We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caerwylan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
US$139
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Branwen(Harlech)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaBanks B&B(Criccieth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
332
61
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
61
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownerssea viewnarrow roadfirst classhigh standardsea frontlovely hotelstaff were superbcriccieth castlesunday lunchnorth waleswatching the worldpowerful showerpublic areaslambgreat showercomfy chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

From my very first call to book our break to 0ur return booking for next year on our last day the team at this hotel has gone above and beyond to ensure our stay was exceptional .the hotel it self is well appionted and tastfully decorated throughout the room we had gave us stunning views of the beach castle and mountains it was spacious and comfortable . The lounge and bar area are a pleasure to sit in and have a good atmosphere along with a well stocked bar and wine list with knolegable staff who go out of there way to answere questions or offer advice were required over our three nights stay Rachel was looking after the bar and she was so enthuseastic about her job and place of work as well as sociable with all the guest it made for very enjoyable berfore and after dinner conversation well done michel and francis its lovely to have staff hold you in such high regaurd . We found the food very enjoyable good quality ingreidants well sourced and cooked .Perfectly presanted by your lovely team .
If you want to visit this part of wales for any reason book this hotel and you will enjoy an expierance you wont forget in a hurry
Thank you for a wonderfull stay (room 24/33) this weekend your hard work and attention to detail was very much appricated .keep up the good work the( metcalfes )

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorraine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you so much for your brilliant review of the hotel and the team. We are so blessed to have the team that we do at the hotel, and it is always a pleasure for us to hear from guests that the team are doing an excellent job, so thank you.

We hope to see you again in the not so distant future.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This is a medium size efficient family-run hotel. It's informal but very well organised. The rooms have been re-furbished to a high standard. The breakfasts are well presented and prepared with top quality ingredients. We had one dinner in the restaurant and that was excellent. House red, a shiraz, just right. The owners and all the staff are really nice. But the outstanding feature of this hotel (on Beach Road) is the wonderful panoramic view of the Bay and Criccieth Castle

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you very much for your great review, we are really fortunate to have the "wonderful panoramic view" as our office :-).

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

What an excellent choice, as usual thanks to Trip Advisor, hence just about all my reviews being positive. Excellent position, don't fret about trying to park on the narrow road directly outside the hotel, drop your vehicle on to the prom below, plenty of space and easy access to the hotel. Warm welcome, super room with bay window (16) for two nights, spotlessly clean and comfortable and well fitted out, with a bed/mattress to die for. Evening meal was well served and very tasty, no hassle to move on after we had finished eating. Good value too. Breakfasts too were really good with your hot choice being individually prepared. Third night we were in room 26 - very similar to 16 but on the second floor so prom view not quite as good as from 16. Fourth night we had to move up another floor to room 38, plenty of sea views but no bay window so very restricted views of 'land'. Nothing wrong with the room, hotel decor theme throughout but we had been spoilt by rooms on the lower floors. All our fault for only deciding the week before to holiday in the UK for a few days. Hint- book early and pay the extra for the sea view rooms on the lower floors.
Thanks for a good break, plenty of beach walking, with decent weather in the main. We will be back.

Room Tip: As said, front room on 1st or 2nd floor with bay window. Worth the premium charged.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for your brilliant review of the hotel, and your top hint to book early :-).

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Travel safe,

Kind regards
Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Very simply, this is how a good hotel is run. Excellent, clean and modern rooms. Quality beds and bed linen. Good food, helpful staff on hand if needed but unobtrusive when you want your own space. The sea-view rooms are first class. Breakfast (part buffet/part cooked to order) is excellent. Dinner too was excellent (if perhaps a little pricey). The free car-parking in front of the hotel is 'tight' and sometimes full so it can be necessary to park about 50-100 yards away on the sea front (also free). That said, the hotel offers lockable garages at a very sensible daily rate (I normally object to paying for parking at a hotel where I'm staying but in this case, as you have your own lock-up garage, I think it's very reasonable and worth the money). Nothing to fault from start to finish over a 5-night stay.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive Sea View Rooms. Spacious, stunning views. Worth the cost.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Golfingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Your heading had made our day! Thank you very much for your brilliant review of our hotel and the team here at the Caerwylan.

Travel safe,

Kind Regards
Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Spent two nights in this little gem of a hotel and ate in the Tonnau restaurant on our second night.
The hotel is deceptively modern with a very traditional exterior. Our room had an amazing view of the castle and beach, well worth paying a little extra for, it was clean and comfortable.
The staff are very helpful, friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Breakfast has a great selection but don't be afraid to ask for something different from the menu as they are more than happy to accommodate.
We had a great meal in the restaurant, again excellent choice and good value.
We will be returning very soon, thank you for a lovely weekend

Room Tip: Front or side view is a must
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Broadbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your excellent review. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Travel safe,

Kind Regards

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews