We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #6 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2017

My wife and I booked The Peabody as part of a Priceline special, i.e. we didn't pick it, Priceline did. We were very happy. Even on a frigid night we didn't mind the short walk to Beale St. or the Fed.Ex center. The lobby of the hotel is spectacular and on Dec. 12, gorgeously decorated for the holidays. We received an upgraded room from the Priceline deal, a king bed instead of two full size BUT it had to be near the elevator. The minor issue was that the elevator is audible when the room is absolutely quiet. However, it didn't wake us and the trade off was acceptable. The room was as beautiful as the rest of the hotel. A lot of little conveniences and nice touches. Room service was quick and yummy at 2AM :). The mattress was fair and the sheets high quality. We could have used a more substantial blanket but it was adequate. We didn't eat at the hotel but it seemed like there were a lot of good choices. We were directed to LyfeKitchen a few blocks away for good vegetarian fare. Obviously, it's Memphis so there are a lot of good food choices! The FedEx Center is a terrific venue and Beale St. was fun. We like this area more than Nashville / Broadway because it's more laid back,. Lyft and Uber were easily available.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 3,389 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017

The hotel is lovely and the location excellent. We spent one night prior to our river cruise on the American Empress. Our room had only one towel & one washcloth . I called several times for additional towels since it was my husband and myself. Unfortunately, we had to make due because housekeeping had gone home for the night. We had a late check-in (approximately 5:30 PM ) and I did not discover the towel issue until we returned to our room after dinner about 8 PM. Truly surprised with their house keeping service.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gloria586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Gloria586,
I am very sorry about your experience during your stay with us. We try to provide excellent service to every guest, and we should have done everything possible to get you the items you requested. We will be addressing this issue with our Housekeeping department. I hope you will come back again so we can make it up to you.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Hotel Operations
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Great location and beautiful historic hotel. I’m glad we stayed here and would definitely recommend this to fellow travelers. As other reviewers have noted, the bathroom is small but in my mind, it’s proportional to the time I spend there. Give me a grand lobby / bar area to enjoy anytime!

We will be back - beautiful and a great experience

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BabaYaga20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We came to the Peabody for a friend's wedding and decided to stay there in the room block reserved for the wedding, for one night. The check-in went smoothly and our room was clean and ready by 4:00, which is check-in time. The valets, bellmen and front desk staff were all very professional, friendly and quite capable. The lobby is beautiful and there is much to see. There was a giant gingerbread house in the lobby for Christmas. The room itself was fine, the decor was nice and the beds, bedding and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was another story. There was a toilet, a tub/shower combo and a sink. There was absolutely no counter space. Zero, zilch, nada. Not even room to set down a toothbrush! I had to hold makeup, hair products, everything in my hand while I was getting ready. There was a small magnifying mirror but it would not stay in place so was basically useless. The wedding reception was in one of the rooms on the Mezzanine and was absolutely perfect. We slept well, but I had to use a sound app on my phone as we could hear all outside noise. I have stayed in many very nice hotels that had coffee makers and mini-fridges in the room but this had neither and I do not like having to go to the lobby first thing in the morning for my coffee. They do offer free coffee in the deli from 6-9 a.m. so that was helpful. But again, I had to dress and go to the lobby. At a price tag of over $250 including taxes, fees and valet parking, for one night, I will have to say that I prefer comfort and convenience over aesthetics.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LPM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear LPM60,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at The Peabody. I am glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the wedding you attended in one our ballrooms. I apologize that there was little sink room in your bathroom. The Peabody is a historic hotel built in 1925, so many of our bathrooms are a bit smaller than those in modern hotels. I hope you understand.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Hotel Operations
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Great location. Good food! Benjamin who was our concierge was so helpful. Can’t wait to bring my granddaughter to see the ducks. My only complaint would be the front desk staff who didn’t seem to know what they were doing and were not very helpful or welcoming. Luckily Benjamin and the rest of the staff made up for it. Everyone should treat themselves to a visit!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank peggyk509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear peggyk509,
I am glad you had a nice stay at The Peabody. Thank you for the compliments on the concierge Benjamin. I will let him know you appreciated his help. However, I do apologize for your experience with the front desk associates. We will be sure to address the issue. Thanks for staying at The Peabody and we hope you’ll be back soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Hotel Operations
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.3 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#13 of 139 in Memphis
2,147 reviews
2.1 km away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 139 in Memphis
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
1.5 km away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 139 in Memphis
431 reviews
1 km away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: €193 - €448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing