We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Robbed”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed at hotel this weekend, I asked the front desk staff if my vehicle would be safe and secure and was assured they had 24 hour security. The security must have been on break, My windows were broken and my car trashed. I got No help from the general Manager other than he said he had notified his insurance, Guy would not even discount or comp the room. I should have known when I got to the room and there were ear plugs on the night stand with a note "to help you get a good nights sleep". What a dump, If you choose to stay at this hotel be very aware, its dangerous. I have stayed at the Doubletree across the street many times with no problems what so ever.

Room Tip: Stay at Doubletree across the street
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank roadworn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    426
    268
    108
    50
See reviews for
195
447
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We only had 1 night in Memphis and wanted to stay near Beale St and relatively close to Sun Studio. We had a car so needed parking as well. The location was perfect for this purpose. When we did our research we remember Holiday Inn being one of the few in our price range - we paid $123.50 plus $12 parking. We didn't want to go much further in price for only 1 night.

The walk to Beale St felt safe - it is very close. However, we didn't stay out late.

We are only giving Holiday Inn a 3 rating because of the following:

We agree with other reviewers that have mentioned the garage parking set-up feeling a bit dodgy. We are a couple so it didn't bother us as we had each other, however, possibly a single female could feel a little nervous - the lifts are incredibly slow so if you are in the carpark waiting for the lift it could be scary.

We had an issue with our coffee machine - it was a single cup type which needed a cartridge...not a sachet. Rang front desk and told them the sachets don't fit into the machine - and front desk staff said "oh, yes, they fit - just force it in". After tearing the sachet paper a few times we knew that "no, you couldn't fit the sachet into that gap". We have a New Zealand accent so one can only assume that front desk thought we didn't know how to use the machine properly. Too lazy to get off their bottom to investigate it - or ask housekeeping on our behalf.
So, I walked out of the room with the part in my hand that needed a cartridge and asked one of the cleaners on the floor - she didn't know what I was talking about; didn't recognise the part I had - however, was very nice and advised it would be more efficient for me to go direct to Housekeeping, (in the basement? - can't remember exactly where it was), and ask them.

After talking with the very efficient house-keeping lady a new machine was bought up to us. No, they didn't have cartridges for those particular machines, duh! very strange management.
It was sorted out but we didn't really appreciate having to go to housekeeping ourselves after being given the brush-off by front desk. And we had to interupt our morning to allow someone into our room to change out the machine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I showed up the day before the St. Jude Marathon and was able to get a room. It was a bit pricier than I would have liked, but I was out of options. The hotel is a little worn, but the room was clean. Service was decent also. I didn't ask for any additional services and only stayed one night. It suited my needs.

Room Tip: 9th floor is former smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

we stayed at the holiday inn for two nights as part of a tour of the southern states ,i checked it out on trip advisor before we left and was a bit dubious about the reviews but on arrival was more then happy with the hotel,all the staff were very helpfull and nothing was a problem to them the laundry service was good ,our laundry was waiting for us when we returned from a day out right on time bar staff very good and helpful on places to go in the evenings lovely bar area with very good prices,the breakfast buffet was the best we had while in the USA and a good price,i did not bring a stopwatch so i could not time how long the lifts took as one reviewer moaned about when we got to our room we found it very clean and tidy it was big enough for two easily and again i cant see why people moan about the room size unless they stay in them for the duration of there stay, the hotel is a short walk to beale street and we found the area well policed whether uniformed or plain clothes officers so their is no worries about the location of the hotel .the hotel is big and i would think quite old ,so its not like out of town hotels which are built to be light and breezy, but i would be more then happy to stay there again which is a credit to all the staff

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Recently stayed here for Memphis marathon. Asked to have late check out because I had 2 children with me one was an infant. They responded no because it was a "special event"
So we were left to walk the streets of Memphis for hours in the cold. Also parking is huge problem you pay for hotel parking but then are asked go park in public parking down an unsafe alleyway that is 3 $ cheaper for the public. The hotel itself is ok and location is great but not a full service "select" hotel in my opinion.
T

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun h H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHISDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. During special event weekends, parking and check in/out times are strictly enforced to best accommodate all our guests. While we would love to provide you a warm comfortable room to hang out in all day, please understand we must begin to prepare for that night's arrivals, therefore late check out for all our guests can simply not be accommodated. Downtown parking is also very limited at times like this; however if you paid to park here but were forced to find alternate parking, please contact the hotel and we will refund your money.

Thanks again for your comments.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
852 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing