We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
Your own private south facing deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private south facing deck
Incorporating an old  cottage over 300 years old overlooking the famous Wye Valley. Breakfast extra
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Your own private south facing deck
Incorporating an old  cottage over 300 years old overlooking the famous Wye Valley. Breakfast extra
the view from our garden
Your own outside access
Sky TV and Internet wifi
frequent visitors in the garden
a new slant on mixed bathing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stay73029...
1 review
“lovely”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

the deck was exactly what i was hoping .. very cosy and comfortable with everything we needed for our short break .. the little extras Carole leaves for guests is a lovely bonus .. we loved it so much we stayed an extra night .. we found it a perfect location for exploring south wales and also somerset .. would definitely stay again .

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for such a good review. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and would be really pleased if you came again.
Best wishes Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hideaway”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Four miles from Monmouth in lovely rural location. So peaceful. Lovely walks and scenery.
Carole was so helpful from first booking to check out. Clean comfortable accommodation. Everything you need and more.
Can't wait to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Hi Marlene,
Thank you very much for a great review, I am so pleased you and your friends enjoyed yourselves and l look forward to welcoming you to The Deck again.
Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for a lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed our beautiful countryside and staying at The Deck.
Best wishes
Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
937IanBed...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very quiet & private with a natural woodland view from the rear decking.”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation is nicely finished with all the facilities you need in the modern kitchen (ample utensils etc. for self-catering). Carole thoughtfully provides fresh bread, butter & milk for your arrival. Plenty of fluffy white towels in the bathroom with again, a modern shower with good heat adjustment. The hot water flow through the sink taps was very weak whilst we were visiting, perhaps it's something that can be adjusted? Sky T.V. with loads of films - but not much need when it's so nice outside. You have to walk to the front of the property to enjoy the excellent views across the valley (un-sited from within the apartment). The location is in a lovely area with immediate access at the top of the lane to the Trellech/Chepstow road. The Lion Inn at Trellech serves excellent food/beer with a very laid-back bar service - best to request your bill well before you intend leaving!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2017
Hi Ian,
Thank you so much for a your good review, we enjoyed having you to stay at The Deck.
Unfortunately due to the age of part of the house, and the position of the water tanks and pipes, the hot water pressure is not very good which is why we have installed a dishwasher and special shower. As a result the low hot-water flow has been limited to the hand basins, I hope this did not inconvenience you too much.
I do hope you enjoyed your stay .
Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
786citygi...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If we could rate this holiday apartment with more than 5 stars we would! Carole and Chris were lovely hosts and there was everything that we could wish for in the apartment-bread, milk, tea, coffee and lovely clean white linen as well as fresh towels-lovely company too!. The views from the deck were stunning and the walks nearby provided picture perfect scenery. Monmouth town was just three miles away and has lovely restaurants and quaint shops, Chepstow was lovely too and to top it off Southernbeach was absolutely beautiful-all within an hour or so of the Deck! I would highly recommend this lovely place to all my friends and family, I will definitely be coming back! God bless you both - Carole and Chris x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Hi Citygirl,
Thank you so much for a fantastic review, we really enjoyed having you and your friends to stay in the apartment , you are welcome to stay anytime and we look forward to seeing you again
Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing