We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlett, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, Great staff!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed on February 8, 2012. Perfect location, Beale St. is right outside the front door. The staff was very friendly and even recommended attractions and restaurants for my husband and I.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    555
    150
    32
    20
See reviews for
495
783
54
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed at Hampton late Jan, 2012. Great hotel. Location is by far the closest to Beale Street. Trolley stops only a block away. Never noticed room noise. The ball field and the outdoor amphitheater are next door practically. Hotel was really clean and good breakfast. Close parking. They have tight bldg. security, must have key to enter hotel practically. Nice rooms, big bathrooms. Highly recommend if want close to Beale Street.

Also as an added bonus to my shopper friends, there is a "flea market" of sorts in the amphitheatre area. Great costume jewelry, scarves, etc...a must see just for fun!

Room Tip: In winter noise not a issue. In summer it may be...get a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyintheSky12
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn Beale St. for one night on 1/11/12 on the way from Chgo to New Orleans. This location is, indeed, perfect for exploring Beale St. (which is right around the corner.) The entrance empties into a circle drive courtyard with numerous colorful flowers and a multi-spigot fountain emenating from the the brick drive at its center. This was the first clue we were in the South and on the way down to New Orleans. The hotel has a parking facility that adjoins the hotel, but it is shared with the public during events at nearby large sports venues, so it is only semi-secure & you may have to wait to get your car if a function has just ended. We had no problem with any of our belongings in the car or hotel.

This hotel is very contemporary, and you can see that Memphis, though struggling & a little down at the heels, is trying very hard to have a downtown resurgence. I walked one block alone from the Gibson guitar factory back to the hotel while hubby took the tour at Gibson. However, I am from Chicago & have street smarts. I did have to cross the street at least twice to avoid a panhandler & someone who appeared to want to approach me, and though it may have been Southern hospitality, I did not respond to a 3rd urban stranger who seemed to want to make conversation in passing. Common sense in any large urban area. That said, the genuine hospitality and polite gentility of the staff at this Hampton was a sweet surprise to this weary traveller. Not that Chicagoans are gruff (we are known to be welcoming as well) but this is where the Southern-style hospitality really shows. The young man who helped with our bags & valeted our car even provided an in-room fridge on request (guess it's not standard.) I've forgotten his name now (Jason?), but I made sure we filled out a compliment form for him as he was super polite, informative, and genuinely kind. Make sure you remember to ask for & fill out an employee compliment card (and tip where appropriate) if someone gives you really good service. (Remember, everyone these days is under pressure from their boss or corporate to perform perfectly. Their job or promotion may rest on you... but avoid being snarky rather than truly disatisfied--most people try their best...)

The room was quiet & appropriate temperature maintained, and beds here were very comfy. The breakfast was organized, prompt, and very good (the usual waffles, yogurt, cereal, eggs, sausage gravy w/biscuits, bagels, muffins, fruit, coffee/tea but very well-presented so it didn't seem "canned".) The eating area is designed to look like a large, high-end kitchen in a home. Tea & coffee is in the lovely lobby 24/7. There are tables & chairs & also a long, high-top, lounge-style set up in view of the massive fireplace, where several people were using laptops. However, for business travellers, there is also a computer office near the front desk with a copier that can handle large print jobs, computers w/internet, pens & notepads, post-its & paper clips.

I have two complaints. I always look for a hotel with a pool and/or hot tub when I travel because swimming really relaxes me & let's me know, "Vacation ON!" Despite the fact that I specifically asked if these amenities were working when I booked and before we left, I arrived to find that only one (feeble) jet in the hot tub was working -- so I had to be satisfied with a hot soaking tub. Even more disappointing was the fact that the "heated" pool was ice cold & could not swim in it. I did mention the problem to the front desk, but they seemed to feel it was something beyond their control and I got the impression it had been that way for a while. When you call the hotel, Hampton Inn has a recorded message that Hampton wants the guest to be totally satisfied or your stay is free. I was also double charged the $17 daily parking fee, which was promptly and politely refunded. I did ask to speak to a manager about the non-working pool & hot tub, specifically saying I did not want a refund, but felt that, despite the location, the hotel was pricey (about a $189 per night with parking) if the pool & hot tub weren't heated or working and a small accommodation would be in order. (We normally stay at Country Inn & Suites and this was our first experience at Hampton.) The girl on the phone apologized and said a manager would call me, but no one never did. These are the reasons I can't give Hampton Inn Beale St. five stars, despite the efforts of the staff.
See my review of Beale St. elsewhere on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with at least a partial view of the city & Beale St. from an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyintheSky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Hotel was very clean,staff was very friendly and helpful.They recommended great places to eat.the hotel is in the heart of memphis great location.The people are so friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Located in-between the Peabody hotel and beale street this hotel is in a great location. Sun studio and graceland are short drives away. Rooms are clean and beds very comfortable. Breakfast bar is very good. I recommend the waffles which are yummy. Parking was very convenient at only $17.00 a day. We were paying $30.00 at other hotels. Overall for the money I found this hotel to be well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carriebo1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 km away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,218 reviews
0.2 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.6 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 138 in Memphis
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Address: 175 Peabody Place, Memphis, TN 38103-3719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Family Hotel in Memphis
#7 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Memphis has to offer at the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street hotel. We offer a variety of services and amenities with every stay. The Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street is located in the heart of the action within walking distance of shopping, dining and entertainment. Enjoy a variety of guestroom and suite options, complimentary WiFi and a Free Hot Breakfast each morning. Make the most of your stay in Memphis at the Hampton Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Hampton Inn Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing