We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality & Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Ranked #13 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am a Marriott Rewards member & always try to stay with one of the 3 downtown Marriott hotels. This visit brought me to Memphis very early on my arrival date & they allowed mo to check in anyway. They even offered me breakfast that was still being served. Total time to check my vehicle in with valet parking, check in at front desk, enter my room, & be on my way to my event was about 10 minutes. The roof has a nice patio area that the hotel uses regularly to host events (event dates posted in your room). It is located just a few blocks from Beale St. & is on Main St. near several places to eat.
THE BEDS!! I have to say that I have never slept so well in any other bed. They have a billiard table that you can play on for free, & some DVDs that you can take up to your room to watch. I very much enjoyed my stay here & look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 126RichardM126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We apprecaite your great review as well as being loyal to Marriott! We are very happy you liked the Biliards Table and the DVD lending library but are most happy that you had a great night's sleep!

We look forward to having your back again soon
Best Regards
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 297 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location if you are in downtown Memphis. We stayed here for only one night while passing through. Stay was great however we had to call and wait for housekeeping after we checked in because of large clumps of hair around the bathroom and other dirt. This was an obvious oversight by housekeeping which could use some work. Disappointed in that since it took time out of the short time we had there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Residene Inn by Marriott Memphis Downown for your recent hotel stay. I apologize that the cleanilness was not up to our standards and hope you will come back and stay with us again and give us another chance.

Have a wonderful Summmer
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have stayed at multiple Residence Inns across the country. One thing is pretty much pervasive at these hotels - the hospitality of the staff, especially at check in. Since this hotel is located in downtown Memphis, we were very surprised to wonder where was the southern hospitality with, most important of all, our check in staffer, Marie? I realize sometimes people have rough days and don't feel like making others feel welcomed or try to brighten others' days, but first impressions count with this traveler. With no eye contact, no smile and very little accommodation to requested early check in, at 12:30 we were told to come back later, our room wasn't ready.
Ok, fine. We walked around Memphis for a couple of hours, visited Beale St., parked our car in a public parking garage a half block away. (Hotel valet parking is expensive so look elsewhere if you care about those things.) Then, back to hotel and Marie to get room key. Our room was on the fourth floor, very large with elevated bedroom/bath area. Room keys were hard to use, as we had to try about 10 times to get the electronic strip to register green and allow us to enter room each time we tried.
Manager's reception starts at 6 here and we went down before dinner to have a glass of complimentary wine and beer. We met the director of sales who virtually negated our negative first impression of staffing here. She circulated tables, introduced herself, chatted easily with guests and made us feel welcomed. At last, we found our southern hospitality 10 times over.
We chose this hotel because it is close to everything, we walked to restaurants, Beale Street and Sun recording studio, plus saw the duck march at the Peabody hotel. Memphis has so much to offer and we will probably stay here again on our next trip and hope to see improvement on first impressions.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank You for being loyalty to Marriott and for staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown. We apprecaite you feedback and we do apologize your were not greeted in a more welcome tone! We do our best to provide outstanding guest service and we are sorry.
So happy to hear you enjoyed the fabulous atttractions located just steps away!

We look forward to having your stay again soon
Best Regards
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is a 1920's historical hotel that is in the process of being remodeled. The location is GREAT. We walked to Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum (about 10 blocks), the river, and many restaurants. We agree that the lobby is shabby and not up to Marriott standards. But our room on 12th floor was great, clean and nice to have the kitchenette. The service was helpful and friendly and breakfast was convenient and standard hotel type. We would absolutely stay here again, but if you are looking for luxury. Go to the Peabody. But if you like a smaller hotel, with friendly service, a great location, and a bigger room you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNMaryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for for your review and we are very happy to hear you had a chance to enjoy the outstaning Memphis Atttractions just steps away! We apprecait your business and look forward to having you back again soon.

Have a wonderful Summer
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We choose the hotel given it's proximity to downtown sites.. But given the rate.. I would recommend staying at the Peabody Hotel! It's currently under a remodeling phase.. So when you walk in be prepared for a very tired old and dirty lobby. The service was nice and we did have a nice large room on a high floor.. The rooftop was nice but no bar! I think marriott should be sure and let people know it's condition so you aren't taken by surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Columbine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank You for your review and I am sorry your stay was not up to our standards, we have completed the entire hotel renovaiton at property. Unfortunely, there was some work being done on our elevator that may have caused some noise so I apoloigize for any incovneience that may have caused.

I hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards
Tracey Hennigner,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 km away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,327 reviews
0.6 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,085 reviews
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
1 km away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Address: 110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2510
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#5 Family Hotel in Memphis
#17 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: €145 - €299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing