We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$557
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$557
US$518
View deal
Hotels.com
US$557
US$518
View deal
Trip.comUS$518
CheapTicketsUS$518
Orbitz.comUS$518
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
390
46
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
46
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu michelin star wine flight welcome drink valet parking stately home beautiful hotel the general manager shetland ponies pure luxury to celebrate our wedding anniversary stunning grounds public rooms are entrance hall moment you arrive sunday lunch homemade biscuits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2021

I took my wife here for a 50th birthday trip and we were both absolutely delighted with our stay. The hall and gardens are beatiful. The service struck the perfect balance between polished and professional, and warm and personable.
Our room (Llangollen) was elegant, with some fun whimsical details. My wife loved the roll-top bath in the room with lovely views over the grounds and having breakfast in the room on the morning of her birthday was a perfect birthday morning. I ordered flowers, chocolates and a cake to be in the room on our arrival and these were all of the best quality, with a stunning bouquet and divine handmade chocolates.
The public areas are very grand spaces but relaxed and not imposing. You feel at ease dressed up or down. The drinks are perfect, with some very fine wines and spirits available, nicely balanced with a good selection of beers and wines by the glass. The cocktails were a hit with my wife, all impeccably made and served.
We dined in the casual dining bistro for our first night and the food was excellent. We took the 8 course fine dining option for our second night, and what a spectacular meal it was! The dining room is a grand, elegant space making the perfect setting for a special occasion and the food was flawless. We are both fortunate to have eaten in some special places and the 8 course menu at Pale was the equal the best out there. The menu was accessible, rather than trying to be challenging or unique as some fine dining can, but for an occasion and setting as this, it was all the better for it. Each course was delectable.
We left feeling we'd had a perfect celebration getaway, and while such luxury and service necessarily price tag, the value felt good for such an exceptional stay. We'll certainly be back one day!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanW3447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie Cappadona, General Manager at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am delighted we delivered a perfect celebration for your wife's special birthday.

I will certainly share your kind words to the whole team and very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Take care.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

Really lovely stay at the hotel, it is tastefully decorated and beautifully presented. The real charm of this hotel is its staff, and we’d like to offer our humble gratitude to ALL staff who have been taken good care of our little families and the naughty corgi, with special thanks to Laura, Nicholas, Paul and Luke whose hospitality have been warmly received. It has been a shame that we live in a time that the staff and us had to exchange communications behind a face mask (but am certainly in support of this for safety of all), despite so, we can feel the big welcoming smiles behind the mask of every staff that we spoke to.

The only downside was 1) there are little facilities to use beyond rooms / garden (eg no swimming pool, spa or tennis court etc) and 2) our room Pembroke’s window was fixed to only open at a small angle so the first two nights in ‘heatwave’ were not an experience I’d want to repeat again, BUT the hotel staff acknowledged our complaints quickly and found solutions to help us on that swiftly, so overall a very lovely stay and we shall be back again. 3) there could be sanitisers or wipes in other smaller common rooms so some OCD kinda guests like me can feel a bit better to have these to use by hand rather than going around main hallways to get them.

Thanks to the team members that with whom we had the pleasure meeting over the past few days, you have made our stay!

Room tip: Book Michelin starred or styled top restaurants nearby as early as possible, there are not that many so book early to avoid disappointments
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie Cappadona, General Manager at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Good afternoon

Thank you for your very recent review.

It is always lovely to read comments about our team and I will certainly share your special thanks with those mentioned.

I have taken on board the comments regarding extra sanitisers and wipes in other areas around the hotel, thank you.

All our bedroom windows have a security chain on them only to be opened slightly as this is a Health & Safety requirement, sorry if this caused any inconvenience.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again very soon.

Take care and have a lovely summer.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

The wow factor of this hotel hits you as soon as you enter the long drive to the entrance.

Both the buildings and gardens are magnificent and our Turret room was beautifully designed with lovely views over the gardens towards the hills in the distance.

Next time we stay here, we will definitely go for the tasting menu as the only other option is the Huntsman Bar & Bistro which has limited choice and is basically rather expensive pub food.

We opted for breakfast delivered to our room and this was excellent.

Overall a sumptuous treat in a magical setting

Room tip: Mobile reception is very patchy and even the hotel’s internet is only marginally better.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cltw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie Cappadona, General Manager at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for your recent review.

I was delighted to hear you had a lovely stay with us.

You must try the tasting menu when you visit us next, it is truly memorable dining experience.

Take care and hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Have stayed at Grantley Hall several times (North Yorkshire hotel in the Relais and Chateaux group) so we thought we would try Pale Hall for our visit to Wales.

Arrived here with our two children for two nights over bank holiday weekend. We encountered friendly, attentive staff from the word go and the welcome drink, out in the garden, was very much appreciated after a four hour drive!
The hotel is small, very traditional in design and with a luxurious feel about it. We stayed in the Powys Suite, which is spacious and has an annexe off the bedroom for the children’s beds. The room is bright and airy with gorgeous views of the gardens.
On the down side, the room was too hot - the children’s room unbearably so- even with a fan on all night and every window open.

On our first evening, we dined in the Huntsman restaurant. We were underwhelmed with the menu that, in our opinion, had few healthy choices. To be fair, upon request, we were able to order off the menu and enjoyed hake. The dish was beautifully presented and delicious. At one point we were the only family in the restaurant room (a room that seemed to be reserved for families with kids). This didn’t matter - we had a lovely time, all thanks to Marco! Marco allowed us to choose any songs we liked. We requested our wedding anniversary song! Cheesy but great! He noticed that our daughter was revising for a science exam and dashed off to his room to bring her a book all about the universe. This is the level of service that differentiates a Relais & Chateaux hotel from other places we’ve stayed.
For our second evening, we had asked the hotel to recommend a good place to eat, within a short drive. They recommended a great pub called the Cornmill. We nearly didn’t go, as a 40 minute drive to Llangollen is not what we consider a short drive! So glad we decided to go as the views were lovely (right on the riverside) and the food was great!

Room tip: Beware no air conditioning- rooms are hot!
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swangirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie Cappadona, General Manager at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Good afternoon

Thank you for your recent review.

Grantley Hall a beautiful property having stayed their myself but very different to Palé in every way. We are the tranquil country house staycation that very much suits guests that just want to relax and enjoy our beautiful house and surroundings.

Most Relais & Chateaux properties are independently owned but all offer a different luxurious guest journey and Palé was maybe not the right choice for your family break on this occasion.

I was very pleased to read your welcome and the team delivered on service and that Marco made you dining experience lovely.

I would personally like to following up via a direct email as I have not received any feedback from the email that you would of been sent after departure.

Wishing you and the family all the very best for the summer.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Stayed in the Churchill suite for my 40th birthday, fantastic from start to finish. We had the 8 course taster menu which was amazing, would love to go again. Amazing time and perfect memories made. Lovely welcome drink and a bag of water and snacks for you way home.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisawool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie Cappadona, General Manager at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am delighted you choose Palé for such an important occasion and that you had an amazing time.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Take care and stay safe.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews