We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,578)
Filter reviews
1,578 results
Traveller rating
545
452
343
139
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
452
343
139
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle shuttle service beale street hotel shuttle night manager convention center parking fee memphis downtown the room was nice sun studios sharon cleo trolley valet graceland peabody
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,578 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

First impression of the hotel was positive and welcoming all checked in very quickly. Clean reception. Went up to the room and sadly it wasn’t made up. Manager came up and offered us another room straight away. Sadly it wasn’t on the same side and the room was a little noisy. However the shuttle service more than made up for it ... they will drop you anywhere in town within reason. Reginald was a delight and a huge credit to the hotel!! Well done for employing him.

Would I stay again - yes for sure.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sspclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and that you could take advantage of our easily accessible shuttle service. Your compliments will surely be shared with Reginald, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Arrived off the Amtrak train early in the morning but were immediately given our room keys which was such a relief after a sleepless night. The room was a standard American room with some nice toiletries but lacked character. Unfortunately, there was a lot of traffic noise from the nearby highway. A shuttle bus was provided for trips to Beale St etc so this was a good bonus. The bar was friendly, especially in Happy Hour but the restaurant was soulless. Better to eat at the bar. Breakfast was a huge disappointment. The affordable Continental was very poor with little choice. The full breakfast was better with an egg station for fried eggs and omelettes but not much else and very expensive for the quality. Also very slow service in clearing tables etc. On the whole an OK visit.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Westie, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to know you had a comfortable stay and that you could take advantage of our easily accessible shuttle service. However, we are sorry for the difficulties you had while you were here and that you were disappointed with our breakfast offerings. Your feedback will be discussed with our food and beverage team to improve our future guests’ experiences. We value your business and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

The best thing this hotel had to offer was the courtesy bus. This service was amazing - running you backwards and forwards to Beale Street - the hub of the night life.
Upon our arrival we soon learnt that we had issues with the plumbing! The toilet when flushed continued to freely run water and never actually fill but remain very noisy. Upon inspection, even though I'm not a plumber it was easy to see what was wrong, therefore after each and every flush we had to open the cistern to stop the process. We told reception - but after two nights stay no one had inspected or solved it. Arrived back at our room at 3:30 pm to find it hadn't received any room service of any description furthermore, had to constantly ask for tea and coffee facilities for the room.
Finally, breakfast - the worst thing about this hotel. Don't know where to start - served up cold with very little choice. Seating at the tables are very low and lounge seats not dining furniture making seating uncomfortable. Presentation of food was unappetising - atrocious not inline with a multi chain hotel of distinction. For the States very disappointing. Doesn't get close to British standards.
In desperation, on our second day chose to eat elsewhere.
Will not be returning and would not recommend.

Room tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel - has a very noisy road at the rear.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Martin, thank you for staying with us. Please accept our apologies for not providing the great experience you have come to expect from our brand. Your feedback will be shared with the respective teams to ensure such incidents are not repeated in the future. We hope you will stay with us again to see how we have taken your comments to heart. We appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Arrived late evening after a long flight and a five hour time difference so we were very tired. Booked in and got to our room with luggage (no assistance offered), only to find neither key card worked. So a trek back to reception it was.
The room was clean and the bed very comfy. Small bathroom, so small that if using the sink the door knocked into you if opened.
Requested clean towels only on our second day as the room hadn’t been serviced at 2pm. The maid couldn’t tell us what time they would arrive but we were hoping for early evening so we could take a shower. No such luck so we asked at reception again for towels and were told some would be sent up. We arrived back to the hotel at 21.45 and still no towels. Back to reception again where a manager apologised and some did eventually arrive by 22.00

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Millymolly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Millymolly77,

We appreciate your feedback. It appears we did not meet your expectations, or ours, and we will work hard to ensure such mistakes do not happen again. Your feedback has been shared with our management team and steps are being taken to ensure this does not happen again. We hold ourselves to extremely high standards and should you stay with us again, we believe you'll see that this was an isolated incident. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove this to you on your next trip to the area. Take care and safe travels!

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel, great decor, great location, very friendly staff, Rome was a delight in the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and I would definitely stay here again in another trip to Memphis.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ScottC4508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Scott, thank you for evaluating your stay at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown and for recomemding us. we are delighted to know how happy you were with the great service provided by my team and that our location was ideal for your needs. Your compliments will be shared with my staff, especially with Rome for doing such a great job and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
David Simmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews