We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & regal stay”
Review of Pale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pale Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandderfel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings and building. It was like stepping back in time when entering the elegant hallway. The property feels more like a country manor than a hotel, which was just what we were looking for. We wanted character and charm and Pale Hall has plenty of both. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the dinner was excellent. A perfect retreat for a staycation.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelbugRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

I am delighted that it felt more like a country manor than a hotel. We welcome guests to our home that also happens to be a five star hotel. Our staff truly want our guest to be happy.
We hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

We recently stayed here, attracted by the excellent reviews.The hotel is certainly different, set in it’s own grounds close to the Snowdonia National Park. The difference is apparent as soon as you enter the hotel - there is no reception desk! Visitors are greeted by a member of staff who I can only assume has been looking out for you on CCTV and offered ‘coffee, tea or something sparkling in one of our lounges?’, whilst your cases are taken up to your room. We stayed in ‘Chirk’ which is shown on the hotel’s web site and just as beautifully appointed as it looks in the pictures. The room has a large mirror which turns into your tv and complimentary fruit, as well as bottles of water and a decanter of Madeira to drink. What the room doesn’t have is tea and coffee making equipment because they want you to ‘treat the room and the hotel like your home’. Instead, you phone down for complimentary hot drinks which are made fresh and delivered on a tray with home made biscuits. One of the main reasons to go to the hotel is the truly superb quality of the food, although you do need to be aware that the food is ‘nouveau cuisine’ and expect to have the waiter give you your personal description of what you are going to eat before you eat it. The several ‘lounges’ and hall and stairways are full of antiques and sumptuously appointed. Overall if you are looking for somewhere different and special, look no further than Pale Hall.

Room Tip: Our room, Chirk, is close to the loud hotel clock which chimes every 15 minutes but the chimes are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Wow!! Thank you for such a wonderful review. Heartfelt thanks here from all the staff for your very very kind words. We hope to welcome you back to Pale sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Probably the most enjoyable overnight stay we have had in any hotel in the uk. The surroundings and attention to detail is a credit to the owners and their staff who without question are made to feel valued which in most hotels is very rare. The owners objective of making the hotel feel like a 5 star home has been achieved and is complimented by rosette standard food which will no doubt in time become recognised as Michelin standard. We will without question be returning and would recommend anyone who appreciates genuine five star surroundings and service to visit this secret gem when ch puts the five star corporate hotels to shame

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a different style. Try them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

This has to be one of the most stunning reviews we have had. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Our staff are delighted that you had a great stay and felt valued because all our guests truly are valued. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

What a wonderful place to relax, On arrival a glass of the fizzy stuff and then shown to our room which was Wonderful overlooking the gardens at the rear of the property. Our evening meal was as you would expect mouth watering and the service second to none. I can see why this is five star hotel and a two star Michelin with now 3 AA stars as well. The third star was awarded whilst we were there. Another glass of bubbly was given prior to our second dinner. No bar in the hotel, but if you required anything a honesty practice was in place. I would have liked tea and coffee making in the room. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a quiet relax with no hassle and will come back again in the not to distant future

Room Tip: Any room would be quiet as this is in the middle of nowhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are so pleased that you had a lovely time. We are delighted with our three AA Rosettes and will be working very hard to hopefully better this in the future.
When you come back do ask for a hospitality tray as we are happy to provide one for guests who would like one :)
We look forward to welcoming you back
kind regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had an overnight stay and dinner at Palé Hall as part of my wife's birthday celebrations. We would have struggled to have made a better choice.

This country house hotel is beautifully set within tranquil tranquil grounds and surrounded by stunning Welsh scenery. The hotel itself reflects this setting very well, both externally and internally.

The hotel has a feeling within that is hard to define. There is a softned formality designed in; Palé is tastefully furnished, filled with art, and sympathetically lit. The calmness of the place no doubt belies a lot of effort to keep everything just so. This would be a feng shui enthusiast's paradise.
It has to be said, the house looks spotlessly clean throughout.

Our "classic" bedroom was rather spacious, well appointed and had a large en-suite. The large corner bath housed one of the best showers I have used.
The large built in wardrobe had plenty of hanging space and hangers.
The room was well thought out with elegant furnishing including a small sofa.
Again, cleanliness was not a let down.

The staff we encountered were a credit to the establishment and only added to the warm feeling felt during our stay.

Our restaurant dinner was sublime; I have written more detail in a review of Palé Hall restaurant.
Breakfast was also very good.

All in all this hotel is exceptional. The decor is a credit to the designer, and the staff a credit to the management.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mrmnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

What can I say in response to this other that thank you. There are so many positives that it's hard to pick to pick my favourites but I am going to go for sublime food and staff a credit to the management.
We really do appreciate the time you spent on this review and hope to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandderfel
16.8 km away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,608 reviews
26 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
5.6 km away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
27.9 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
803 reviews
17.7 km away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pale Hall Hotel

Address: | Pale Estate, Bala, Llandderfel LL23 7PS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llandderfel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandderfel
Price Range: €311 - €505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pale Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pale Hall is now under new ownership. Alan and Angela Harper have purchased the hotel and will be working in association with Michael Caines, the acclaimed two Michelin starred chef, to take it forward into an exciting new phase as a fine dining destination luxury hotel. Expect something very special; distinctive charms, a warm welcome, exceptional quality and standards of service. Anticipate discovering the sublime splendour of this distinguished Grade II* listed historical landmark and its spectacular setting in the dramatic North Wales landscape. Re-opening September 1st 2016 trading as an exclusive and independently-owned country house hotel offering a broad range of facilities and relaxed hospitality, in unique and luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pale Hall Llandderfel
Pale Hall Hotel Llandderfel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing