We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$365
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$365
View deal
Hotels.com
US$426
US$346
View deal
SAVE US$80
Expedia.comUS$346
eDreamsUS$365
HurbUS$426
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
369
43
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
369
43
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu michelin star wine flight welcome drink valet parking stately home beautiful hotel the general manager shetland ponies pure luxury to celebrate our wedding anniversary stunning grounds public rooms are entrance hall moment you arrive sunday lunch homemade biscuits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2020

Palé Hall oozes understated elegance throughout its stunning Victorian “pile”. The views over the Welsh hills and the wide and powerful river Dee are lovely. The location is a rural idyll with pheasants, rabbits, squirrels, many species of bird, Shetland ponies, a braying donkey and I think I spotted a Mellors!

Decked out for Christmas, the warm atmosphere within stemmed from a combination of blazing, wood fires, the intricate wooden panelling and block flooring and a welcoming staff.

The tasting menu plus wine flight were top notch with first rate service.

Our room, Churchill, was outstanding and how fortunate we were in our choice of it - four-poster bed, a huge bath made from copper and zinc, and wallpaper and furnishings that felt William Morris. It was very much somewhere you could quite happily spend hours in.

This is a special place. Excellent staff, we’ll award Luke “seren y gêm”.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MoldNurseteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for such a glowing review.

It is always delightful to receive lovely comments about the house and the team who look after her.

Luke is a little gem and is so proud to work at Pale, and we are very lucky to have him on board.

I do hope we can welcome you again soon.

Take care and all the very best for the festive season.

Kind regards

Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

Lovely Hotel- spotlessly clean. Went for Sunday lunch -choice on menu wasn’t extensive but ample apart from the starter which was only a choice of three. Soup was pored into a large bowl -cereal size which hardly covered the bottom and no bread was served with it -very disappointing as soup is so cheap to produce-it was also luke warm. I did advise the waitress of this matter and that it was the smallest portion by far that I’d ever had -her answer was-I’ll advise the chef and that was it- no response !!I I also heard the next table discussing portion size! The main and sweet were acceptable. Felt comfortable and a relaxing atmosphere here in a very nice location.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 622rosej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Good afternoon

Thank you for your review.

I will email you personally to discuss your dining experience further.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

What a wonderful find this was. Our annual pre-Christmas trip to the Cotswolds was cancelled due to Government travel restrictions, so we looked for somewhere nearer to home here in Wales. Palé Hall seemed to tick all the boxes, and the reviews seemed consistent so we booked a Saturday night stay.
The hotel is set in beautiful grounds surrounded by stunning open countryside. The driveway manages to keep the main building hidden from view until the very last second when the hotel makes its first impression, architecturally interesting and oozing with charm and character.
From the moment we stepped through the door, we felt like we'd arrived at our own country retreat. Attention to detail is evident EVERYWHERE, and the pride taken by each and every member of staff in providing guests with a memorable experience is heartwarming, and heartfelt. November proved to be a great month to visit, with the hotel featuring roaring log fires (perfect for enjoying a cocktail or two) and tasteful Christmas decorations. Food was immaculate, fresh, locally sourced, and thoroughly delicious. The lounges and dining rooms are full of character and history (about which the staff are knowledgeable and enthusiastic), and feature many original elements. We stayed in the Beaumaris turret room, which has a separate seating area overlooking the gardens. In keeping with the rest of the hotel, it was immaculate in every respect. This is a truly special hotel with very high standards, but the stand out feature that already has us planning our next visit to our newest tradition, is the dedicated team of people who staff it. Outstanding.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NeilColeclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2020

Good morning

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and very kind words about our team.

Its delights us to read how our guests feel when they come through the gates and then see the house for the first time, it still makes us smile too.

I will share with Gareth and the team your comments appreciating their food and how it is sourced. Very important to us to support our local growers and farmers.

I very much hope we can welcome you back soon.

Take care and stay safe.

Kind regards

Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2020

Just returned from a wonderful overnight stay with eight course taster menu at Pale Hall. From when we arrived to leaving this morning the staff were so welcoming, friendly, attentive and could not do enough for us. We had a slight issue with our two excitable pooches not wanting to be left alone in the room while we had our meal, so the team went out of their way to help with this. The fine dining experience was exceptional, compliments to the chef!! Just wish we could have stayed longer as the bed was the most comfortable I have EVER slept in!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank wendyrH958IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2020

Good morning

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We thorough enjoyed welcoming both Daisy & George (Pooches) to the hotel as well and it was our pleasure to make sure your dining experience was comfortable not worrying about them.

I will pass on your compliments to Gareth and his team, who will be delighted.

We are very fortunate to have amazing beds and you do really have the best sleep in them.

Please take care and do come and see us again soon.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Incredible experience. Every single member of staff were absolutely fantastic. Nothing too much trouble for them. Food was magnificent. Room was spectacular. Furnishings and paintings throughout are wonderful. Grounds are extremely well kept. I’d just like to congratulate you all at Pale Hall. You’re doing an amazing job without making it look like hard work. Well done.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mowen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2020

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and your very kind words about the team will be shared with them.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Take care and stay safe

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews