We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Madison Hotel(Memphis)
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$315
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
415
208
72
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
208
72
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeale streetfull kitchenbedroom suitefew blocksrooftop areavalet parkingmississippi riverwithin walking distancean older buildingmemphis downtownliving areatrolley linecivil rights museummain streetwould stay here againbreakfast staffvalet service
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 715 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location if you are in downtown Memphis. We stayed here for only one night while passing through. Stay was great however we had to call and wait for housekeeping after we checked in because of large clumps of hair around the bathroom and other dirt. This was an obvious oversight by housekeeping which could use some work. Disappointed in that since it took time out of the short time we had there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Residene Inn by Marriott Memphis Downown for your recent hotel stay. I apologize that the cleanilness was not up to our standards and hope you will come back and stay with us again and give us another chance.

Have a wonderful Summmer
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have stayed at multiple Residence Inns across the country. One thing is pretty much pervasive at these hotels - the hospitality of the staff, especially at check in. Since this hotel is located in downtown Memphis, we were very surprised to wonder where was the southern hospitality with, most important of all, our check in staffer, Marie? I realize sometimes people have rough days and don't feel like making others feel welcomed or try to brighten others' days, but first impressions count with this traveler. With no eye contact, no smile and very little accommodation to requested early check in, at 12:30 we were told to come back later, our room wasn't ready.
Ok, fine. We walked around Memphis for a couple of hours, visited Beale St., parked our car in a public parking garage a half block away. (Hotel valet parking is expensive so look elsewhere if you care about those things.) Then, back to hotel and Marie to get room key. Our room was on the fourth floor, very large with elevated bedroom/bath area. Room keys were hard to use, as we had to try about 10 times to get the electronic strip to register green and allow us to enter room each time we tried.
Manager's reception starts at 6 here and we went down before dinner to have a glass of complimentary wine and beer. We met the director of sales who virtually negated our negative first impression of staffing here. She circulated tables, introduced herself, chatted easily with guests and made us feel welcomed. At last, we found our southern hospitality 10 times over.
We chose this hotel because it is close to everything, we walked to restaurants, Beale Street and Sun recording studio, plus saw the duck march at the Peabody hotel. Memphis has so much to offer and we will probably stay here again on our next trip and hope to see improvement on first impressions.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to elevator
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank You for being loyalty to Marriott and for staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown. We apprecaite you feedback and we do apologize your were not greeted in a more welcome tone! We do our best to provide outstanding guest service and we are sorry.
So happy to hear you enjoyed the fabulous atttractions located just steps away!

We look forward to having your stay again soon
Best Regards
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is a 1920's historical hotel that is in the process of being remodeled. The location is GREAT. We walked to Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum (about 10 blocks), the river, and many restaurants. We agree that the lobby is shabby and not up to Marriott standards. But our room on 12th floor was great, clean and nice to have the kitchenette. The service was helpful and friendly and breakfast was convenient and standard hotel type. We would absolutely stay here again, but if you are looking for luxury. Go to the Peabody. But if you like a smaller hotel, with friendly service, a great location, and a bigger room you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNMaryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for for your review and we are very happy to hear you had a chance to enjoy the outstaning Memphis Atttractions just steps away! We apprecait your business and look forward to having you back again soon.

Have a wonderful Summer
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We choose the hotel given it's proximity to downtown sites.. But given the rate.. I would recommend staying at the Peabody Hotel! It's currently under a remodeling phase.. So when you walk in be prepared for a very tired old and dirty lobby. The service was nice and we did have a nice large room on a high floor.. The rooftop was nice but no bar! I think marriott should be sure and let people know it's condition so you aren't taken by surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Columbine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank You for your review and I am sorry your stay was not up to our standards, we have completed the entire hotel renovaiton at property. Unfortunely, there was some work being done on our elevator that may have caused some noise so I apoloigize for any incovneience that may have caused.

I hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards
Tracey Hennigner,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My parents brought me to Memphis after graduating college. From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we felt at home. Jesse checked us in for our room and was an absolute delight. He was kind, helpful, and genuine. All of the housekeepers, front desk workers, and valet had great customer service. The southern hospitality was phenomenal!

Room Tip: We were next to the elevator, and it was not noisy at all!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Congraultions on Graduation from Colllege! We wish you a successful future. Thank you for your kind reveiw and for pointing the great service you recevied from our gust service agent, Jessie-we are very lucky to have him on our team!

We hope to see you again!
Best Regards
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews