We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
View over Black Loch from Apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Black Loch from Apartment
Castle Kennedy Gardens at Lochinch Castle Lochinch Victorian Stable Courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View over Black Loch from Apartment
Castle Kennedy Gardens at Lochinch Castle
Lochinch Victorian Stable Courtyard
Bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chrissie...
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fab long weekend with our two dogs. We were left dog beds and a lovely cake. The apartment was spacious but cosy. Fantastic walks on your doorstep. We will definitely be back, thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a lovely time and enjoyed the cake and the wonderful walks. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible place for a restful holiday!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked this place for a break over New Year as a group of 6 friends who live and work in Edinburgh. It was such a peaceful environment - the castle grounds are really lovely to wander through, and the apartment itself is very spacious yet still cosy. It's far bigger than the pictures make it look, and had a very homely feel, with a beautiful wreath on the door and a Christmas tree in the living room. There was a delicious cake waiting for us on arrival, as well as milk, bread and other essentials, which also added to the accommodation's welcoming appeal. We loved having the fire - plenty of wood, kindling and matches provided.

With Stranraer such a short drive away we were easily able to stock up on food when necessary, as well as exploring the local area - lots to see and do! We went to see the stones at Kirkmadrine and to the Mull of Galloway, Scotland's most southerly point, where there was a fab wee cafe (open on Hogmany, by which we were pleasantly surprised!). There is lots of useful information provided in the apartment information folder, and we wish we could have stayed for longer so as to work our way through more of the list of nearby attractions and points of interest! The wifi was good, as was the television and DVD player.

We only had a couple of minor issues - the lower half of the oven didn't seem to work, the shower temperature was difficult to adjust and there weren't enough batteries for the TV & DVD player remotes (we had to switch the 2 batteries between the appliances whenever we wanted to make one of them work). However, everything else really was perfect, and we had such an enjoyable time. Would thoroughly recommend this place to friends & family. One thing to consider is that the apartment is up a flight of stairs, and so don't think it would necessarily be accessible for disabled or very elderly people.

Thank you Chauffeur's Apartment for having us - we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire & tasteful decor
Liked least: Half of the oven did not work and there were not enough batteries for tv/dvd remotes
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Hi Eilidh, thank you for your helpful and detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed celebrating the New Year at the Chauffeur's Apartment. Thank you for also for letting us know about the cooker, shower and batteries. We have seen to all of these things. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBUman
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful...”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Still the best holiday rental we have been to !
Licence to roam the beautiful grounds of Castle Kennedy then back to a warm and cosy apartment with everything you could want and more...
I'm sure it won't be our last visit !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Chauffeur's Apartment. We very much hope that you will come and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwl1966
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We arrived after a long trip from Yorkshire, to find a nice bottle of wine and a home made cake, along with some other essentials in the fridge.

The flat was a lot bigger than we though from the description. The three rooms had been made into double beds as requested. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you should require for your stay.

The lounge was well equipped and had a great open fire, with unlimited logs out side. The whole flat was toasty warm and the fire just gave it that little bit of extra charm. There was no local pub to go and spend the evenings, so make sure you take your own to enjoy in front of the fire.

We took our little dog, he spent the night in the kitchen and had plenty of walks around the estate and gardens.

It was a perfect base to explore around the local area.

Well worth a visit and we would definitely consider going back.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind review of the Chauffeur's Apartment! We are pleased that you enjoyed the bottle of wine, home made cake and welcome pack. We're aware that some of our visitors travel a long way to get to us and we try hard to provide a warm welcome. We very much hope that you will visit us again. Best wishes,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill M
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Chauffer's Apartment at Lochinch Castle has everything for a wonderful stay. The location is extraordinary having access to the Castle Kennedy gardens and much of the estate as well as being centrally located to explore all that Dumfries Galloway has to offer. The apartment is spacious, well appointed and convenient easily accommodating 6 adults. The staff were very helpful and the welcome package very much appreciated, (the sponge was an instant hit). Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the accommodation.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Dear Jill, thank you for your lovely review of the Chauffeur's Apartment. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the sponge was a hit. All best wishes from everyone at Lochinch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing