We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Full of Character”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gardener's Lodging

View from the southwest showing the bathroom and kitchen windows
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the southwest showing the bathroom and kitchen windows
View from the west showing the owner's house with Gardener's Lodging to the rear The dining table has seen many relaxed dinner parties.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
View from the southwest showing the bathroom and kitchen windows
View from the west showing the owner's house with Gardener's Lodging to the rear
The dining table has seen many relaxed dinner parties.
Free welcome hamper with every stay of one week or more (contents may vary slightly).
The spacious kitchen with access to the garden
The kitchen is well equipped for all your cooking needs.
The spacious living room. There is no TV.
The sofa converts to a double bed if required.
The kingsize bed is very comfortable with its pocket sprung mattress.
The single bed has a pull-out bed underneath if required.
Bathroom with large bath and hand-held shower
The south facing bathroom window
The garden can be a bit of a sun trap.
Relax in your own private garden. The roof you see here is that of Gardener's Lodging.
Gardener's Lodging is upstairs.
Coming up the drive
The front of the main house
Gardener's Lodging upstairs with the owner's sewing room on the ground floor to the left
The back door from the garden into the kitchen (4 steps)
Entrance from the yard
Duns Market Square
Duns Castle Nature Reserve in June
Duns Castle lodges
Swans nesting on the lake in the Nature Reserve.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Duns, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
THStanden
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full of Character”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This a lovely self contained annexe to the owners main property.

It is very old world with loads of character and charm.

The owners were friendly and welcoming without being intrusive and had baked a lovely chocolate cake for our arrival.

The kitchen is well supplied and has just about everything you should need if you don't want to go out to eat.

We would certainly return here again should we be in the Borders area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Almost too quiet in Duns!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivien r
1 review
“An exceptional experience.”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage is superbly presented, and a very friendly place to stay. There was a home made cake and fresh flowers in all the rooms when we arrived. The kitchen is well equipped with a range of utensils to make cooking a meal very easy. The beds are comfortable with quality linen.
There's a big library of books, maps and tourist information which was helpful in planning trips throughout the borders.
We'd have no hesitation in booking in again. Thanks Kath and Eric.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLM2013
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wonderful cottage, felt really homely and warm. Stayed for a couple of days while visiting family nearby. I would definetly recommend and rent here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a home away from home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a very god place to stay if you want “a home away from home”. I was greeted with a beautiful bouquet of flowers, a tray with tee and a very good chocolate cake. The kitchen have everything you need, the bed is very comfortable, and it´s peaceful and quiet. The whole place is very harmonious. Kath has done a great job with both the furniture’s and especially the range of colours and you have your own little private garden just outside.
If you don´t have a car you can take the bus to Berwick and from there you can go by train to the rest of Scotland.
Kath and Eric are very friendly and will help you with whatever you need.
I. I could not have found a better place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: That I had to leave!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This is a beautifully presented, homely and comfortable flat; the rear part of a substantial period building, stylishly refurbished, sunny and very well equipped. (Smart coffee machine, good ceramic hob, full size fridge and dishwasher). It is quiet and totally private, with hosts who are ready to help but not intrude, and is perfectly situated as a base to explore the Borders.
We were greeted warmly on Boxing Day and welcomed with a homemade Christmas stollen and a pinta in the fridge - a very nice touch after a long journey. There is more space than we expected from the listing, and wifi no problem in the specified areas. We'd downloaded a few programmes onto an iPad, so didn't miss telly at all. As others have said, the bed is super-comfy, and we did catch up on much needed sleep too.
We would definitely recommend the Gardener's Lodging as an ideal getaway, and would love to have stayed longer this time. Although I didn't make use of the offered sewing room on this occasion, I might on another visit - how lovely to get on with a project uninterrupted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was the home from home we would like to live in!
Liked least: An outside light on arrival is the only improvement I can think of.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing