We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$561
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$561
US$520
View deal
Hotels.com
US$561
US$520
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$520
Orbitz.comUS$520
TravelocityUS$520
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
390
46
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
46
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu michelin star wine flight welcome drink valet parking stately home beautiful hotel the general manager shetland ponies pure luxury to celebrate our wedding anniversary stunning grounds public rooms are entrance hall moment you arrive sunday lunch homemade biscuits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2020

From the minute you arrive to the minute you leave this hotel thinks of everything. We stayed in a classic room which was gorgeous with views of the beautiful setting. From fabulously comfortable beds to luxuriously appointed bathrooms all spotlessly clean.
Lunch was excellent with the best chunky chips I’ve ever seen or tasted before! Dinner was a choice of an 8 or 5 course tasting menu, we had 5 and yes the portions are small but every course was superb and we were full at the end. Everything is homemade using local produce. The wine list is pricey as you would expect but excellent including a selection of English wines. There was a comprehensive choice at breakfast including the traditional full welsh and a delicious smoked haddock to choose from. Last but by no means least the wonderful staff. There’s nothing stuffy about this 5* hotel the atmosphere is totally relaxed and friendly from the minute you arrive in the car park and are greeted by a member of the team. Staff then work really hard to make you feel at home, they are well trained and nothing is too much trouble.
Thanks Palé Hall for an amazing birthday/ anniversary stay.

Room tip: Every room is fabulous go for the best you can afford
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank alysont662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Good morning

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I am always delighted to read such lovely comments especially about our team and love sharing this with them.

We appreciate the mention about local produce, as it is very important for us to continually support our local farmers and growers.

Glad to hear the birthday and anniversary celebrations went well too.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Take care and stay safe.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

This is a beautiful house, which has been tastefully renovated. This destination hotel has the main attraction of a fantastic restaurant which I would highly recommend. The entire evening was slick, professional and very impressive. Some reviews we read commented on how they could not find staff - this certainly was not our experience so I can only assume it was a post lockdown blip which has now been addressed. The breakfast was amazing and again beautifully served. The ONLY Achilles heel to this hotel is The Huntsman bistro. We ate here on the first night; the food was good, but for the price the service should also be equally as special. This bistro alternative has the potential to really add to the experience but unfortunately in our experience was disappointing.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kaytie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

I will certainly pass on your very kind words regarding the food offering you received throughout your stay, Gareth will be delighted to hear this.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020

We stayed at the Pale Hall Hotel over Sunday night and was so impressed with the all aspects of the stay, the hotel is fantastic. We were in the Camarthen room on the second floor, the room has spectacular views of the surrounding hills. The staff are polite and helpful without being overbearing, We ate in the restaurant, the eight course taster menu was excellent. Will defiantly return.

Date of stay: October 2020
1  Thank Mj-34-689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Good morning

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your eight course tasting menu, I will certainly share your kind words to Gareth and the team.

Take care and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020 via mobile

There is nothing trendy or hip about Palé Hall, but that is precisely its appeal; it is elegant, refined, and traditional. The building itself is magnificent and the care and attention given to the furnishings and decoration is clear throughout. Don't miss a walk around the stunning grounds and even to the hills beyond, for those looking for a good hike.

The staff are absolutely delightful; helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Service in the bar/lounge areas can be a tad hit and miss but you don't mind it at all, such is the overall charm of the service team.

The fine dining restaurant was exceptionally good. The room is perhaps lacking in atmosphere (as tends to be the case in these in-house fine dining places) but the food more than makes up for that; and the delicious canapés served with pre-dinner drinks was a lovely touch.

We'll be back!!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KellyC369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Harper, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Palé is the perfect place to just walk and enjoy the beautiful North Wales countryside.

I tend to agree with fine dining restaurants, very difficult to create an ambiance as guests tend to speak quietly and the music is always at a lower level. Delighted to read your enjoyed pre dinner canapes and the overall experience was good.

Very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Debbie Cappadona
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

The hotel occupies a beautifully restored High Victorian mansion, with stunning grounds in a gorgeous part of North Wales. Room very good with an excellent bathroom, though it does miss the provision of grabhandles to get out of the bath/shower and there were maintenance issues. Covid precautions seemed well managed throughout the hotel with strict compliance to the current rules.

Dining is split in two service offerings; an outstanding Fine Dining restaurant with an exceptionally good tasting menu, and a rather basic Bistro with a very limited menu. Neither are cheap and the Bistro portions, while tasty and well cooked, are very small for the price charged. After a few days the Bistro menu ceases to enthuse. Alternative restaurants are in Bala, some distance away and only serving pub food.

Staff are very friendly and willing but can be hard to find; service is often erratic. One thing I expect from a five star hotel is utterly predictable service and that just doesn’t happen here except in the fine dining venue, where service was faultless. Apart from the service issue things go pretty well.

The hotel does advertise itself as dog friendly but can offer dog free rooms. Be prepared though for dogs in public rooms though I was not impressed to share my breakfast table with someone else’s dog beside me. Would be best if they were kept out of eating areas at least, we don’t all find our canine friends desirable company, and in a time of Covid their known susceptibility to the virus also worries.

North Wales is not blessed with high end accommodation and the Pale Hall is probably the best of the handful of hotels up there offering a quality stay to visitors wanting more than a hiker’s retreat.

One word of advice; if you are driving in from the A5 on the A494 do not let the GPS suggest you take the B4401 to Llanderfel; it is a B road only in name and much of it is the same width as the car with no passing places. Seriously nerve wracking. Keep going to the next turning (B4402) clearly signposted Pale Hall.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank toomanybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews