We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend stay”
Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Just a quick note to let you know that we had a superb time with you on our visit last week.
The room we were in was tremendous, food exceptional,and the staff were all very friendly, helpful, happy, especially Nia, a credit to the hotel.
We will be joining you again as soon as we can, to enjoy another stay with you and will be letting all our friends know about your hotel.

Regards,best wishes and have a happy and healthy Christmas and New Year.

Clive and Jean Maunder

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maunderca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel inside with very relaxing rooms. Bedroom was very comfortable and spacious. Shower head was fixed a little low and my husband who is 6 feet tall could not stand under it. Lady in reception was very friendly and helpful, gave us a guided tour of the place. One of the first questions was if we were eating in the restaurant that evening. We were caught off guard and said yes. Very disappointed with the quantities given. Hardly any choice for £30pp and slightly more for £50pp. I had 1 spoon of cold chicken leg meat mixed with a pinch of mixed leaves, then a small square of fish with 1 spoon of pearl barley and 1 spear of broccoli. Desert was 3 crackers and 2 small slithers of cheese. The whole thing never touched the sides and cost the hotel £5 maximum and they charge £30, breakfast was average and plenty of help yourself fruit and cereal.... Is it worth £25....again, rip off and things like this will prevent people returning. People may have been happy to pay whatever you demanded 5 years ago, times change and your menu and penny pinching needs to change also.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Helliebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Great grounds, impressive building, quality furnishings but we felt spoilt by penny-pinching - not an inexpensive hotel so why charge £2,50 per bottle for mineral water in the room and charge for morning papers when many contemporaries treat these as complementary. Further web site states that "the hotel's dinner menu changes daily and is included in all break packages" ......sadly not true - same breaks menu for each night we stayed. Web-site also states fresh fruit baskets and sweet platters are offered on all corridors....nope.....Sweet platter not replenished and fruit was artificial. As for the dining : on the first night fish sent back as uncooked amd one dessert dish forgotten, not so impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BostonBoy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay here for one night and loved it.
As most people state it's not the cheapest of venues but everyone knows this before they book. I would advise to check out the menu prices before booking in as they can be surprising, £25pp for a cooked breakfast is expensive.
Luckily we had booked with breakfast included. The grounds are very well kept and very nice for a quick stroll, the staff were very friendly and seemed to be running around after people, probably could do with an extra member of staff to help especially around dinning times.
All in all it was clean, newly decorated bedroom, food was very nice, staff were great and it's quite quirky venue. We found it a nice relaxing night away treat and wouldn't be put off from returning.

The speed bumps on the drive are very extreme beware!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandan-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Great hotel, great location, nice staff- all let down by average food. We weren't alone in our views on the food. We complained and nothing was said or done. This is a real shame for such a wonderful location/

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
39.3 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
38.4 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
38.8 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,540 reviews
39.9 km away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
556 reviews
3.1 km away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Address: Penmaenpool | Dolgellau, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range: €140 - €266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing