We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value For Money : 24/09/11”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I would highly recommend the Old Library Lodge to any and everyone looking for accommodation and good food .. I promise you won't be disappointed ..

Robert couldn't do enough from the moment I arrived until I left ..

Thank you so much .

Carol

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol_cassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 236 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

I had a fantastic two nights. Beautiful, peaceful village. The Lodge is right on the sea front in Arisaig next to the shop, post office and a stone's throw from the local pub and pier for the island cruises. I was looking for silence. I certainly found it here.

Robert was extremely helpful and friendly...patiently meeting me in the street to carry my bag in when I called from about 30 seconds away...unsure of where I was.
I was the only person staying on the first night - end of the season. Nevertheless I was made to feel extremely welcome: I had dinner in the dining room and it was all set up with tea lights and i received really attentive service. Delicious food.

On my first morning, Robert helpfully rang to find out whether the island cruises would be going out and booked my place. He also lent me a map of the local area on my first afternoon so I could go out for a walk around the beautiful bay. He advised me too on the local bus routes. One of the staff let me know about the bag lock up in Mallaig too so I didn't have to lug a heavy bag around there after my departure from Arisaig while waiting for the steam train.

Wifi in the room, a good size TV and a bath in the ensuite bathroom all made for a really enjoyable stay. Tasty breakfast with good choice of local food on the menu. I was surprised to find such a gourmet place in a tiny village!

Thank you to all at the Old Library for such a great stay. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Great place ahead of the trip to Skye, the food is fantastic with fresh sea food served daily. The wine list is limited but well priced.

Room Tip: The Chalets are great, especially if you have a four-legged friend with you.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PollyandDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Old Library Lodge and also ate at the restaurant. I thought both were extremely good. You are limited for choice in Arisaig but the quality of the food and accommodation provided here was excellent value for money. The room was extremely comfortable with all needed amenities. The restaurant served a great meal, better than many supposedly higher grade restaurants Ive eaten at in London. Robert the owner was a great host and knows how to tell a good story.
This area is an absolute hidden gem! I will be returning here on my next visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just spent five nights in this truly wonderful lodge, Robert, Katy and Ashley( and the other two members whose names I didn't catch!!!) were attentive and made me feel so welcome, it was like a home from home. I even could see the bay and the bobbing boats from my patio, the room was spacious, comfortable and all the amenities including a snazzy wall-mounted flatscreen TV..........and the towels were the whitest and softest I've ever felt, better then any five-star hotel!

Where do I begin with the food, locally-sourced, seafood was understandably sumptous, everything was cooked to perfection by the host and chef Robert. Starters, mains and desserts were all mouth-watering dishes, the sticky toffee pudding is a must!.

Bang in the middle of Arisaig, couldn't have asked for a better location with which to explore the area, which is absolutely breathtaking.

Robert couldn't do enough for me and the other guests, even going so far as booking me on a trip to Eigg - another must-see!

All in all, definitely will make another book-ing at the old library!!, see you soon(and thanks for a memorable time!) Robert and crew...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.0 km away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
310 reviews
6.6 km away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
151 reviews
10.5 km away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
26.3 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
19.2 km away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Library Lodge And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Address: Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range: €102 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Library Lodge And Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Old Library Lodge And Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Arisaig
Old Library Hotel
Old Library Arisaig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing