We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$561
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$561
US$520
View deal
Hotels.com
US$561
US$520
View deal
Trip.comUS$520
CheapTicketsUS$520
Orbitz.comUS$520
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
390
46
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
46
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu michelin star wine flight welcome drink valet parking stately home beautiful hotel the general manager shetland ponies pure luxury to celebrate our wedding anniversary stunning grounds public rooms are entrance hall moment you arrive sunday lunch homemade biscuits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2021

We visited for the garden, house and afternoon tea tour. First impressions were excellent. The entrance to the hotel was impressive and the staff who greeted us very attentive. This was our first visit anywhere after lockdown and cleanliness was outstanding. We felt safe from the minute we arrived at the entrance door which was important to us.
The head gardener was very informative and we enjoyed all the gardening tips that she had to share. Parts of the garden were spectacular - the trees and pond / lake area and the gardener was very knowledgeable. However beyond these areas a lot of attention needs to be given to the kitchen garden / greenhouse area and flower / border planting near the hotel. We were expecting a kitchen garden that supplied the hotel restaurant but that was far from the case. There is a lot of work required in these areas before this could be properly described as a true garden tour.
Afternoon tea was excellent and could not be faulted. The service was perfect and the sandwiches / cakes were of excellent standard as well. The chef obviously knew what he was doing. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
The house tour was very interesting and the lady who showed us around was perfect. It was obvious she loved the property and knew a lot about it and she was very approachable. Although the rooms looked beautiful and had obviously had a lot of money spent on them they somehow did not gel together properly which felt quite disappointing. The corridors were also very dark and uninviting.
I think if the kitchen garden and interior design were pulled together properly this hotel could be outstanding.
For us the staff, location, food and architecture of the building itself made it well worth the visit.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazjam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Good morning

Thank you so much for your recent review.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our House & Garden tour on your recent visit to us. This is something that is very popular with our guests and something we are looking forward to doing again when we can.

I have forwarded your comments onto to our owners about the interior design and gardens. They are very proud of Palé and the beautiful interior and furnishings of the house as this was a labour of love of theirs refurbishing her to the standard she is now.

I will pass on your complimentary compliments about the afternoon tea to Gareth and the team.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021

Stayed overnight in October. Well greated then abandoned and had to find someone to show us our room. Gorgeous building. The communal areas are also gorgeous. The route to our turret room got less exciting. Turret rooms are interesting but the TV come mirror does not work as the sun shines on it in such a way you cannot see the screen. Lovely bathroom. Grounds are nice but not as expansive as Hotel info would suggest. Breakfast was OK but they allow dogs in which I was not aware of. I also got stuck behind a wooden screen - there for COVID but it meant any view I had was gone.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirminghamNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Good morning

Thank you your your recent review.

Our very warm welcome which we are very proud of, has unfortunately had to change slightly. I like to think you had a warm smiley greeting and a glass of fizz on arrival to welcome you to the house.

I am so sorry to hear that you had to find someone to take you to your room, I can only think the team may of been welcoming other guests at the time, as the process is a little more detailed as hopefully you can appreciate in these COVID times.

Our turret rooms are very popular in their location, I was surprised to read the comments regarding your route to the room given the fact you would of walked up our glorious grand hall staircase.

Thank you for feeding back the comments about the sunshine making watching to TV difficult, I would of thought the blinds fitted in this area should of helped with this.

We do offer a breakfast dining facility for our furry friends with their owners but there is always a second option for those that are not comfortable with this offering.

Our friendly team on site are always very accommodating with guests requests and happy to change ensure they have the best experience.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2020 via mobile

Wonderful!
An exceptional venue.
Staff could not have welcomed us more, service was second to none!
Lovely food - a fantastic pre-Christmas treat. Such a shame that others will be unable to enjoy due to the latest restrictions. Looking forwards to visiting again in 2021.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank BolMawr2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Good morning

Thank you so much for your very kind review.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

Stayed here in November using a Secret Escapes Deal postponed from April. We had been about 10/15 years ago but how different it is now! Very warm and welcoming, the young staff were excellent ; the vegetarian tasting menu delicious; the rooms traditional but with a modern twist; the grounds lovely. All in all I can't reccommend it enough.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Good morning

Thank you so much for your kind review.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2020

Palé Hall oozes understated elegance throughout its stunning Victorian “pile”. The views over the Welsh hills and the wide and powerful river Dee are lovely. The location is a rural idyll with pheasants, rabbits, squirrels, many species of bird, Shetland ponies, a braying donkey and I think I spotted a Mellors!

Decked out for Christmas, the warm atmosphere within stemmed from a combination of blazing, wood fires, the intricate wooden panelling and block flooring and a welcoming staff.

The tasting menu plus wine flight were top notch with first rate service.

Our room, Churchill, was outstanding and how fortunate we were in our choice of it - four-poster bed, a huge bath made from copper and zinc, and wallpaper and furnishings that felt William Morris. It was very much somewhere you could quite happily spend hours in.

This is a special place. Excellent staff, we’ll award Luke “seren y gêm”.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MoldNurseteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for such a glowing review.

It is always delightful to receive lovely comments about the house and the team who look after her.

Luke is a little gem and is so proud to work at Pale, and we are very lucky to have him on board.

I do hope we can welcome you again soon.

Take care and all the very best for the festive season.

Kind regards

Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews