We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sawmill Cottage

Sawmill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sawmill Cottage
Lounge with woodburner Other side of bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Sawmill Cottage
Lounge with woodburner
Other side of bedroom
Kitchen breakfast room
Shower room toilet
Kitchen from the hall
Just getting my nuts
Waiting for her mother
Bedroom looking outside
Other side of the kitchen, looking up the driveway
You can park your car outside the door
Outside looking up the driveway
The Secret Garden where you can relax in the Sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
925Shaz
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The cottage is in a great location just 10 minutes walk into town. It’s so quiet and peaceful we had a great sleep.
Bill the owner was very welcoming and helpful. It was a lovely touch to be treated with homemade pancakes, butter, jam and homegrown tomatoes. Thanks for that Bill.
The cottage has ample space for 2people, with good quality cooking pots etc if your doing any cooking.
I’ve read previous reviews about the shower not being great, no it’s not go lots of power but it is ok.
The cottage has a log burner, we didn’t use it as the weathers was ok, with the storage heaters giving enough heat.
We used the washing machine during our stay(it was great to return home with no washing to do). Bill had provided washing gel, cleaning materials and some toiletries for us to use. Another nice wee extra, thanks Bill.
We will be returning and would also recommend it to our friends and family.
our wee yorkie loved exploring the woods.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2018
Thanks for the great review D, The shower is in hand as the cottage is empty tell Saturday, and the plumber is coming tomorrow, it's not easy as we are out in the countryside, we do not get the same water pressure as in the town's and citys. No excuses I know, will try my best to sort it out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waf1948
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“a little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 22 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

sawmill cottage is a great place to stay.. Host great. cottage great. area great. We arrived at the cottage to be greeted with hot pancakes and jam. bill is a great host lets you get on with it.and is available if needed.the cottage is very comfortable and homely with squirrels and deer running about outsde the entrance in the morning. and woodpeckers tapping on the trees.Portpatrick is only five minutes down the road.lovely place.or the lighthouse just up the road. the cottage is situated up a lane into the wood very private.we really enjoyed our stay here and will be back again asap.thanks for having us bill

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2018
Thankyou very much Mr Mrs Fowler, it was a Pleasure. Hope to see you again one day. Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald An...
1 review
“A very enjoyable stay in a great part of Scotland.”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We much enjoyed our visit to Dumfries and Galloway. Our friendly landlord, Bill , made us very welcome; the accommodation was comfortable, and the location on the edge of Port Patrick peaceful and quiet. We visited seven fabulous gardens, most of the many bookshops in Wigtown, and enjoyed the scenery . Port Patrick's pubs and restaurants fed us well. It was a memorable holiday in a part of Scotland we had never been to before.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2018
Thankyou very much, hope to see you again maybe one day. Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Stayied Christmas week lovely cosy cottage with wood burner perfect

Bill was very welcoming and always on hand if needed

Thank you

Linda

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Very nice couple and a very well behaved dog named Kiss.
Have been to the cottage before.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisiecoc...
Dechmont, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“West Wing Cottage”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage, perfect for 2 people, dog friendly within walking distance of all anemities, perfect for quiet or busy holiday.would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2017
Lovely couple they came two years ago hopefully they will return again some other day had a nice well-behaved dog lots of walks very good
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing