We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the price range”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the price range”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Nice room; I think that there very few hotels of this standard in this price range in Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falcarragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    45
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
95
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fettercairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The Coach House is a great place to stay when visiting Killin. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful as was the Bar Meal we had in the evening. The owners were very friendly even offering us a lift to the start of our proposed walk. There was a Scottish duo playing on Saturday night which were very good. Overall an excellent place to stay and we would not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

arrived very clod and wet off the back of a motorbike to a warm welcome. We'd arrived on speck and managed to get the last room available. A big room, with a four poster bed and whirlpool bath. Nicely furnished, warm and clean..I'd agree with others that a hand shower would be a useful for rinsing off your hair in the bath. The bar meals are tasty and portions are more than adequate. Good beer and a great atmosphere, with live music on some nights. Breakfast was fresh but nothing special. We would certainly go there again

Room Tip: Although our room was on-suit, I think that some of the others have a separate bath \ shower room, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Although the young couple try very hard ,and the hotel is clean and tidy, the food menu is not very good and it was like eating in a working mans club . We would not think many people would eat there more than one night of their stay.The trouble is ,the hotel is on the end of the village,so eating out is limited,if you want to have a drink ,and not drive. Food odours are very much evident upstairs so another extractor would not go amiss Breakfast is at best ,rather limited, and not well cooked on one occasion The mattress in the DOCHART room has seen better days.so sleep quality was not good.,and the lack of a shower attachment in the bathroom meant that you could not even rinse your hair .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank stanbarnes633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We are a family of 4 adults and 2 children. After a very long trip from the Midlands, we settled into our B &B near the Coach House, we were all hungry, tired and just wanted a hot meal and in a nice atmosphere, The Coach house was the nearest pub. On entering at 7.06pm the frosty looks from the staff, made us feel very unwelcome. After the staff watched us take our seat, someone came over and said meals are no longer being served as we had children with us. Why a public house stops serving food at 7pm is beyond me!!!

We moved onto the The falls of Dockhart, where the service was excellent and they could not be faulted - highly recommeded. Don't waste your time at the Coach House.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inca1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidR123, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
We are sorry you had an unhappy experience in our establishment. Our meals are served in the bar. The law in Scotland is that children must vacate the bar by 8pm. In order to comply with this law which does not allow for eating or drinking up time, we do not issue menus to groups with children after 7pm, as we feel that by the time a seletion is made, the order placed and the food cooked there is unsufficient time left to enjoy the food before having to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
10.0 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
26.8 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 km away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#5 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 km away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.2 km away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Property: Coach House Hotel
Address: Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing