We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Average, needs renovation like the rest of chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely Average, needs renovation like the rest of chain”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

At first I thought the hotel would be so much more than it was. The lobby is sleek and the service helpful. The location was excellent; right next to Beale Street. But the rooms were a bit dirty with stains on the carpet and the bathroom had some mildew. The walls were paper thin and a bunch of kids were running up and down the halls; I had to call security twice to get them to shut up. The beds were comfy but in the morning I had to fight for the free breakfest that came with my package. The elevators were weird and creaky. Overall I wouldn't reccomend this hotel and I think it needs the renovation that the rest of the chain got.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbadger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.

Im sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. We do offer a great location and are glad you were able to enjoy that part of your stay.

Our property is a bit older than some, but we maintain a high level of cleanliness and overall guest satisfaction.

We do hope you will change your mind and recommend our hotel to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    427
    271
    108
    50
See reviews for
199
448
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Akron
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

First and foremost, the front desk staff was very kind and helpful. They got me checked in early, checked out late and arranged for airport transportation.

The location is great, within walking distance from just about everything downtown and only a block away from the trolley.

My room was fine with a nice view of the Peabody. The bathroom was pretty small, but all in all fine. I would definitely book a room there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We especially thank you for your comments regarding our front desk staff. They do work very hard to accommodate last minute/special needs like early check in, late check out and airport transportation. We will be sure to pass on your comments so they know how much they were appreciated.

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
781 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group. The reception was good with welcome juices being provided on arrival. The staff were relatively helpful. However the hotel is comparatively basic and our room at least was in need of some renovation. Of more concern was the cleanliness, where we found an empty cigarette packet (non smoking room) and condom wrapper in one of the drawers. I complained to reception who advised that "housekeeping" would pay special attention to the points raised. On our return after the room had been "serviced", the same rubbish was still in the drawer and I took it directly to reception, who expressed concern. I do not normally use the "terrible" rating, but feel that it is justified on the cleaning aspect. The hotel advertised a gymnasium, which was in fact a small room with four machines. I had difficulty accessing the gym with my key and at least one other resident had the same experience. We did use the bar which served food and drinks. The service here was quite good. Finally the hotel is in a good location relative to Beale Street, the main area of attractions

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelexperience12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We checked in after good reviews on this hotel on tripadvisor. We have stayed in Holiday Inn in many cities, but this has to be one of the worst experiences. Sure the location is great, but that's where it ends. The hotel is old and run down, rooms small and even tacky to a point, the pillows smell, bathrooms very small with old weary fittings. For the $ 142 per night we paid, it was very disappointing. The street noise comes right through the windows, plus the walls are thin.

Room Tip: Stay far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Select Downtown Memphis. We are so sorry to hear you felt we were the worst Holiday Inn you have experienced. Our hotel was renovated just a few years ago and inspected semi-annually to ensure we are meeting Holiday Inn Standards.

As with any downtown hotel, noise is a factor especially if you are a light sleeper. We try and make your stay comfortable but unfortunately cannot control the outside noise of a downtown city.

We do hope you will visit us again so we may attempt to better serve you.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Oh
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Booked our room through Liberty Bowl rates. Not too many rooms available in town due to bowl game and NYE. Friends were at the Marriott but we wanted to stay closer to the action. So glad we did. Traveling with our young adult children, we knew they would stay out on Beale alot longer than we would. We were close enough for a 2 block walk but far enough away not to be right in the thick of the NYE craziness Rooms were average size, bathrooms a bit small. But plenty of plugs for phones and hairdryers out in the rooms. We were on the 10th floor overlooking the Peabody, nice view of all the comings and goings.Rooms are a bit loud on the front side with street noise at night, but they do leave you ear plugs. Going to expect that on weekends near a party street like Beale. Parking is a bit tight, but we parked and never got in the car again till it was time to come home. $12 per night isn;t that bad in a downtown area especially on a holiday event weekend. No bellman or valet,but that is just more money to hand away. Nice helpful parking attendant helped with unpacking the car onto a cart and we took itto our rooms. Hint- unpack your cars before parking, the elevators in the parking area very slow (there is just one) we took the steps down to the lobby and then took the lobby elevators up to the room. Never had to wait long on these, and the hotel was sold out for the weekend, Nice bar area to get a drink, catch a game or listen to some good music on the weekends. Breakfast buffett was just ok. Would recommend Hueys on the corner for great burgers and Rendevous in the alley next to the hotel for some great ribs, Would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
861 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing