We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Barry 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This beautiful old building is in the ideal location of Llandovery it offers everything one could want, Mike & Jill keep a very clean house with comfortable beds and private parking and an excellent breakfast, I had cockles and laver bread muffin. All in all a lovely place to stay if in Llandovery

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed in The Drovers for one night. Room and shower in good shape and decor was tasteful - also warm which was important for November. All the nick-nacks (extra towels/bits and bobs) that you would expect from an upmarket hotel. Nice reception area. Breakfast was a good choice of menu and what I had was yummy. Small car park at the back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulfromLondon1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We were just passing through, and spent only one night, but found The Drovers B&B to more than meet our needs & expectations.
The house feels like a large, traditional inn-style B&B, in which the owners have managed to combine old-world with contemporary in a very pleasing way. The ensuite bedrooms are very modern & comfortable,with free wifi available.
There is secure off-street parking, an English Tea upon arrival, and a full English breakfast in the morning.
The owners are very accommodating, and seem like "fun". They were very willing to offer advice regarding restaurants & local attractions.
We did not do much sight-seeing while here, thus can not comment on what the area has to offer, except to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the nearby Aberglasney Gardens .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justwannatravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Wonderful, welcoming B & B. Very homely but without the chintz. Decor in the bedrooms classy and comforting and the beds divine. Gorgeous bathroom with big bath and separate power shower. Quiet too which always gets a big gold star from me. Yummy breakfast with bacon that tasted like it had just come straight from the farm. Very high standard. Gets 10/10 from the fussy one (and that takes some doing!).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyoneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We ended up at the Drovers when another establishment double booked us. We were made very welcome and parked our over large car in the back yard easily. A pot of tea and Welsh cakes were then produced and we chatted with other guests some of whom were returning for a third stay. The lounge areas had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We were very pleased with the room. The quality of the bed linen was excellent, decor very pleasant and a really first class shower. We ate out at the owners recomendation at the Castle which we felt was very good value. The owners too were eating there that evening. The breakfast next morning was excellent with good quality food nicely presented. If we stay in the area again we will always first check the availablity at The Drovers

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
18.3 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
438 reviews
16.5 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
788 reviews
0.0 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
160 reviews
12.6 km away
Ffrwdfal Country House
Ffrwdfal Country House
#3 of 5 in Llanwrda
8 reviews
0.1 km away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drovers Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Market Square | LLandovery, Llandovery SA20 0AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Drovers Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade 2 listed 17th century town house situated in a historic market square opposite the fountain. All the bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard with en-suite bathrooms. The guests have a comfortable sitting room and choice of breakfast rooms, use of the walled garden, and private and secure parking at rear of property. We have created a warm, quiet, friendly and relaxing environment with excellent home cooking and congeial hosts. Visit the lovely town of Llandovery and enjoy the wonderful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Drovers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing