We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryntirion Inn(Llandderfel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
238
25
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
25
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menuqueen victoriaon arrivaldrawing roommichelin starsunday lunchwelcome drinkbeautiful hotelwine flightmorning teaantique furnitureluxury hotelthe general managerpure luxurysignificant birthdaystately homemoment you arrive
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We recently stayed here, attracted by the excellent reviews.The hotel is certainly different, set in it’s own grounds close to the Snowdonia National Park. The difference is apparent as soon as you enter the hotel - there is no reception desk! Visitors are greeted by a member of staff who I can only assume has been looking out for you on CCTV and offered ‘coffee, tea or something sparkling in one of our lounges?’, whilst your cases are taken up to your room. We stayed in ‘Chirk’ which is shown on the hotel’s web site and just as beautifully appointed as it looks in the pictures. The room has a large mirror which turns into your tv and complimentary fruit, as well as bottles of water and a decanter of Madeira to drink. What the room doesn’t have is tea and coffee making equipment because they want you to ‘treat the room and the hotel like your home’. Instead, you phone down for complimentary hot drinks which are made fresh and delivered on a tray with home made biscuits. One of the main reasons to go to the hotel is the truly superb quality of the food, although you do need to be aware that the food is ‘nouveau cuisine’ and expect to have the waiter give you your personal description of what you are going to eat before you eat it. The several ‘lounges’ and hall and stairways are full of antiques and sumptuously appointed. Overall if you are looking for somewhere different and special, look no further than Pale Hall.

Room Tip: Our room, Chirk, is close to the loud hotel clock which chimes every 15 minutes but the chimes are switched off from 9.00pm to 9.00am.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Wow!! Thank you for such a wonderful review. Heartfelt thanks here from all the staff for your very very kind words. We hope to welcome you back to Pale sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Probably the most enjoyable overnight stay we have had in any hotel in the uk. The surroundings and attention to detail is a credit to the owners and their staff who without question are made to feel valued which in most hotels is very rare. The owners objective of making the hotel feel like a 5 star home has been achieved and is complimented by rosette standard food which will no doubt in time become recognised as Michelin standard. We will without question be returning and would recommend anyone who appreciates genuine five star surroundings and service to visit this secret gem when ch puts the five star corporate hotels to shame

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a different style. Try them all
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

This has to be one of the most stunning reviews we have had. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Our staff are delighted that you had a great stay and felt valued because all our guests truly are valued. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

What a wonderful place to relax, On arrival a glass of the fizzy stuff and then shown to our room which was Wonderful overlooking the gardens at the rear of the property. Our evening meal was as you would expect mouth watering and the service second to none. I can see why this is five star hotel and a two star Michelin with now 3 AA stars as well. The third star was awarded whilst we were there. Another glass of bubbly was given prior to our second dinner. No bar in the hotel, but if you required anything a honesty practice was in place. I would have liked tea and coffee making in the room. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a quiet relax with no hassle and will come back again in the not to distant future

Room Tip: Any room would be quiet as this is in the middle of nowhere
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are so pleased that you had a lovely time. We are delighted with our three AA Rosettes and will be working very hard to hopefully better this in the future.
When you come back do ask for a hospitality tray as we are happy to provide one for guests who would like one :)
We look forward to welcoming you back
kind regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had an overnight stay and dinner at Palé Hall as part of my wife's birthday celebrations. We would have struggled to have made a better choice.

This country house hotel is beautifully set within tranquil tranquil grounds and surrounded by stunning Welsh scenery. The hotel itself reflects this setting very well, both externally and internally.

The hotel has a feeling within that is hard to define. There is a softned formality designed in; Palé is tastefully furnished, filled with art, and sympathetically lit. The calmness of the place no doubt belies a lot of effort to keep everything just so. This would be a feng shui enthusiast's paradise.
It has to be said, the house looks spotlessly clean throughout.

Our "classic" bedroom was rather spacious, well appointed and had a large en-suite. The large corner bath housed one of the best showers I have used.
The large built in wardrobe had plenty of hanging space and hangers.
The room was well thought out with elegant furnishing including a small sofa.
Again, cleanliness was not a let down.

The staff we encountered were a credit to the establishment and only added to the warm feeling felt during our stay.

Our restaurant dinner was sublime; I have written more detail in a review of Palé Hall restaurant.
Breakfast was also very good.

All in all this hotel is exceptional. The decor is a credit to the designer, and the staff a credit to the management.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mrmnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

What can I say in response to this other that thank you. There are so many positives that it's hard to pick to pick my favourites but I am going to go for sublime food and staff a credit to the management.
We really do appreciate the time you spent on this review and hope to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

An extremely nice building and we commenced going there just to stop for coffee one morning and was so impressed decided to make another visit.
What a good decision to have a meal. It met our best expectations.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you so much for this lovely review, meeting best expectations is just what we aim to do. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews