We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Place with Delicious Food”

Ty Hyll - Ugly House
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

We loved this little tearoom! It was just what we needed after a morning exploring the nearby woodland. The service was great and the selection of sandwiches and sweet treats all looked tempting. We shared an ugly sausage sandwich just so we could try their scones and Barabrith. It was all sensational. Would definitely recommend! =)

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Matty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

What a lovely find. This quaint tea room served fabulous food and a pot of tea which was full of flavour. This is a must to visit. We weren’t disappointed

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Dawneebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021

Food and drink was wonderful, coffee with bara brith and lashings of butter, just what you need when resting.

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank E2294DGbryanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020 via mobile

We loved the Ugly House although we thought it was beautiful. The huge stones the shape everything is unusual, I would love to be able to go inside and I would like to go back again in the summer. Lovely gardens, couldn't wander far as one of the people we were with is rather frail and unable to walk far but she had a little wander about and loved it as much as we did

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank DebraG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

Having passed this little cafe regularly , we decided to make our way up to it today with the intentions of just having a coffee.
We were greeted very pleasantly by the 2 ladies that were working there today , covid protocol followed completely , we sat inside by the cosy fire.
We then decided to have a ham sandwich to share , a coffee and a tea.
We both received half the sandwich and side salad on individual plates , lovely touch , the ham was just right , the bread lovely and soft and the side salad consisted of potato salad , coleslaw and the usual lettuce , cucumber , tomato and onion.
Coffee and tea lovely and hot followed by a slice of Victoria sponge cake again brought to us divided on our individual plates. The sponge was melt in the mouth texture , best sponge I’ve tasted in a long time!
General chit chat was exchanged between us and the ladies talking about the history of the ugly house and the effect covid has had on their business.
Highly recommend this unusual little cafe . Couldn’t fault the service , quality of the food and location.
We will definitely be going here again to help support this local business !!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Q3216WSjof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ty Hyll - Ugly House also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Ty Hyll - Ugly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.