We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and beautiful views.”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My partner and I stopped here on a whim for lunch after catching the beautiful smell of lamb cooking whilst passing by!

The hotel/restaurant is in a great location over looking some beautiful creek views and the building itself has that great rustic feel, which is unsurprising considering it is hundreds of years old.

The waiting staff were lovely, very friendly and welcoming. The food was absolutely fantastic. We were only supposed to be stopping for a light lunch, but after reviewing their menu we were so spoilt for choice that we needed up each getting a starter and a main each! The food was beautifully cooked and I massively recommend the cod lion wrapped in smoked salmon with dauphinoise potatoes and cheese sauce.

I only wish this restaurant was much nearer to my house so I could visit on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leane30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penmaenpool, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and service we offer and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to enjoy one of our other dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Such a pity - the George is in a stunning location but the actual hotel is in desperate need of a substantial cash injection to bring the property up to it's full potential.
Our party of 8 were allocated bedrooms in the annexe (the former railway station) but each of the four rooms were musty and smelt of damp - room 8 was extremely damp with the wallpaper lifting - the Manager gave us another room in the hotel itself without a quibble, but why put guests in rooms that smell of damp in the first place, especially when charging £110 per room per night ? - just get the problem sorted by calling in a builder - However, we thought the staff were great, especially the Scottish waitress - all very professional and friendly, but the place is obviously running on a shoestring as the number of staff were few in number and you were expected to queue for quite a while at the bar for a drink - this was mid-week, so I can't imagine how long it takes to get served at the weekend !
Our evening meal was actually quite good but we were sat in the 'panoramic' restaurant and the spectacular scenery was somewhat spoilt by most of the double glazing units being blown.
This could be a really great place to stay if it was refurbished and properly modernized in the way that the Penhelig Arms at Aberdyfi has been.

Room Tip: Ask if the rooms in the annexe have been treated for damp yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penmaenpool, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your accommodation on this occasion. Whilst it may not be of comfort too you now, we have a gentleman coming to look at the roof of the lodge and have put dehumidifiers in the rooms in the meantime. There has already been a substantial improvement. You were allocated Room 8 as you had booked a twin room and that was the only one we had available, but we are glad you were happy with your replacement room and found the staff and meals to be great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We came for an evening meal and were in a group of 30. Considering this we had great service and good food. I didn't think that the starters were very good, however the mains and desserts were excellent. Both me and my husband had excellent rib- eye steaks washed down with a good bottle of wine.
A beautiful setting too

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 21stCenturySculptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penmaenpool, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear you and you party were happy with your meals and service. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Visited yesterday afternoon during another wonderful day in this part of beautiful Wales.

To get to the George 111 Hotel from the Barnmouth end you cross the wooden toll bridge. It's special and the main attraction.

70p worth of fun and well worth it. I've driven over before and whacked my wing mirror as a car passed the other way. Watch for that.

At the other end turn sharp right and along the creek front, past the lovely pub frontage and into the adequate car park.

The pub is great inside dark oak with church pew seating. Outside there's a sheltered covered eating area overlooking beautiful creek views. Perfect.

The location and the view bring problems. The longer I sat the more the impression took hold that they don't have to try.

The drinks prices are higher than expected but that's not bothered me. The menu is adequate but likewise over priced. That didn't phase either. I went to order and found the chef doesn't start until 18:00 which coincides with the closing of the bridge so eating means a longer trip home.

It being 17:40 and still undaunted I attempted to order and pay in advance of the chefs arrival.
This isn't possible either as they would lose our order chit in the interim 20 minutes. Thwarted again. They obviously don't need my money.

Back to outside to discuss then a trip to the pretty dirty toilets made minds up. Out chit didn't get lost in the none existent system but they did lose our £30 order.

We won't matter to the business as the surroundings and bridge will drag in replacements who in turn will be taken for granted.

Visit the bridge. Walk past enjoying the view for free, eat/drink elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penmaenpool, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

We are sorry to hear that you felt taken for granted during your brief visit to our hotel. We are glad you appreciate our wonderful setting but I can assure you we do not take this or our customers for granted. Many of our customers come back time and time again and have been doing so for many years and we are thankful for each and every one of them. Our prices are purely a reflection of our overheads. As a tied house we pay around twice the price for the drinks than we would as a free house and this unfortunately has to be reflected in the prices we charge. Added to this our rent, rates, staff costs etc. and you can appreciate why we need to charge what we do. Our toilets are cleaned daily but the general public are also free to use the toilets whilst using the popular Mawddach trail which runs past our door. If the cleanliness of the toilets had fallen below an acceptable standard we apologise and will endeavour to check them more regularly. I have spoken to the member of staff in question, as whilst there is a risk the ticket could get lost if it is mistaken for a lunch ticket when the chef comes in at six, he should still have taken the order and just made it clear that no one will be on site to start cooking your order until 6pm. We serve 6-9pm as that is when the majority of our customers want to eat. Unfortunately we have nothing to do with the operating hours of our friends at the toll bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Booked a table in advance for fiftieth birthday dinner, looked forward to going, was rushed to table beore almost ordering drinks twenty mins before time of dining.
Was told extremely loudly, not sure what that was about, all the things not available, was quite comical. so was given menu, nothing on starter list looked appealing, so we ordered main course. Whilst awaiting for meal, no offer of wine list, or more drinks, food arrived looked like pub grub, greasy and Cold, chips hard as rocks, Yorkshire pud could not be cut with blunt cutlery, we did eat as hadn't eaten all day. Would have loved to have seen the beautiful view but the blown double glazing prevented this. We tried to attract the attention of the waitress as still no, coffee or drinks offered, so we wanted the bill....so to have her hold up her hand as if we were children to silence us was the last straw. We had been told by neighbours not to expect much, but having eastern all around the UK and beyond, this was a pretty shabby effort. Unless you are desperate for the location cross over onto the Barmouth road and get what you pay for. Or get a take away. Will not return and as a manager of a large local guest establishment will advise to take a drink, enjoy view and move on. birthday spoilt payed and left within one hour, no feedback given as small bar and saw people getting ready to order.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penmaenpool, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

We feel this review is very unfair and only has a passing acquaintance with the truth. To say you had been told not to expect much but had booked us for a special occasion and were looking forward to it doesn’t ring true to us. Particularly as you encourage people to use an unnamed establishment on the other side of the estuary which is according to your email where you are based. Though we are of course honoured to be the only place you have ever visited that warrants a review.
When you arrived twenty minutes early for your reservation you were asked if you were ready to be seated, if you had wanted to get a drink and sit on the balcony before heading to your table this would have been fine but you said you were ready to be seated and so you were. You were asked at your table if you would like a drink and you could have asked to see a wine list. We don’t hand them out automatically as most guests don’t want them anymore. The blown window in question will be replaced as time and money allow. The window looks over the carpark and therefore does not spoil the stunning view of the estuary from your table. We have an extensive menu with classics such as Lamb Shank using local lamb from our award winning butcher and restaurant style dishes like Gressingham Duck with sweet potato fondant. Our food is very popular with our guests, many of whom return time and time again. TripAdvisor accounts for 0.1% of our customers so doesn’t accurately reflect our guest’s experience.
If you are “a manager of a large local guest establishment” then we would have expected you to do us the courtesy of allowing us to address any of your issues on the day rather than keeping silent and running off to post them on TripAdvisor the next day. If the circumstances were reversed and your guests had not given you the chance to rectify any issues before proclaiming how awful your place was then you would quite rightly be as upset by this as we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.4 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
344 reviews
9 km away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
339 reviews
3.5 km away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
217 reviews
3.4 km away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
518 reviews
3.3 km away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#5 of 34 in Dolgellau
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range: €74 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iii Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing