We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Herring Queen

View up the Harbour towards the apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View up the Harbour towards the apartment
living room dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View up the Harbour towards the apartment
living room
dining area
Kitchen- view the seals and boats as you cook
Enter a caption for your photo
twin bedroom- new mattresses
twin bedroom- with lovely views of the harbour and Gunsgreen house
Double bedroom with four poster bed
Four poster bed
Cosy area on landing
view from outside apartment
view of apartment
dining area
cosy reading area
view from window
Dining area with windows overlooking the harbour
Cosy lounge
Gas fire with real flames and real coals
Toiletries included
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eyemouth, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
568graeme
carluke
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Herring Queen is a great place to stay ,everything you could ask for is in the apartment. We had a short stay For 4 nights (our second time ). It's only a short walk to the lovely beach and there is a very nice fish n chip shop which also has great ice cream!!
There are also seals in the water by the harbour which appear daily looking forward to getting tasty treats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piper17
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation, Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Herring Queen for a weekend break in May. We found it to be very comfortable and more than adequate for our requirements. It is in a great position within the village, very hand for shops, pubs, the beach and some fantastic walks. The fact that we had dry, sunny weather compared to much of the rest of the country added to our enjoyment.
We along with our dog were sorry when our break came to an end and it was time to return home.
The only minus point that we had was the fact that the internet was not working at all within the house but hey-ho we survived!
Would certainly recommend the 'Herring Queen' and Eyemouth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and accomodation
Liked least: Internet did not work at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment/Views
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern
Liked least: noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
Thank-you for your response and I am glad you liked the apartment which we think of as a home from home. The single bed mattresses have been replaced, many thanks for bringing this to our attention.
The noise is not something that we can control especially the seagulls! There is not a fishing factory behind the apartment- there is one a few minutes walk up Harbour Road however in all the time we have stayed there we have never heard any noise from it. There is noise sometimes from the fishing boats but again that's a consequence of staying on the harbour. All windows are double glazed and have black out blinds so we do what we can to minimize the harbour noise but we have obviously failed with the seagulls!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing