We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel
from US$38.00
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$30.00
More Info
from US$32.78
More Info
Reviews (7,695)
Filter reviews
7,695 results
Traveller rating
6,249
1,145
239
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,249
1,145
239
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martin luther king james earl ray rosa parks boarding house mlk was shot mlk jr across the street fatal shot conspiracy theories freedom riders african americans jim crow assassination of dr civil rights museum american history slave trade eye opening
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 7,695 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Strange to review such place as an "attraction". It is definately a place that everybody should visit. We spent over 3 hours there learning about the civil rights movement, from the beginning of slavery to the current day. I've had tears in my eyes quite few times. I have learnt so many new facts, it should certainly be part of any curriculum.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Dot_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

As most people know, the Lorraine Motel was the place where James Earl Ray assassinated Dr. Martin Luther King on April 4, 1968, while he was standing on the balcony of the hotel. It was very moving to be standing in the place where that dark bit of history took place. The building is now the National Civil Rights Museum. On the day we visited, we were part of a City tour, and could only spend a short time there. But it was enough to get a sense of what happened all those years ago.
Because this website has a limit on recording a date for this trip, we actually visited in September of 2017

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

I absolutely love museums. It is one of the first things I look for when visiting a new place. When I saw this museums was here, it was the first thing I did after checking in. The museum was amazing. It took about 2-3 hours to walk through. I throughly enjoyed it. I didn’t have enough time to visit the other side, but I will definitely go back soon. It was so educational.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank StowYourLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

One of the highlights of Memphis, what an amazing job this museum does to let us see how peopel treated people and how brave the civil rights guys of thoe days really were to stand up to and beat the system

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank KennyMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This museum should be a definite part of your visit. The museum is well laid out and charts civil rights from slave trade onwards with a focus on Martin Luther King. I spent a couple of hours here and found it very thought provoking. A truly awesome experience.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank RH53ARH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews