magical place hotel restaurant bridge house overlooking the estuary watch house day trippers complimentary sherry tv series self catering village rooms italianate village peacock suite chantry row port meirion sitting room january blues
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 1,661 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

There is a lot to do here. There are rooms in the main hotel where the restaurant is located. All are a little different and very lovely. There are additional accommodations in other buildings on the property. My husband and I stay here at least 3-4x year for the past 10 years and we have loved every room/ building we’ve stayed in. We appreciate the carafe of sherry and the coffee/tea/hot chocolate available in the kitchenette along with basic serving items. The grounds are picture perfect- both the village and the hiking trails surrounding the village give you a chance to stretch your legs. The restaurant is really fabulous- breakfasts are delicious and dinners truly gourmet. Parking is a bit challenging if you stay in the hotel - it’s on a steep incline with narrow parking spaces. Definitely pack a currency converter and hair conditioner because the resort does not provide either. All in all a great place to visit, eat and stay!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kim5164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Anyone who knows the view over this beautiful estuary after they have wound their way through the Italianate village of portmeirion know that the site and views are hard to beat anywhere in the world - stunning. We paid the entrance d
Fee and then got a voucher for £20 per person off the meal we had booked at the hotel - nearly covered it too though it was lunch ( two courses).
The hotel is beautiful and has a HUGE fire in the hall and several other in the rooms to wait and have a drink in before you go to the restaurant.
The restaurant is a bit cool and we felt lacking a little in character and coziness (especially after the other rooms ) and the windows are heavily barred which is a shame, and as there were 5 of us we couldn’t have a tale by the window, despite it being quiet.
We’d booked close to the end of the session and got the impression they were in a hurry to get us served, but the junior staff were really nice , friendly and accommodating. The food was exceptional - beautiful welsh lamb and a good choice of starters, allwell presented. The wine wasn’t too horrendous and all together a good experience.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Diver1460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We booked into Portmeirion for two nights as a party of seven, three staying in the hotel and four – two couples – in one of the village houses, Chantry 2. I’d stayed twice before - this was my first time staying in the hotel, having stayed twice in different village houses before - so I was already familiar with Portmeirion’s unique charms. The views of the estuary and surrounding mountains from both public rooms and bedrooms are stunning. There are ample deep leather sofas and armchairs in the lounge areas, and a superb coal fire. This time, as we had family business to attend to, I only had time for the briefest of walks down to the lighthouse, though on my last visit I did explore the hotel’s woodlands and looked across to the dunes of Morfa Harlech.
The welcome is friendly – “Is it welcome, or welcome back?” at the barrier – and seamless. I’d booked our package three months previously, and when everyone had arrived we were welcomed with a complimentary cream tea. Our guests all expressed amazement and delight with the place. A problem with a light in my sister’s room was dealt with most efficiently while we were at dinner. The water was hot and plentiful, the shower powerful.
We had chosen to eat in the Castell Deudraeth brasserie both nights. As I’d booked some time in advance and requested a round table for our group we were rewarded with the best table in the house, a round table in a bay window. The minibus service up the hill to the Castle takes a matter of minutes. Cocktails in the deep leather sofas and armchairs make choosing your dinner a pleasure - between us over the two nights we covered much of the menu (scallops, mussels, sea bass, other seafood, venison, ribeye steak, lamb and three of the vegetarian starters and mains) and could happily have eaten there two more nights without running out of options. My wife and I also ate in the hotel on our last visit, but I can’t remember much about it and the menu will have changed anyway.
Breakfast in the hotel was also first rate. On our last visit I seem to remember a cooked breakfast buffet, but now it is breakfast cooked to order, which seems to enable more varied options (including Eggs Benedict and Florentine, (undyed) smoked haddock and poached egg, etc. – and probably less waste!). Once again, our group tried most if not all of the options. The scrambled and poached eggs, always a good test, were perfect, the coffee excellent and kept coming.
The service (hotel and brasserie, porters, driving the minibus, housekeeping), is friendly, welcoming and simply outstanding. Portmeirion is a delightful experience.

Room Tip: The key decision is whether you want to stay in one of the quirky and astonishing village houses, or in the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

A quick trip to recharge batteries, we stay regularly and Portmeirion ticks the boxes on all levels. Super room with fantastic views. We were very comfortable and appreciated the usual special touches like the decanter of sherry. Super friendly service from all staff. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, everyone descended at the same time which obviously meant a longer wait for hot food. Back again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank merlinroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

First time we have stayed in the hotel, usually we stay in a village cottage or at the castle. Was pleasantly surprised, our room was big, warm and had a lovely old style window over looking the estuary. Plenty of hot water. Staff very attentive. Food excellent. You can just sit and relax in the hotel, wander round the village, walk on the miles of trails in the woods and gardens or walk on the estuary. Every time we had something to eat/drink at another location we regretted it and wished we had gone back to Portmeirion with its endless supply of drinks and snacks, attentive staff and roaring fires. We soon realised that Portmeirion spoils you and we loved it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews