We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,233)
Filter reviews
3,233 results
Traveller rating
783
1,049
790
387
224
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
1,049
790
387
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities lovely hotel cheshire oaks set menu would stay again course meal friday night weekend break good nights sleep excellent value for money comfy bed north wales sauna and steam room biscuits stayed for one night the upper deck the verve
Filter
Updating list...
2,267 - 2,272 of 3,233 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Rooms are lovely but the tv wasn't working which was ok cause wasn't there to watch tv, could do with a bit more seating area for the pub gets full very quick the food in the restaurant was excellent and I definitely recommend and the staff was very helpful definitely be staying again

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maylon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Dear Csm1984,

Thank you for your review and it is great to read that you would definatley stay with us again.

I am sorry that you had issues with the TV in your room.

We look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully.

Many Thanks
Stuart Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Lovely hotel. Very friendly, the upper deck is defiantly worth the extra, great room, all the sky channels!
Pub was great , lovely atmosphere , nice staff
We went shopping at Cheshire Oaks also, just a short drive away.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 669dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Dear 669dom,

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and were able to get some retail therapy in at Cheshire Oaks also.

We do hope that we see you again.

Many Thanks
Stuart Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Friendly staff, fantastic location,. Very clean, rooms excellent. This is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. The room was immense.

The hotel itself is situated in an ideal location, near to Chester city centre, the motorway, the zoo and Cheshire Oakes.

The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynnt582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Dear lynnt582,

Thank you for your review, is is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you also for your very kind words for the team, I look forward to sharing this with them all.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to St David's soon.

Many Thanks
Stuart Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

I have stayed in a lot of village hotels and this is the most disappointing. From the outside this hotel look very impressive as does the reception and the rooms are your usual village rooms. We had 2 rooms and both toilets were not cleaned to the best standard. The pool was very small and had children's swimming lessons on a Friday evening which meant the jacquzzi,steam and sauna were too full to use. After a disappointing leisure experience we got ready to go to the bar for the burger night and drinks. The lay out of the bar is very poor with not much seating area. The bar was full of locals enjoying the burger night which meant no seats were available for residence and by the time a seat became free and we ordered we were then told they had ran out. The breakfast in the restaurant was pretty much a repeat of burger night people were waiting in a big long queue as they kept running out of eggs. We were not told that people were only waiting for eggs so everyone kept waiting in the queue the 2nd time the eggs ran out i decided to leave the queue. When I eventually sat down with my now COLD toast and cup of tea I discovered my cutlery looked like someone had just eaten there breakfast and left them for me. This was supposed to be a relaxing break whilst child free for the night enjoying leisure facilities and food and drink which we have done in so many village hotels before and we left feeling like we had been to a b&b with the kids.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jodief960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Dear jodief960,

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry to read that you left dissapointed from your break with us. Please do contact me directly so that I can discuss your comments in more detail. My email address is stuart.davies@village-hotels.com

Many Thanks
Stuart Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Nice hotel been before and possible come again if the cost is right! Haven't yet used the swimming facilities but possible next time? Rooms spacious and well presented, nice to have wifi free but some rooms unfortunately don't get a good signal.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L8840CMalexandras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Dear L8840CMalexandras,

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you have now stayed with us on more than one occasion and that you have enjoyed your stay again.

I can confirm that we have a wifi upgrade booked for the end of March that will see our speed and coverage improved for all bedrooms.

Many Thanks
Stuart Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews