We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
204
81
54
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
81
54
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea set menu wine list scones market menu a la carte menu drawing room country house hotel public rooms before dinner cream tea roaring fire kedgeree dining rooms superb hotel lamb travelzoo deal
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel inside with very relaxing rooms. Bedroom was very comfortable and spacious. Shower head was fixed a little low and my husband who is 6 feet tall could not stand under it. Lady in reception was very friendly and helpful, gave us a guided tour of the place. One of the first questions was if we were eating in the restaurant that evening. We were caught off guard and said yes. Very disappointed with the quantities given. Hardly any choice for £30pp and slightly more for £50pp. I had 1 spoon of cold chicken leg meat mixed with a pinch of mixed leaves, then a small square of fish with 1 spoon of pearl barley and 1 spear of broccoli. Desert was 3 crackers and 2 small slithers of cheese. The whole thing never touched the sides and cost the hotel £5 maximum and they charge £30, breakfast was average and plenty of help yourself fruit and cereal.... Is it worth £25....again, rip off and things like this will prevent people returning. People may have been happy to pay whatever you demanded 5 years ago, times change and your menu and penny pinching needs to change also.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Helliebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Great grounds, impressive building, quality furnishings but we felt spoilt by penny-pinching - not an inexpensive hotel so why charge £2,50 per bottle for mineral water in the room and charge for morning papers when many contemporaries treat these as complementary. Further web site states that "the hotel's dinner menu changes daily and is included in all break packages" ......sadly not true - same breaks menu for each night we stayed. Web-site also states fresh fruit baskets and sweet platters are offered on all corridors....nope.....Sweet platter not replenished and fruit was artificial. As for the dining : on the first night fish sent back as uncooked amd one dessert dish forgotten, not so impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank BostonBoy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay here for one night and loved it.
As most people state it's not the cheapest of venues but everyone knows this before they book. I would advise to check out the menu prices before booking in as they can be surprising, £25pp for a cooked breakfast is expensive.
Luckily we had booked with breakfast included. The grounds are very well kept and very nice for a quick stroll, the staff were very friendly and seemed to be running around after people, probably could do with an extra member of staff to help especially around dinning times.
All in all it was clean, newly decorated bedroom, food was very nice, staff were great and it's quite quirky venue. We found it a nice relaxing night away treat and wouldn't be put off from returning.

The speed bumps on the drive are very extreme beware!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandan-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Great hotel, great location, nice staff- all let down by average food. We weren't alone in our views on the food. We complained and nothing was said or done. This is a real shame for such a wonderful location/

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

A country house hotel in an excellent location with very well maintained grounds and ornamental gardens. Rooms are well appointed, clean and have a feeling of luxury. The friendly staff are welcoming and willing to help. The downstairs rooms and dining areas are charming and well thought out. It appears to aim itself at wealthy, discerning couples and small parties who enjoy good quality and don't mind paying for it. The dining experience sadly doesn't match this. The presentation is generally good but the execution of some dishes are disappointing. Whilst dinning I overheard a complaint about the lack of menu choice which was not handled very well. The waiting staff toing and froing from the kitchen with messages from what appeared to be an indignant chef. This did not go down well with the complaining party who managed to keep their cool but were visibly upset by the experience. Breakfast was also disappointing. Burnt toast was blamed on the equipment and only one rasher of bacon per guest seemed unnecessarily frugal.
With Improved menus better cooking and more generous portion sizes at breakfast my rating would have been very good. The addition of a knowledgeable head waiter and the presence of an owner to great the guests would have topped it up to Excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WEGMJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews