We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice property, but more attention to detail needed”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Kitchen and dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1LizT
England
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice property, but more attention to detail needed”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Nice property in a lovely small town. Within easy walking distance of pubs, shops, takeaways, walks? With the games room on the top floor, there is plenty of room for teenagers to have their own space. The locals we met were generally very friendly.

The property is on a steep hill and is over four floors, so not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. A medium sized car can be parked in the lay-by on the hill, but anything bigger needs to be on the sister hotel car park.

The big disappointment for us was the lack of essentials, which were stated as being provided and should be as standard. There were no bin liners in the bins on arrival and none provided. No dishwasher tablets, no washing powder. Half a scouring pad, one had clearly been ripped in half. We had to buy all these items from the local Spar, at inflated prices!

The beds were very comfortable with good quality bedding. Cleanliness was good in some areas, but attention to detail was needed in other areas. There was mould on the tiles in the shower. The oven gloves were dirty, clean ones should be provided for each new guest. Luckily a washer/dryer is provided and I washed them. There was food left in cupboards from previous guests.

The bike store is not enclosed/lockable, so not suitable for expensive mountain bikes.

We have given four stars as the property is better than average. However, the issues we had are very basic essentials. As this is a new venture, hopefully these issues will be resolved for future guests.

Also, if the 'luxury' market is the target, 4/5 star properties provide a welcome pack. Milk, tea/coffee, cake or wine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigator...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, modern and peaceful place”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very tastefully furnished to a very high standard with all mod cons.
The games room was a particular draw for our teenage son! The town was peaceful and a stone's throw away from the house. We hired bikes in the town and cycled to Barmouth along the estuary, explored nearby Harlech castle and Portmerion. Bala is also worth a visit if you like water sports and more stunning scenery. A great location to explore Snowdonia.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking time to send in a review of your stay. We are very pleased you got to do so many great activities and enjoyed your time at Tanrallt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking time to send in your review. We will definitely take on board your suggestion to add some more games at Tanrallt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SurreyCoo...
Surrey
1 review
“Great base for Snowdonia trip!”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Apart from the narrow access road this house was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay immensely.
Easy walking distance to the towns restaurants, shops and cafes.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Hi. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Hi

Thank you for your review and kind words. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the house and area, and in particular the the children enjoyed the games room.

Thank you also for the feedback on the welcome pack. This is our first year as holiday home hosts so if you have any suggestions as to what we could include, we would love to hear them. We are keen to ensure our guests have all they need for an enjoyable stay, so any ideas you have would be welcomed.

We hope you enjoy the rest of the Summer and hope to welcome you and your family to Dolgellau again.

Best wishes

Debra & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing